We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #26 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed for Christmas markets. It is about a twenty minute walk to the cathedral, which was okay.

Hotel staff were very friendly, and hotel was very clean and modern. The hotel lobby was very nice, although little bit expensive for drinks. Rooms were great.

The city is very nice and the markets were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear NCK72,

we also thank you kindly for your excellent reflection of your stay.

Be assured that we will share your comments with our staff members and will continously strive to exceed customers expectations in the future.

We wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager & District Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    551
    162
    55
    28
See reviews for
129
396
65
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for a three day trip to the christmas markets. Its not central in Cologne but is within walking distance to the centre. There is a tram just around the corner so its easy access to all attractions. the manager kindly left us a VIP package in our room for my husbands birthday which was a lovely touch. Staff were friendly and efficient.
rooms were spotless and spacious and great value for money. Rooms were very quiet and so were corridors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear RAKelly,

what a great comment! We are very delighted that you have shared your positive experiences with other traveller and us and it makes us very proud that we have been able to provide such great customer service.

Please come back to our hotel and the wonderful city of Cologne. We will be delighted being your host again.

Have a Happy New Year and great upcoming weekend!

Yours Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager & District Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here with my family for a long weekend to visit the Christmas markets. Welcome at reception was very friendly as were all staff we met. Room was well appointed, located at the far end of one of the wings of the third floor and was exceptionally quiet throughout our stay. Breakfast was included in the rate and was very good with a wide choice and excellent omelette/fried egg station. Location is on opposite side of Rhine from town centre opposite the Koeln Messe exhibition centre. Transport to the centre is easy and quick. We flew into Duesseldorf Airport and the mainline train stops at Koeln Messe Deutz station from which hotel is either walkable in about 10 minutes or take Tram/U Bahn route 3 or 4 for one stop from the Deutz Lanxess Arena stop (2 minute walk from mainline Messe Deutz station) to the Koeln-messe stop (less than two minutes walk from hotel). To get to the Neumarkt area of the city centre from the hotel go in the opposite direction on line 3 or 4 (takes around 10 minutes). The tram stop is just across the road from the hotel. To get to the Cathedral we used mainline train from Messe Deutz for the short trip over the bridge to the Hauptbahnhof. My family really enjoyed this hotel and the Christmas markets in Cologne and Bonn and want to go back next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Numberoneguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Numberoneguest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on tripadvisor.

We read your experiences with great pleasure and are very much looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager & District Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Radisson in December so we could see the Xmas markets. Whilst the hotel isnt in the centre of Cologne, the tram is a few minutes walk away and so the hotel is well positioned for the markets. Though on a sidenote, if you're getting a tram make sure you have coins with you as the machines dont accept notes and seemed to have a problem with foreign cards.
We were given a free upgrade to a suite at the Radisson. This was due to a bad stay in Egypt. However, we werent expecting the upgrade so it was a very welcome surprise.
The room was very nice. However the bed only had 2 single duvets. We queried this and were told they had no double duvets. This seemed a bit strange. We asked a maid and room service who both said the same thing. So either they dont, or it was lost in translation. Either way, that was the only fault with the room.
We ate in the Paparazzi restaurant. The food was delicious and I cant fault it. Though when we were there, it was failry quiet, however service was pretty poor. We were sat at one point for 20 minutes with empty glasses and no one came near us. Also after the main, our plates were taken away but we werent asked if we wanted dessert or anything else to drink. This was the only let down of the restaurant.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice and variety, though it was hard to find a table on Sunday.
The staff at the bar in reception are great. The even supplied blankets to anyone thats cold in the reception area.
Reception staff were good as well. We watched a horror film in the room, which froze. So we never did find out how 2 people died, but anyway, the reception took it off the bill as soon as we mentioned it.
One finally point though about reception is with checking in and out. Theres no set way to queue which leads to a bit of a scrum. A couple of airport type barriers would solve this.

Overall, if we went to Cologne again, we would happily stay at the Radisson again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stereid_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the room we provided.
I am very sorry but it is true, that we do not have any double duvets. But from January 2013 we will offer our guests double duvets in our suites.
In the same breath I would like to take the opportunity to apologize that one night you had such a bad experience at our restaurant. Please rest assured that I already transferred your comments to our Restaurant Manager.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in the Radisson Blu hotel a week ago (2nd week of December 2012) for a city trip to Cologne. The room was spacious, clean, fresh towels, wifi. Beds are good too, slept very well... city tripping can be exhausting! Breakfast buffet was great too. A quality hotel actually. Friendly staff. (Thanks Hanna, for the map and the info about the metro) The spa is OK. Not very big but the sauna was nice, especially after a day in the city when it was very cold.

The hotel is not in the center, but every ten minutes you can take a tram/metro into the center. Exit is called "Koehlmesse". Lines 3 and 4 will take you into the city and back in about ten minutes. It's on the other side of the river, so you get to see the city from the other side as the metro crosses the bridge. Nice. For 9 EUR you can buy a 24 hour metro card.

Room Tip: We had a room from which we could see the Lanxess arena in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and the service we provided.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business. We would be more than happy to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After founding out Maritim in Cologne was double booked, we were transfered to this hotel. Yes, it's not in the center. But, it's a perfect place to stay in Cologne. Modern, friendly and the really say 'yes' to everything. Net time we visit Cologne, this will be our first option!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, away from tourist bus parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanamstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Radisson Blu as destination hotel for your last trip to Cologne.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed the weekend 7th until 10th December , two couples for the Christmas Markets.
We flew into Clogne-Bonn Airport, it took 15 minutes by taxi from Airport to the hotel and cost us 25 euros. The train fare was 5 euros each so betwen four of us this was a good option.On arrival the WOW factor of the large open reception was a really good start to the stay. Check in was speedy and friendly. The rooms were modern and spotless. They were of a good size with what you expect from this type of hotel,cofee making,hairdryer etc. We did not eat so can not comment but breakfast time looked really busy.The hotel is the opposite side of the Rhine from the city but provides easy access ,the tram stop is 1 minute away,Klonnmesse staion is 5 to 10 minutes away but by the time you wlk to the station you only have to cross the road and you are on the pathway for the railway bridge. Thsis a lovely way to walk into the Atstadt with views of the Dom and the town. Once over the bridge you are a minute from the Dom and right on the river with its bars and resturants.You can also see all of the padlocks placed on the bridge. The markets on the Saturday were really busy but great fun and a must to see, but at times especially the Dom market a little too crowded and you could not really stop and look at the stalls.The Sunday was a lot better and not as busy but all of the shops were closed with only the markets open.
This hotel for me is excellent and to get a hotel of this standard on the oher side of the Rhine would be alot more expensive.In the time we stayed we only got a taxi back to the hotel once and this was because it was raining late Sunday night. For me the walk added to the experience and took only about 15 to 20 minutes. So to sum up a really top hotel which comes at a good price and IMO in a good location for evrything you need in Colgne.

Room Tip: The first 4 floors have a view down onto the reception area. Our room on the front gave a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyMc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the your room and the service we provided.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#32 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#8 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Rezidor, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing