We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back again”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #17 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Going back out to what is probably my favourite hotel. Although the exterior is not the best when you walk in the wonderful experience begins. Most of the staff on the desk remember you if you have stayed before. The bar and bar staff are great nothing being to much trouble and if you are male and want the toilet, it got to be the best toilet in any hotel in the world. The two main wall are massive Tropical fish tanks with exotic fish of many types. Each floor has themed bedrooms i.e. Africa, Asia etc. Even the standard rooms offer great luxury and the walk to the centre to Dom Square is 5 mins to Papa Joes, The Old Corkonian and if you walk in the opposite direction NADA bar & restaurant with great cocktails, food & Indika the best cocktail waiter I have come across

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 450 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Two night stay on business. Always pleasant, helpful staff at reception. Train station was five minute walk, dome another five minutes. I wouldn't want to stay near the Dom, too many tourists and tourist-establishments and too noisy. But, the Savoy is on the other side of the tracks, in a quiet area, with mostly apartments around. The restaurant in the hotel produced excellent dinners both nights (had the Chanterelle Cream Soup both nights) and at decent prices. Very attentive staff. They ensured my pre-ordered early taxi to the airport was there right on time at 5.45 a.m. No stress.

The décor was retro cool, my single room was nicely furnished, A/C worked very well, Bose IPhone dock for music was a great plus. Free internet was a breeze to have all three of my devices online in seconds. I chose to find breakfast of fresh bread and coffee on my own in the surrounding neighborhood, not take the 15 euro add on to the price of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FEBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY77, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Feedback is a gift!
Dear FEBennett,

thank you for sharing your experiences you made during your stay in our hotel. We are glad to read that you liked your room. Furhter, we are pelased to forward your nice review about the dinner in our restaurant to the employees.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel soon, then we would recommend staying in our design junior suite with integrated whirlpool. In the meantime we would be glad to welcome you also as a new Facebook Fan.

Best wishes,
Your Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was amazed by the beautiful design of the hotel. Gave feeling of glamour and luxury.

There was a spa, but I didn't have chance to try it. They don't provide guests free entrance though :(

The morning buffet was grear, plenty of fruit and fresh juice for vegetarian eater! The food was great, but pretty expensive for the little portions they serve.

Rooms are clean and cosy. My colleague and I shared the twin room. The twin beds are not that wide and a bit too hard.

We used taxi's to go everywhere since they were very cheap.

Great luxury hotel, although dinner could be enjoyed in one of the local Brauhauses.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haitje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY77, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Feedback is a gift!
Dear Haitje,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable in our exceptional design. However, we are very sorry to read that you were provided with false information about entering the Savoy Spa. For all our guest the entrance including the use of the whirlpool, the sauna and the steam bath is for free.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel and to have the possibility of offering you a fruit drink in our Spa as an excuse for this wrong information.

Kind regards,
Your Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with courteous service, large rooms and closeness to the main station, this is the place to go to. I was there for two days on business. The location is also very quiet despite the nearness to the main station and the rail lines.

Online booking was a breeze. They speak good English at the reception and elsewhere, WiFi internet is free. The rooms are much larger that you would hope for this price anywhere in Europe. The amenities are modern, the beds comfy and the bathroom large. The room I stayed in had electronic temperature controls in the shower so you could set the temp to exactly 37 or 38 degrees celsius or hotter or colder, as you prefer.

The breakfast was the usual buffet spread, nothing remarkable. I did not have any other meal there. The main station is a 5 minute walk in one direction, and in the other direction in less than 10 minutes you can reach the famous Cologne Cathedral, walking past a busy road with plenty of restaurant options - Indian, Chinese, Italian, Turkish, and so on. The HOHO tour bus also leaves from close to the cathedral. The lane just behind the hotel also has restaurants and some shops selling souvenirs, textiles etc.

All in all a very good option whether you are a business traveller, single tourist or a family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSDSVSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY77, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Feedback is a gift!
Dear NSDSVSMS,

thanks for sharing your experience of your stay in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we could offer you a comfortable room for your trip in Cologne.
For your next visit we recommend to you a wellness package in our Savoy Spa, it exceeds even every stay in Cologne.

Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Your Team from the Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We wanted to try something different; When we arrived no A/C in lobby and it was the hottest day of the year. We had to wait for our room to be cleaned when we arrived. Didn't take long, but no A/C on each floor lobby either. The hotel smelled like old musky cigarettes. Decor in room was dark kinda vampirish. Big black granite jacuzzi in the middle of the room.
During the night we could smell strong cigarette smoke coming through the vents. If your not a smoker like us it was terrible.
Breakfast was very nice & included but then again very warm downstairs & was told A/C worked fine it was the opening of the lobby doors, but I beg to differ.
More of a place for artists & musicians who smoke to hang.
Not our style.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shlvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you like to discover hidden hotels which are unique n every way then this hotel is for you. Each room is beautiful in decor and the suites are simply breathtaking with the best jacuzzis in town. From the moment you step in to the hotel, the rooms, the spa and wellness centre to the food and the bar we could not fault this hotel. If you plan to visit this beautiful city and want a great hotel in a great location please make sure you stay here. They even parked our car for us! Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff and wonderful suite to make Cologne a perfect weekend trip. Thank you Savoy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, truly memorable to make it extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulfi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Feedback is a gift!
Dear Zulfi M,

thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.
We highly appreciate your positive remarks about the hotel, the rooms and the atmosphere.
Of course we forward your compliments to all our staff members.
For your next trip we would be happy to welcome you on our Sky Lounge where you can enjoy the breathtaking view on Cologne while drinking a refreshing Cocktail.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain with kind regards,

Your Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unfortunately i didn't have a good experinse with the Savoy hotel koln. i was excited for my stay and then all turned upside down. the check in was great, but all started when i got into my room... my junior-suite was small compared to the suites i have seen before and compared to the price i paid for.
then the surprise was , no shampoo no handkerchiefs and water goes onto the bathroom floor into the room's carpet making the smell in the room very bad.

i complained and all what i heard was: sorry i dont smell it!!! and the front-desk brought some shower creme instead of shampoo.

it all makes no sense because if the hotel management see a reservation for a couple in a suite for a weekend they should really prepare the room properly and not wait for the guest to call and complain.

i can not recommend this hotel i am really shocked to what i have experienced during my stay

Room Tip: i had Junior suite - venice ...603 dont you EVER book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khodord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Feedback is a gift!
Dear khodord,

we are very sorry to read about your negative experience about the stay in our hotel. However we are also a bit surprised about your comment that we did not try to help you. Our service members tried hard to fix the problem by moving you to another suite which you rejected. We offered you different other Junior suites so you would have received a room which may have been more appealing to you. This is why we are wondering that you are stating that we did not help you out at all.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel to have another opportunity to convince and satisfy you.

Kind regards
Your Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
2,454 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,226 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#22 of 261 in Cologne
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,695 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,806 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Turiner Str. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#5 Business Hotel in Cologne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $148 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing