We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, fabulous breakfast!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #23 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, fabulous breakfast!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We come to cologne twice a year for a convention and love staying here! It's comfortable friendly and the breakfast is out of this world amazing!! Dinner is expensive but we normally share something between two people and its enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sarah C.,

Thank you so much for your kind review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share with TripAdvisor! You are always welcome to our hotel and we do appreciate your loyalty a lot!

We hope we are able to welcome you back soon to your hotel and the beautiful city of Cologne!

Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    542
    154
    53
    25
See reviews for
126
387
65
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Travelling a lot for work I have three basic requirements from my room; a decent iron, a hot shower and good wifi.

I need a decent iron so that I don't look like a tramp when going to meet my customers, and this was an unhappy experience. The iron is on the worlds shortest cord along with the worlds smallest ironing board, which means trying to iron a full man size cotton shirt is something akin to the Krypton Factor.

The shower mount is fixed to the wall so when the shower head is in its natural position, it gets water all over the bathroom floor. This means that the shower head needs to be turned to face into the bath, so some six foot plus Neanderthal such as myself ends up getting wet from the chest down in ten inches square of bath. Not comfortable.

At least the wifi worked.

The room was clean, well fitted, and very modern but the lighting was so much as arty but dim.

Overall it's not the worst hotel in the world, but I expected much more a Radisson.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Tom T,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.com and your current stay in our hotel.

Obviously, you have left our hotel with mixed feelings and we regret that we could not fully meet your expectations.

Be promise to take your feedback into consideration and look for more alternatives, also for taller guests. In general, we have never received negative feedback about the size of our ironing boards in the rooms; however we assure you that we will check other opportunities. Of course, we do have to meet an average demand as a hotel, but let us see what options we find. Same counts for the two showers of course.

Thank you again for your honest feedback and we would very much appreciate to welcome you back.

With kindest regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

360€ per night B&B. was not value for money, even during the ISM Confectionery trade fair.

Bar service was poor, very slow and you felt like when you were served they were doing you a favour. Restaraunt service was slow and food was just okay. We eat in the Dorint Hotel next door 2 nights out of the 5 nights we were here, food and service was considerably better.

For me the Hilton in City centre delivers value for money and great service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wallace62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear wallace62,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback and please accept our sincere apologies that we have not been able to provide excellent customer service in all areas.

We have thoroughly discussed your feedback with our service team in the bar and restaurant and we all regret that we have been unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

Of course, our rates do vary due to major fair like the ISM here in Cologne, but service shall never suffer during high peak periods. Be assured that we will do our utmost to further improve our service and intensively coach the involved staff.

In general we receive very positive feedback about our service and staff so it is even more disappointing to read your experiences.

Dear Wallace 62, we would love to welcome you back to our hotel next year for the ISM and we will proof that we can present us way better, than what you experienced this time.

Yours sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is what I expect from Radisson Blu - nicely designed, clean, well trained staff, good services. The internet was very fast - not so normal in European hotels. I was particularity pleased with Danar at the front desk, who resolved a mix up on the billing for my room, quickly, and thinking of ways to make it convenient for us. I wish there were more like him, in more hotels.
This hotel has a fault that I find in many hotels. The lighting in the room is clever, stylish and … dim. This may save energy, or be nice looking, but it is annoying. Combined with the overcast and gloomy weather that if often found in their location - it is depressing.

Room Tip: My room overlooked a courtyard and there was no traffic noise. My guess is that the rooms overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Ed B.,

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

I am delighted to learn that our staff was so helpful to you!

We really appreciate when our team members are praised by name on TripAdvisor as it allows us to ensure they are recognized for their superior service!

Thank you again for taking the time and we hope we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Although the hotel is located across the river (and not within walking distance of major attractions), it is literally located right around the corner from the metro (5 min walk). As a result, it only took a 10 - 15 min metro ride to be in the heart of things...not bad. Overall it is a nice hotel, great location (metro is right around the corner) with a delicious breakfast. Very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniemarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear bonniemarley,

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and our team was able to make your visit a little more special!

We hope you keep us in mind upon your next visit to Cologne!

Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over New Year, and I was impressed with the hotel.

Room:
- Spacious, well-designed, with everything you need. I was with a friend and we both slept extremely well (too well even!)
- AMAZING shower. The best I've ever had in a hotel. I took a shower whenever I could it was so great! :)
- Amazing bathroom with underfloor heating.
- Never heard our neighbours, great soundproofing

Hotel:
- Smoking area with heat lamps. Even though I'm a smoker, I don't like smoking inside rooms so this was a welcome plus.
- Bar area was nice. It was classy and that initially felt a bit snobbish, but it wasn't.
- Quick check-in and check-out. Alexander was great when we checked in - got a map, he recommended some bars and restaurants and told us how to get into the centre on foot.
- Didn't use any restaurant or eat breakfast - looked good though.
- Slightly disappointed with their 'spa' - although I knew there would be no jacuzzi or pool, it felt like there should be in this hotel as the rest was so nice!

Location - for me, it was a little bit further out than I would have liked. It was about 15 minutes walk to the main bridge (The Hohenzollern Bridge.) Then you had to cross that bridge - which was quite a long one! Not surprising given it's crossing the Rhine. There was a tram stop a few minutes walk from the hotel which we did use.

A great hotel, which I highly recommend unless you have any problems walking into town. I would certainly stay here again. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear IanD10.,

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and please accept my apologies for the delayed response to it!

I am delighted to learn that our staff (Alexander) was so helpful to you and that you enjoyed our hotel so much. Yes, the heating lamp is certainly another plus and we wanted to do something nice for our soking guests outside too.

We really appreciate when our team members are praised by name on TripAdvisor as it allows us to ensure they are recognized for their superior service!

Thank you again for taking the time and we hope we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen / Mailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel has extremely comfortable and quiet rooms, excellent breakfast and is situated just in front of the fair. That's perfect. The only slight problem was the interruption of the wifi every now and then, but normally this problem didn't last long. I have been here several times and find services and environments always on top (during the years, internet has constantly improved).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank SabineSch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear SabineSch13.,

Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you always enjoy your stay with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience as well as highlighting our amazing team and environment! Yes, we did upgrade the speed of the WIFI again and it is nice to hear that you realized it!

We hope to welcome you back soon! Do let us know if there is anything good we may do for you please!

Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#35 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
art'otel cologne
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotel.de, Agoda, Prestigia, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing