We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite up to Radisson standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #25 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not quite up to Radisson standard”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff was super nice and professional as always, and the location is very convenient (practically inside the fairgrounds, and within easy walking distance to the cathedral). That said, the condition of my room left me a bit disappointed. Toilet paper holder falling apart, carpet stained, no power outlet within easy reach at the bed. Oh, and half of the parking lots are reserved for women, really overdoing things.
I'll probably return to the place due to its convenient location, but I hope this onbe room was just a glitch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HR G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    573
    172
    56
    29
See reviews for
131
410
67
534
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here one night on way to Italy. Great hotel with excellent staff. Very comfortable bedroom with all facilities you expect from a modern hotel. Breakfast excellent with every thing you could wish for. Only downside is the position of the hotel which is a 20 minute walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A little tricky to find by sat nav and situated on the "wrong" side of the river, but quiet for all of that. Valet parking available underneath the hotel. Big business-type hotel, but pretty good overall. Bags were taken up to room, and tickets for Claudius spa package also delivered. Very nice spacious room (standard), can't see why an upgrade would be needed, but disappointingly small bathrooms. Toiletries - there was a promotional Nivea package for men, but only one small bottle of bodywash/shampoo, and a guest soap. These were not renewed on the second day.
Promised bowl of fruit was not in room, but brought up the following day on request - fresh strawberries, blackberries and raspberries. Lovely after a day wandering around the shops.

We left for the Claudius spa in a complimentary taxi, which was perfect because the spa is difficult to access being situated underneath a flyover. The spa package claimed to include towels and robes, but when we asked for these at the spa, we were told they were not part of the deal and had to pay four euros each. Taking this up with the hotel on return, we were told that we should have collected towels from reception before we left. The website deal definately states " towels and robes at the spa", not "collect from reception before you go"! We negotiated free car parking in recompense.

Part of the package includes a three course meal in the Paparazzi restaurant. .The staff do their bit, they just don't have the right ingredients to do it with. Starter is a choice of pizza toppings, and main course choice is pizza or pasta. Desserts were appalling. No gluten free choice, and pretty much everything had garlic in, even the pizza sauce although we were promised not. Which is fine if you like gralic but if you have an allergy, then not so good.

One of the delights of the hotel is the magnificent buffet breakfast spread. Allow plenty of time to enjoy it, with a free newspaper. The other delight is the spa and fitness suite at the hotel itself. A complete set of free weights and machines, steam room, sauna, plunge pool, rest area. Absolutely fabulous, and hardly used by any other clients during our stay.

Disappointed to be awakened at 07:30 by maid on Saturday morning. OK so we hadn't put out the "do not disturb" sign, but surely there is some sort of dialogue with reception?
Bed has two single duvets in true german style.

Definately worth the package deal, even if you eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location, easy access to motorways. The surrounding area is pleasant and quiet enough. But once you enter the hotel, you get the feeling that you are several decades back in time! The lobby and the restaurant need some redesigning urgently. The hotel seemed also a bit understaffed, with a long queue at the reception. The staff were, however, helpful and friendly. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is in my opinion overpriced, at 25 euros per person. But as a whole, this hotel is a good choice for a short visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiaGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Petia Greenfield,

Thank you for sharing your observations with us.

I am happy to read that you liked our rooms, but regret that the design of our lobby and restaurant did not meet your expectations. We usually receive lots of positive comments about the design, however that once more proofs that design is a matter of taste. Our hotel design is modern, but special. One thing is for sure, The Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne is always worth a visit.

I hope you will give us the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

with kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed 1 night at the hotel at a business room at the 6th floor
The lounge is big and impressive.
The room was modern with a comfortable bed but with a small bathroom.
Everything was clean and well designed.
I liked the veranda outside of my room, the view was good where somebody can smoke and relax.
The breakfast was rich and the breakfast room spacious.
I liked the bar, good service but unfortunately there is only one.
I recommend the hotel for business reasons.

Room Tip: Get a room at the upper floors, the view is good and you will be able to smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakisAthens1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear MakisAthens1970,

I would like to let you know that we appreciated your feedback on your stay very much.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and showing us and other travellers that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you also for commending us for business travels, however our hotel and Cologne have also much to offer for a relaxing trip with your beloved ones.

I will gladly share your feedback with my team! We hope you will stay with us again this year. It would be great to see you again.

With kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is certainly my "2013 surprise of the year" (for now). This hotel was above my expectations on most of the points and I can definitely recommend it. I would not hesitate one second to return there for my next stays in Cologne.

City centre is reachable by public transport, but do not expect to find anything (except Köln Messe) is the surroundings. Property is quiet, thanks to its design and huge patio it gives a real impression of space.

Rooms are original, very nice size (above average), definitely pleasant even if they show some signs of age. Bathroom amenities are minimalistic, but here again bathroom is large and things do work.

Breakfast is on a huge buffet with lots of choice, it is good, but expensive (25 €!). Room service food is served rapidly and is average.

In room Internet access: I had choice of Wireless and wired, used the latter. The access was just *excellent*, nearly as fast as at home, and I must say that I have never seen such a good Internet access in a hotel until my stay there. The service they provide should be standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur_Londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear voyageur_Londres,

How nice to see that we exceeded your expectations of our hotel.

It makes us happy and a little proud that we are your "2013 surprise hotel of the year" and we would add this titel to our other top rated service awards from Tripadvisor, holidaycheck, hotels.com and many more.

It was a great pleasure for us that you stayed at our hotel and I hope you will soon travel to Cologne again.

with kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Radisson Blu was really comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and everything you expect is provided. We could see the Dom from our floor-to-ceiling windows, and the bed and duvet were very comfortable. We had booked a business double room, which we were told doesn't actually exist, so they put us in a regular twin room and gave us free vouchers for coffee, since the business room has an expresso machine but the regular rooms do not. The vouchers could also be redeemed for beer, so we were able to enjoy that in the lounge after a long day of sightseeing. It's only a 10 minute walk from Koln Deutz/Messe (NOT hbf) with luggage, but it's a 30 minute walk (it's lovely, so it feels short, but we timed it) to the Dom, even cutting through the Deutz/Messe station. Be careful if you're coming internationally via a Thalys train - it doesn't always stop at Deutz/Messe after hbf (you'll have to transfer) so inquire. Service could be really good (the kind desk clerk let me use a check-in computer terminal to access the internet, for free, when their business center charges for usage) or really indifferent (I waited over an hour for reception to send up maintenance for fix the clogged bath, and he/she never ultimately showed and reception never asked about it). Breakfast was great, but very busy. I would stay there again, happily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurrerE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CurrerE,

It was a great pleasure to read your favorable comments and I hope you had a good journey home. It flatters us immensely that you were so satisfied with our hotel and service provided.

We would love to welcome you back to our wonderful hotel here in Cologne and look forward to your next stay with us!

With kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,400 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,100 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 260 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#29 of 260 in Cologne
692 reviews
art'otel cologne
#26 of 260 in Cologne
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing