We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, just a couple of flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #26 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay, just a couple of flaws”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Radisson in December so we could see the Xmas markets. Whilst the hotel isnt in the centre of Cologne, the tram is a few minutes walk away and so the hotel is well positioned for the markets. Though on a sidenote, if you're getting a tram make sure you have coins with you as the machines dont accept notes and seemed to have a problem with foreign cards.
We were given a free upgrade to a suite at the Radisson. This was due to a bad stay in Egypt. However, we werent expecting the upgrade so it was a very welcome surprise.
The room was very nice. However the bed only had 2 single duvets. We queried this and were told they had no double duvets. This seemed a bit strange. We asked a maid and room service who both said the same thing. So either they dont, or it was lost in translation. Either way, that was the only fault with the room.
We ate in the Paparazzi restaurant. The food was delicious and I cant fault it. Though when we were there, it was failry quiet, however service was pretty poor. We were sat at one point for 20 minutes with empty glasses and no one came near us. Also after the main, our plates were taken away but we werent asked if we wanted dessert or anything else to drink. This was the only let down of the restaurant.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice and variety, though it was hard to find a table on Sunday.
The staff at the bar in reception are great. The even supplied blankets to anyone thats cold in the reception area.
Reception staff were good as well. We watched a horror film in the room, which froze. So we never did find out how 2 people died, but anyway, the reception took it off the bill as soon as we mentioned it.
One finally point though about reception is with checking in and out. Theres no set way to queue which leads to a bit of a scrum. A couple of airport type barriers would solve this.

Overall, if we went to Cologne again, we would happily stay at the Radisson again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stereid_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the room we provided.
I am very sorry but it is true, that we do not have any double duvets. But from January 2013 we will offer our guests double duvets in our suites.
In the same breath I would like to take the opportunity to apologize that one night you had such a bad experience at our restaurant. Please rest assured that I already transferred your comments to our Restaurant Manager.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    559
    166
    56
    28
See reviews for
131
400
66
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in the Radisson Blu hotel a week ago (2nd week of December 2012) for a city trip to Cologne. The room was spacious, clean, fresh towels, wifi. Beds are good too, slept very well... city tripping can be exhausting! Breakfast buffet was great too. A quality hotel actually. Friendly staff. (Thanks Hanna, for the map and the info about the metro) The spa is OK. Not very big but the sauna was nice, especially after a day in the city when it was very cold.

The hotel is not in the center, but every ten minutes you can take a tram/metro into the center. Exit is called "Koehlmesse". Lines 3 and 4 will take you into the city and back in about ten minutes. It's on the other side of the river, so you get to see the city from the other side as the metro crosses the bridge. Nice. For 9 EUR you can buy a 24 hour metro card.

Room Tip: We had a room from which we could see the Lanxess arena in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and the service we provided.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business. We would be more than happy to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After founding out Maritim in Cologne was double booked, we were transfered to this hotel. Yes, it's not in the center. But, it's a perfect place to stay in Cologne. Modern, friendly and the really say 'yes' to everything. Net time we visit Cologne, this will be our first option!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, away from tourist bus parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanamstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Radisson Blu as destination hotel for your last trip to Cologne.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed the weekend 7th until 10th December , two couples for the Christmas Markets.
We flew into Clogne-Bonn Airport, it took 15 minutes by taxi from Airport to the hotel and cost us 25 euros. The train fare was 5 euros each so betwen four of us this was a good option.On arrival the WOW factor of the large open reception was a really good start to the stay. Check in was speedy and friendly. The rooms were modern and spotless. They were of a good size with what you expect from this type of hotel,cofee making,hairdryer etc. We did not eat so can not comment but breakfast time looked really busy.The hotel is the opposite side of the Rhine from the city but provides easy access ,the tram stop is 1 minute away,Klonnmesse staion is 5 to 10 minutes away but by the time you wlk to the station you only have to cross the road and you are on the pathway for the railway bridge. Thsis a lovely way to walk into the Atstadt with views of the Dom and the town. Once over the bridge you are a minute from the Dom and right on the river with its bars and resturants.You can also see all of the padlocks placed on the bridge. The markets on the Saturday were really busy but great fun and a must to see, but at times especially the Dom market a little too crowded and you could not really stop and look at the stalls.The Sunday was a lot better and not as busy but all of the shops were closed with only the markets open.
This hotel for me is excellent and to get a hotel of this standard on the oher side of the Rhine would be alot more expensive.In the time we stayed we only got a taxi back to the hotel once and this was because it was raining late Sunday night. For me the walk added to the experience and took only about 15 to 20 minutes. So to sum up a really top hotel which comes at a good price and IMO in a good location for evrything you need in Colgne.

Room Tip: The first 4 floors have a view down onto the reception area. Our room on the front gave a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyMc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the your room and the service we provided.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broxbounre
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I visited Cologne for the second year running and absolutely loved the Radisson Blue, the rooms were spacious and as soon as the key was in the door we felt relaxed. The bar staff were excellent and the variety of drinks superb.
Definitely would return !

We did not sample the food but wish we had

Excellent weekend

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Radisson Blu Hotel as destination hotel for your last trip to Cologne.
It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with your room and the service we provided.

We would be more than happy to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male, Maldives
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel for people visiting Medica. This hotel is 45 minutes away form Messe Dusseldorf. When you buy the entrance ticket to Medica you get free travel on Tramps and Regional Trains.

We leave hotel around 0830 and arrive 0915-930 in Dusseldorf HBF and reach on time for to Messe Dusseldorf.

Evening Cologne HBF very near, shopping & food is very close by only 5 mts.

Room Tip: Book Early for your event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelfeld, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent a very nice weekend at the Radisson Blu Hotel. Very close to the Lanxess Arena, if that is your place of choice to go to a sporting event or concert. The tram is a brisk 90 second walk away from the hotel. And for all you trade fair people the hotel is practically at your doorstep being across the street from the tram stop. My wife and I had a very nice time in Cologne, and that was very made very accessable by the Radisson Blu. The room was very comfortable and the staff friendly. My wife and I cannot wait to make a return trip to Cologne, because the Radisson Blu will be our destination for our hotel stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter John M.,

Wir wissen es zu schätzen, dass Sie sich die Mühe machen, unser Hotel hier bei tripadvisor.com zu bewerten.

Ich möchte mich im Namen des gesamten Personals hier im Radisson Blu Hotel bei Ihnen für Ihren Besuch bedanken und freue mich sehr darauf, Sie erneut bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen, wenn Sie sich wieder in der Gegend aufhalten sollten!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,313 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,740 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#29 of 260 in Cologne
681 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,618 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#8 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing