We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #19 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Lacking attention to details”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was my favorite place to stay in Cologne for many years. When it still was an InterContinental. I thought I would try it again after two years.

There is a leaf of a coconut palm with an arrangement of small coconuts in the breakfast. A piece of art. In the Intercontinental times the coconuts where perfectly arranged. Today, they are just randomly placed. This is what happens of you take out the soul of a hotel. Everything looks ok, but it's just not the same anymore when it comes to details.

The staff at breakfast wearing jeans and sneakers. The girl at the egg station not having a idea on what a poached egg could be.

The (same) beds still very comfortable. But too much dust in the room. Water staines on the glass panels in the bathroom. No turndown service anymore. No fruit in the room anymore. Shower temperature inconsistent. Although many of the staff are still the same, all these things would never have happened in the InterContinental days.

If you never experienced the hotel before, you will find an average ok 5 star hotel at an almost perfect location in the city center with onsite parking. When I stayed there was a lot of construction work going on next door till late in the evening (Saturday till 22:00 PM). It was never mentioned at reservation or upon check-in. But the double glass helps and it nice you can open a window after the work is done.

If you can book a nice rate, this hotel is just fine. If you want luxury and attention to detail, try somewhere else (like Hyatt and the renovated rooms in the Ernst). The hotel is not up to international five star standard anymore. What a pity!

Room Tip: Floor 5 or 6, view towards the Rhine. Bit more noisy, but nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    325
    97
    33
    27
See reviews for
100
280
50
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last Sept 2012. The room was very big, the beds and pillows very comfortable. The extra bed for our 6 year old boy was excellent too. There was plenty of room and tea making facilities.
The decor was classic, clean and modern.
We loved the breakfast, there was so much choice.
As you would expect the standard of this hotel was very high and we will definitely return again and recommend it to family and friends.
The location was spot on, we were in the centre of everything.
It is worth visiting the zoo, Claudius Therme via the Cable Car over the Rhine, the Love Locks Bridge, The Chocolate Factory and taking a boat trip up the Rhine and of course Cologne Cathedral

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the cathedral and not onto the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanquish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

like many we read reviews before travelling but on this occasion they proved inaccurate. staff were very helpful and knowledgeable 'Morgen' might seem a bit direct as a greeting but do we really want that American 'have a nice day' sickly stuff. the rooms were fine and it made a lovely change to have a walk in shower rather than a stand in the bath variety. the breakfast offered a vast array of choice and when we needed to catch an early train for a day out the staff were very obliging in us having breakfast half an hour early. very nicely situated meant even with my parents in their 70's they were able to see everything on foot. The issue with the mini-bar is something we all need to get accustomed to due to many devious guests who have considered it acceptable to sample the goods and then fill the bottles up with cheap replacements

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telemark County, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Its my first time using Dorints hotel. My booking in Cologne was a last minute booking, but I’m very satisfied with this hotel. The location is in downtown Cologne, its large and efficient and large room. I had a executive room, it might be larger than other rooms, but it had a large double bed, separate shower and bathtubs (even with space for someone bigger than a child). The air-condition is not very efficient and you can really not decide the temperature your self, only + - temperature for what the hotel decide. The staff is efficient, but a bit un-personal in the reception, you get the feeling that you are just a number in the line and their focus is always on the computer. On the other hand, the concierge was helpful and friendly.

Best thing at all with this hotel; breakfast until 12 and a great selection on the buffet!

Room Tip: Treat your self with a executive room. They are larger and comfortable bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramses2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is enormous, modern style, good spacious rooms and also very central. Kind and effcient staff at the reception, exhasutive breakfast buffet.
:-( no free wifi, and this for a business class hotel is really a downpoint...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here a few times when it was in Intercontinental and was happy to return in Dorint livery.
Check in was efficient if workmanlike, the concierge desk appeared to me more helpful and friendly.
The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Everything worked well. Minibar is one of those that if you move an item you are automatically charged for it (be aware if you have kids in the room). Lifts are efficient with minimal waiting time even at busy times like breakfast.
The location is good too, but a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Dom/Hbf area, and close to public transport for exploring. Very close to shopping areas too.
The breakfast buffet is very good and easy to get a table thanks to the efficient staff.
Overall, a very good hotel but can be a bit pricy depending on when and where you book. Also charging high prices for internet is just not acceptable these days and would influence my selection in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is close to the main station and has very comfortable and spacious rooms. Very well equipped with all the amenities you expect in a hotel of that category. The room was absolutely quiet - no noise from the street (courtyard) or neigbouring rooms! The breakfast area is huge and the selection quite good (nothing fancy though). The staff is courteous and I had no trouble finding a nice and quiet table every morning. I also tried the club sandwich at the Harry's Bar - truly delicious and huge. No need for dinner after that.

If I were to visit Cologne again I would stay there again. Not to mention the unbelievable value for money I got thanks to tripadvisor. Just 82 Euros a night including breakfast!

What a pity that it's such an ugly city aside from the Kölner Dom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europeanexplorer_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,396 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,209 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 260 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,094 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,658 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#17 of 260 in Cologne
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Property: Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing