We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel An der Philharmonie
Nearby Hotels
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$105
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$137
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
$125
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$108
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$75
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Wyndham Koeln(Cologne)
$79
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
19
46
26
10
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
46
26
10
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstaff on receptionthe rivertrain stationminute walkboutique hoteltwo nightsmain stationtrade fairdouble bedphilharmonicnoisechristmascathedraldomcentral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 101 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently did an overnight trip to cologne to see the Christmas markets, and found this very nice and well-located hotel through Booking.com at the last minute. Our room was small and not especially "charming", but perfectly adequate, with a very nice modern bathroom. We were on the back side of the building, so it was very quiet. Although very close to the cathedral (on the side opposite the train station), the hotel is toward the end of a street that dead ends at the Rhine. The location is great for all the main activities, including sightseeing, shopping, boat trips on the river, and of course the Christmas markets. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding, with a wide assortment of hot and cold items:eggs, sausage,cold meats and cheeses, lovely breads, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, etc.-- and even including several varieties of smoked fish (my favorite). The room rate was reasonable for the value received; though the breakfast was extra (5 Euro per person I believe) it was well-worthwhile paying the extra. We'd definitely go back here if were again in Cologne

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pemquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I chose this hotel based on its close location to the station and the cathedral for our 1 night stay. As we walked from the station it was ideal, less than 10 minutes. The hotel is located quite close to the river and there are plenty of restaurants and take away food options near by. Walking to the cathedral and to see most of the major attractions was easy. The main shopping streets are within walking distance too. Our room was more than adequate, comfortable and very clean. Wifi was not free, and we found that it would not work in our room so were not charged for it. As our stay was a Saturday night we found the room to be quite noisy with lots of late night revellers, so found sleeping a little difficult - pack some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Frank - at reception was very helpful. We did not have breakfast here as we had an early morning train to catch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were making our way back to where we had parked our motorcycles to find accommodation. We had asked when we were making our way to the cathedral where the tourist information is and were told they only had one night, though we had wanted to stay for two nights. At the tourist information we were told that there was a festival on that week and that we were unlikely to be able to get accommodation for a second night and that if we did it would be very expensive. As we were returning to where we had parked we noticed a 'motoryclists welcome' sign in the hotel window so went in and asked if they had a room for the night. There was one available so we booked it. There was parking for the motorcycles directly across from the front door of the hotel.
The hotel was beautifully clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Spacious room and comfortable bed. A good breakfast was provided and included in the price. Overall a very enjoyable night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenbikerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great location. Hotel seemed to be focused on the business crowd. Very comfortable with friendly staff, but not a ton of charm to the building or rooms. Parking was very convenient and reasonably priced at the garage across the street. Overall an excellent choice in Cologne!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I went with two colleagues for a business trip to Cologne. The location is great! The staff is very nice. Had a comfortable and enjoyable 4 nights. Just one tip, if you are traveling alone you must order a double room as the single rooms are quite cramped.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindyk2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews