We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding business hotel in Koln downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #16 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Dorint Hotel is 200 mt far from Heumarkt square, it's really good one; rooms are large and clean; some of them are looking directly Koln Cathedral.(more expensive).
There are also a gourmet resturant (Maulbeers), fitness &SPA ( Holmes place) and indoor pool, all those facilities of 5 star hotel.

Breakfast is high level, you can have almost evrything you like to eat.
You can also go to Harry's New York-Bar for listening live music..

Well located near to Heumarkt, subway station (200 mt), from which you can go to Central railway station or to go to Koelnmessein in 10 minutes.
I'll suggest to stay at Dorint also because price perfromance ratio is outstanding (€75 1 nigth B&B) is not bad at all, isen't it?
I'll be back my next trip to Koln area for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roccoandhisbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 819 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here with two friends at the begining of December for the xmas markets. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet but they let us into our room anyway and put the 3rd bed in when we went out. They gave us a map and directions to the best markets and allowed me to try out my (bad!) German. They had forgotten to give us a 3rd set of towels but these were in the room along with a dressing gown and slippers but the time we got back from dinner. The room was spotless, spacious and comfortable -the third bed fitted in easily and didn't make us at all cramped. The hotel was very close to everything (closer than we had expected when we booked). Any time we wanted a cab it arrived within minutes and all of the staff were very helpful. The price might be a bit (and only a bit) more than some people want to pay, but the facilities and service we recieved were above our expectations. Still a fair price though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Hotel located in the heart of the city, 10 minutes on foot to Cologne Cathedral. The hotel is quiet, despite the construction work in front of the hotel. Staff was very helpful, fluent in English. Large room is equipped with everything necessary. Very delicious breakfast, one of the best in Europe! Every morning fresh fruit juices! More than 20 kinds of baking!
The main drawback of the hotel - high cost of room and breakfast, in my opinion (breakfast 29 Euro per person)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta_Novakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We loved this hotel. Its very modern and centrally located. The room was beautiful and restaurant / bar are all tastefully decoreate. I overheard the staff speaking very good English and they were always helpful and polite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodFoodCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We got a great rate with Travel Republic to stay at the Dorint during the Christmas markets. We've stayed here a few times previously when it was the Intercontinental and little has changed.
Prior to arriving we emailed the hotel to confirm our request for a twin non-smoking room with a travel cot, and the hotel said no problem. So it was just a little annoying to check in at 11pm to be told we could only have a double n/s room or a twin smoking room. After waiting for an hour the hotel then did 'find' a club room for us. However they weren't generous enough to allow us access to the club lounge for the inconvenience we'd suffered!
The room itself was fine - a little cramped but it didn't bother us as we were out most of the time. The bedroom and bathroom were kept clean, although we did notice some drainage problems in the sink and toilet.
We did find it a little odd for the TV in the bedroom to be an old-style CRT TV instead of a flat screen. Although the TV had a good selection of channels, it just seemed out of place in a hotel of this standard and style.
Although this is predominantly a business hotel, our 3 year old daughter appreciated the teddy bear, crayons and colouring sheets that she was given. This was more than some 'family-friendly' hotels have bothered to offer, so well done, Dorint.
Breakfast was good - a fine selection of hot and cold foods, and while we were there it was actually fairly quiet every morning so it was extremely pleasant. The waiting staff were friendly and more than happy to go and find certain food/ drinks if they were not available on the buffet.
We didn't use any of the hotel bars or restaurants. The main reception area got a little smokey at times as the smoking area was right beside the check-in desk.
The hotel location was great - an easy walk to the main train station, and right in the middle of the shopping district. It was only a 5 minute walk to the Heumarkt and the Old Town area beside the river.
As a few other reviewers have mentioned, there is construction work right outside the front of the hotel. We asked for a room at the back with a partial view of the cathedral and it was extremely quiet. The bedrooms are extremely well soundproofed from outside noise as well as from noise from other rooms.
When we left the hotel, we asked the concierge to book us a taxi to the airport. So we were a little annoyed when an airport transfer van turned up. The fixed price cost (32 euros) was probably not too much more than a regular taxi. So be careful if you book a transfer via the hotel.
Overall, the hotel is good value for money if you get a good rate (under £100 a night) including breakfast. It's not the best 5 star hotel we've stayed in and probably needs a little updating in places but overall it's extremely comfortable in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on a higher floor, to avoid any street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teemgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is hotel does apparently not care much about customer experience. Everything is there, but either it does not work properly, you are charged through the nose, access is restricted or it is closed all together. We were hoping to enjoy a fun Christmas at the hotel. Well forget it. After 2 pm on the 24th the city closes as does the hotel basically. You can stay in your room but that is about it. It is one of those hotels where everything you want is charged extra. Car park for instance costs 24 euro per day. The fitness was closed on the afternoon of the 24th and the 25th. Swimming pool is closed to children under 18 years old. I did not read about that on the website?! The fitness is not run by the hotel and one does not get the feeling hotel guests are particularly welcome there.
The rooms are OK. Decor was hip about 10 years ago. It is getting a little tired now. Location is excellent right in the centre and close to the main shopping areas and inner city.
Rooms are quiet, which is good. All in all a disappointing experience though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Got this hotel on a great rate from Travel Repubic - it worked out 3 nights for the price of 2! Was a bit concerned as it looked to be a bit of a walk from the train station but actually only took about 12 minutes to walk, Easiest route was round the Dom, down to the Rhine and along to the next bridge and then staight up the road to the shops. The dorint takes up a whole block. It is on a main road but there is no traffic noise at all in the rooms. They are also doing major building work opposite the hotel, but again,noise was not a problem. I had a corner room which had lots of windows and was a good size. It did smell slightly of old cigarette smoke when you walked into the room, don't know if this was from the last occupant or a hangover from when you could smoke in room, but it was not a problem and you only initally noticed it as you walked in the door. Excellent buffet breakfast. I pigged out and that saw me through a full days sightseeing! Hotel very clean and staff very friendly. Bed was a little on the firm side for me. The double beds have 2 single duvets on them - as there was only me, one did fine.The bathroom was a good size and had a seperate shower cubicle. All in all, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjs0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,424 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,783 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,676 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $156 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing