We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Colonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Colonia
Ranked #56 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed only one night here at my bussines trip.

The hotel is well located close to the main train station. As I was arriving late the front desk was already closed (I informed the hotel before), but I did receive a code to get into the hotel and the keys and letter with info was waiting for me on front desk.

The rooms are large enough, clean, and well lit. The bathrrom had a large shower (no tub) and was also clean. Nothing broken, no stains, evertyinhg working.

There was a free wifi available in the whole hotel.

The only thing you might miss during a longer stay was an ordinary wardrobe. as I was staying one night no problem.

Great breakfast, plenty of choices (sausages, cakes, chees, juices, coffee...).

And the greatest was the price compared to other hotels in Cologne, so really worth the money. No complaints, will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicroBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

The boutique hotel Casa Colonia is located within a 3-minute walk to the train station. The cathedral, main shopping streets as well restaurants and bars are within a short stroll. The hotel has not many rooms, however they are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Wifi is available and the breakfast buffet is ok. However the coffee could be better. All in all a great and comfortable place to stay in Cologne. I have stayed there several times.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street, as this can be quite noisy. Especially when it is warm and humi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tirol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here already five or six times and love it. Rooms are beautiful, stuff is very friendly and personal, breakfast delicious, and it is situated just a few minutes walk from the mainstation without being noisy.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Nils M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Really excited to write a review of this hotel. Nicely modern with an old world charm. The rooms were sleek, modern and well appointed. The bathroom was spotless and really up to date. The provided breakfast had variety and a very nice dining area. The staff were great, so accommodation and friendly. The location was a ten minute easy walk from the train station in a nice little neighborhood, we drank Kölsch and watched World Cup futbol with the locals, in a pub just next door.
Easy walk to the cathedral and other attractions, and we really did walk everywhere. There is no lift for humans but they can move your luggage up and down, not an issue for me but could be for others. I will visit again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Hotel is an easy 5 minute walk from the main train station and very easy to find.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is no lift but a 'dumb waiter' lift for transporting suitcases to the upper levels saves guests from lugging bags up the stairs.

It doesn't look too flash from the outside or in the lobby area but the room was a reasonable size and very light with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was roomy & modern.

Breakfast was included in the room price and offered plenty of choices to start the day well-fed.

Casa is well placed for walking into the city along the river and is not far from the famous cathedral. There are plenty of restaurants in the city but on the second night we ate at the one diagonally opposite the hotel (can't remember its' name) but would highly recommend it for excellent food & service and reasonable prices.

While perhaps not the most modern hotel in the city, the Casa was a cosy hotel which more than satisfied our accommodation needs. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor. It exceeded our expectations. The hotel is a converted four story house (8 years ago). We were on the third floor. There is no elevator, but there is a dumb waiter to deliver the luggage to the room. The room was very spacious, modern and comfortable. Great location - one block from the Rhine and two blocks from the train station. Five blocks from the Dom Cathedral. Very good breakfast included. Reasonable price.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at this hotel and we really enjoyed it. It is located in a very convenient location, a very short walk from the main train station and within easy walking distance to all the sites. The staff were very friendly and being a small hotel they were able to offer more personalized service, taking the time to recommend things to do and places to eat and drink that were local, and non-touristy. The room was a good size, spacious, very clean and modern with high ceilings. The only downside was the absence of a cupboard and not a lot of room to hang or store clothes. Also there is no lift for the four storeys, which was fine for us though as we don't mind the exercise! While there was construction across the road, the double-glazed windows completely blocked out any noise. The breakfast room was quiet and cosy and the breakfast was delicious. While all staff spoke very good English, being a new learner of the German language, I appreciated that the staff were very patient with me using my very basic German. I really appreciated the opportunity to use it as in most other cities in Germany I have found that staff switch to English as soon as they detect an English accent. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, quiet and comfortable hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheridanRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
#103 of 263 in Cologne
168 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Lint Hotel Koln
Lint Hotel Koln
#74 of 263 in Cologne
96 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#58 of 263 in Cologne
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Ludwig
Hotel Ludwig
#86 of 263 in Cologne
113 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 263 in Cologne
1,769 reviews
Centro Hotel Kommerz
#84 of 263 in Cologne
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Colonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Colonia

Address: Machabaeerstr. 63, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $128 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Colonia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casa Colonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing