We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place near the convention center.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #17 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The only gripe I have with this place is the location. I am sure if you are here for a convention the location is perfect. With that said, I did walk to the DOM cathedral and around other parts of town (but I suggest a cab). There is not much around as far as restaurants or touristy stuff.
Once inside the hotel you are well taken care of. I was in my room and could not figure out my phone and had to go to the front desk to ask how to use it.
They had bikes in the lobby but they did not have the right information to rent them out. It would be great to ride around town on your bike from the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 862 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros:
Helpful concierge and staff in general, especially when I was ill.
Location, right at the south end of the main shopping strip, near Heumarkt.
Bar staff who know their stuff.

Cons:
Those annoying twin bed rooms - which means sleeping in a tiny bed. Nothing else was available due to a trade show which was quite annoying.
Wi-Fi - €24 for 24 hours which could only be used on one device!
Ridiculous food and beverage costs. I'm glad my €9 bottle of water came from Norway. Or the total bill of €25 for a bowl of chicken broth and 2 bottles of water.
Smoking area inside on the ground floor. Have we not moved on yet?
Those annoying fridges that auto-bill your room as soon as you move something. Heaven forbid I'd like to use a bit of the fridge for my own things!

Overal - not bad, in fact quite good. But a lot of improvements that could be made that would give a lot of enjoyment to more people and make the hotel more attractive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Fabulous accommodation - superb breakfast to fill any appetite. Comfortable and extremely clean rooms - modern and spacious. Great location - 5 mins walk to the Rhine and restaurants, 10 mins to station, in the centre of all the shopping and on the edge of the Old Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear overlooking the Cathedral - spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

what a great hotel this is.
From the bar staff to the reception and the concierge, all of the staff were very polite and professional.
The rooms are clean and the beds, including the pillows, are the best i have slept on.
OK, the hotel may be a little expensive, but as they say, you get what you have paid for and if you don't want to spend in the hotel, there is a great city right on your doorstep with restaurants, shops, bars and the cathedral within a few minutes walk.
The main city railway station is only, at most, a 10 minute walk from hotel.
There is a very good health club in the hotel as well.
I must also make a big thank you to Toby, who was the concierge in the afternoon while we were staying and was always on hand to offer advise.
I was also unfortunate enough to fall ill while I was there and Toby was very helpful trying to sort my problem, along with my own group and organised an ambulance.

Room Tip: all our rooms faced in towards a central roof area, so when booking I suggest you request a city cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned from a four day stay at the Dorint, formally known as the Intercontinental. The staff were polite and courteous. The room was very spacious, excellent shower room and although a little business like, for the money we paid, was excellent. We had planned to stay at the Excelsior but this hotel was half the price. The location is excellent, very close to shops, the Rhine and Hard Rock Cafe around the corner though with Harrys bar in the hotel, there was evening entertainment on two nights and always a great atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent, the familiar face of the chef, idris, was happy to cook anything for you. There was even sparkling wine available. There are road works outside the hotel but there was no noise and it really did not effect our holiday. Also the concierge were excellent on providing information and recommending restaurants. There was also a supermarket very close to the hotel. My daughter was disappointed that she was unable to use the swimming pool as we had not read the small print that you have to be over 18 to use. The hotel were happy for us to use another Dorint hotel but we found it too inconvenient and we got over this little hitch. Otherwise I could not fault this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel swimming pool is for 18 years and over. But the facilities of the spa, gym and swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChapmanWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here with a friend to visit the xmas markets. The hotel is very modern and comfortable with some stunning views of the Dom. The rooms are clean and stylish. On the weekend we visited, the hotel bar had a band playing and it got extremely busy - the band were fantastic and the atmosphere was great. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. The hotel is in an excellent location, we were very central and the xmas markets were just what we had hoped for. Many hidden gems (bars) to be found in cologne, we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarzb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great location in the heart of Koln, just blocks from the Dom, Main train station and primary restaurant/pub district.

Rooms are a bit smallish but extremely clean. Pretty fairly expansive lobby, very nice bar/restaurant.

Helpful staff, good English. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasGatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,575 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,296 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 263 in Cologne
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 263 in Cologne
1,882 reviews
Maritim Hotel Koeln
#27 of 263 in Cologne
1,123 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 263 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $162 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing