We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel close to the Dom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #16 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Dorint Hotel is comfortable and close to the Dom (and Central Station) - 10 min walking and this in very good. It is not their fault that in this period is a construction site near it. There are other aspects which stopped me to give them 5 stars: no personnel at the egg station, shower temperature inconsistent, very strange air conditioning system. But, of course, there are also positive aspects such as cleanliness and the size of the beds and rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alin-71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
There are newer reviews for Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 820 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Me and my wife enjoyed our stay in the Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt. The room is spacious enough and comes with a very comfortable bed with nice pillows and a large flatscreen TV with many international channels and a modern and clean bathroom. The hotel is easily accessible: if you're approaching the city from the North it's the first thing you see when you enter the center. It's walking distance from the railway station and the Kölner Dom (the cathedral), the Roman museum and the Oldtown in between with its' many restaurants and café's. The waterfront area is also less than 10 minutes from the hotel. There's sadly no free Wifi. The hotel has a large swimming pool but using it is not inexpensive. The decor of the hotel is very spacious and modern. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorintHeumarkt, General Manager at Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and your recommodation!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Cologne.

Best regards

Achim Laurs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. Hotel has a very roomy reception and service at the counter is very hospitable. Only minor point is they forgot to inform us about the demolition work in the adjacent block that went on during the entire (!) night. Not their fault that this construction work happens, but would've been nice to be told up front. On the plus-side: we arrived around 11am and were welcome to check into our room. Room is clean, large, good bathroom facilities. A few down-points: apparently no free wifi (and if you have to charge money for that, charge something reasonable like a dollar a day, but these prices are a swindle) and we couldn't help but notice that personell in the breakfast area was more concerned with cleaning tables than serving coffee. I don't mind getting my own coffee, but in that case: place a coffee machine in the area. If you make me dependent on quasi-blind waiters .... not the best start of the day. Other than that: it's a fine place. Harry's bar is good. Good personell, good drinks and live music. Even people not staying at the hotel come here for a drink. And, no, live music doesn't cause noise disturbance. Demolition work across the street does though.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank adamma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was my favorite place to stay in Cologne for many years. When it still was an InterContinental. I thought I would try it again after two years.

There is a leaf of a coconut palm with an arrangement of small coconuts in the breakfast. A piece of art. In the Intercontinental times the coconuts where perfectly arranged. Today, they are just randomly placed. This is what happens of you take out the soul of a hotel. Everything looks ok, but it's just not the same anymore when it comes to details.

The staff at breakfast wearing jeans and sneakers. The girl at the egg station not having a idea on what a poached egg could be.

The (same) beds still very comfortable. But too much dust in the room. Water staines on the glass panels in the bathroom. No turndown service anymore. No fruit in the room anymore. Shower temperature inconsistent. Although many of the staff are still the same, all these things would never have happened in the InterContinental days.

If you never experienced the hotel before, you will find an average ok 5 star hotel at an almost perfect location in the city center with onsite parking. When I stayed there was a lot of construction work going on next door till late in the evening (Saturday till 22:00 PM). It was never mentioned at reservation or upon check-in. But the double glass helps and it nice you can open a window after the work is done.

If you can book a nice rate, this hotel is just fine. If you want luxury and attention to detail, try somewhere else (like Hyatt and the renovated rooms in the Ernst). The hotel is not up to international five star standard anymore. What a pity!

Room Tip: Floor 5 or 6, view towards the Rhine. Bit more noisy, but nice views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last Sept 2012. The room was very big, the beds and pillows very comfortable. The extra bed for our 6 year old boy was excellent too. There was plenty of room and tea making facilities.
The decor was classic, clean and modern.
We loved the breakfast, there was so much choice.
As you would expect the standard of this hotel was very high and we will definitely return again and recommend it to family and friends.
The location was spot on, we were in the centre of everything.
It is worth visiting the zoo, Claudius Therme via the Cable Car over the Rhine, the Love Locks Bridge, The Chocolate Factory and taking a boat trip up the Rhine and of course Cologne Cathedral

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the cathedral and not onto the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanquish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

like many we read reviews before travelling but on this occasion they proved inaccurate. staff were very helpful and knowledgeable 'Morgen' might seem a bit direct as a greeting but do we really want that American 'have a nice day' sickly stuff. the rooms were fine and it made a lovely change to have a walk in shower rather than a stand in the bath variety. the breakfast offered a vast array of choice and when we needed to catch an early train for a day out the staff were very obliging in us having breakfast half an hour early. very nicely situated meant even with my parents in their 70's they were able to see everything on foot. The issue with the mini-bar is something we all need to get accustomed to due to many devious guests who have considered it acceptable to sample the goods and then fill the bottles up with cheap replacements

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Its my first time using Dorints hotel. My booking in Cologne was a last minute booking, but I’m very satisfied with this hotel. The location is in downtown Cologne, its large and efficient and large room. I had a executive room, it might be larger than other rooms, but it had a large double bed, separate shower and bathtubs (even with space for someone bigger than a child). The air-condition is not very efficient and you can really not decide the temperature your self, only + - temperature for what the hotel decide. The staff is efficient, but a bit un-personal in the reception, you get the feeling that you are just a number in the line and their focus is always on the computer. On the other hand, the concierge was helpful and friendly.

Best thing at all with this hotel; breakfast until 12 and a great selection on the buffet!

Room Tip: Treat your self with a executive room. They are larger and comfortable bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramses2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,789 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $158 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing