We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #24 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I suppose for people coming for the fair the location is perfect, for common tourists it might be a little bit too far away from the main attractions; still with great public transportation connections. The staff was friendly and helpful (coming as business guest you don't have to pay city/tourist tax). The room and the bathroom were spacious and very clean, do not expect a great window view thou. I like the beds and linen. The sport and sauna area was quite nice, although the finnish saunas were turned off.

Do not go to their bar. One has to wait for ages for the drinks and they must used so pre-made mixtures to mix the drinks. Never ever. Or perhaps we should have a beer?

The absolute highlight was the breakfast. Nicely decorated breakfast room, great variety of tasty food, delicious omelette, even the coffee wasn't so bad. Everything look very fresh, and I must say it again, the choice of food was very large. The price for the breakfast was rather high but then skip lunch and have late/bigger breakfast here.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for three nights during the Amphi festival (which was at Tanzbrunnen, nearby) in July 2013. Just needed a nice place to stay and was not disappointed. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms and a nice (but a tad bit expensive) hotel restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hnrkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Check in was very smooth and friendly. All staf is very helpful and friendly.
We got an upgrade to a business suite, didn’t notice any difference with other rooms except for the Nespresso Machine and one (?) bathrobe and pair of slippers (we travelled as a couple).
The room was clean and spacious but hot! No working airco and it was more then 30 degrees outside, very hot and sleepless first night… The ventilation system blew a little bit fresh air in the room but it was definitly not airconditioning. The following morning, we closed the outside shutters and curtains and the next night the temperature was a little bit better but stil very hot.
The bed was also very small for 2 persons. I think it was only 140 cm wide and with the warmth outside it was not that nice to sleep so close together. Room is big enough for a bigger bed. I thought it was also a very strange ‘headboard’, it was just a piece of fabric on a stake hanging above the bed. Do they wash this? I didn’t touch it, found it yuck.
Had to separate bedcovers (didn’t use them, too hot in the room) and one blanket in the same fabric of the ‘headboard’.
Bathroom was small but very convenient, beautiful and clean. Nice rain shower and separate handshower, also possible to take a bath.
There’s free internet, always nice, but in our room we had only connection in the corridor. So had to stand next to the door to acces internet. In the room (on the bed or at the desk) it was not possible to get connection.
Breakfast was very nice: plenty of choice. The breakfast room was very busy al morning (til noon!) but the buffet was refilled as quickly as it ran out. There’s an omelette station, cappucino-machine, cold and hot buffet with lot’s of choice in cheese’
Check out was smooth also. Underground parking is convenient but rather expensive. We got it half price (came with business suite). Normal price: 19euro/24h and 2,7/extra hour. There are some parking spaces outside the hotel (also to pay but I think only 3 euros/day) on the public roads.
Overall it is a very nice hotel but I would stay away in high summer or when temperatures go above 25 degrees outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indra_and_Wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have excellent stay on this Radisson!

At check in we upgraded (at weekend) and our room was superb. Sauna area was also superb and we used it in the morning and evening. Bar area and atmosphere was really nice.

But the best thing this Radisson is breakfast! It was absolutely fantastic and maybe best hotel breakfast ever. There is so much everything.

Parking is quite expensive, 19 euros per day. Because of upgrade, we get it 50% cheaper, which was nice.

We walked to city center every time, so I don't know public transport. It's takes maybe 15 minutes walk, but crossing Rhein in Hohenzollenbrucke is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skuuga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. We booked the Business suite which means that you get half price parking and breakfast included. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped, even with a Nespresso machine. The internet was decent as well as we could use it in our rooms with great speed. The breakfast buffet was definitely one of the highlight as they had a plethora of choices on offer. The location is just outside of the centre but it is only a short 10 minute over the bridge.
Overall, we were impressed with the layout and furnishings of the hotel. I would definitely consider visiting again next time in I'm Cologne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would first like to say that the hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful.
Wifi was strong, fast, and consistent. The code only works for four devices so be sure to ask for an extra voucher if you have more.
The parking is on site and extra
The breakfast - if you pay for breakfast at check in, you get it for a discounted price of 17 euros (I think). It is more than worth it for convenience. They offer an omelette station as well as breads, meats, sausage, bacon, cereal, yogurt etc. They also have a cappuccino machine.
The room itself was spacious and clean. The bed was similar to tempurpedic. The pillows were a little flat. The room did have a slight smoke smell even though it was non smoking. We had a nice patio which was not completely private (no walls between the patios) but still very beautiful.
The location was good for us as we didn't come as tourists and wanted to be outside of the downtown area.
The only problem was the air conditioning. They do not have an actual air cooling system. In typical European fashion, they have a set temperature in the hotel and the "air conditioner" in the room just blows the air in. It does not actually COOL the room. Our room was so hot we had to request a sheet because we couldn't use the comforter. They also didn't even have a fan available.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you don't need air conditioning. If you come in summertime, this is not the best place to stay!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Radisson Blu is centrally located in Cologne, and has decent rates for the business traveller.

Two criticisms: Pillows are thin and uncomfortable, and there are too few staff to deal with check-in, and most importantly check-out, in the morning. Having to stand in a line for several minutes to check out is particularly irritating when checking out in the morning, since then one is often rushing to a meeting.

Also a bit irritating that the blankets are German standard for a queen size bed, that is, two small blankets instead of a large one.

Rooms are large and clean, and the hotel is also nice a quiet. Bathroom is spacious and the shower is easy to use.

A good option when travelling for business in Cologne.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#32 of 261 in Cologne
697 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,790 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $115 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing