We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop and very good breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #23 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stopped here on our way back to the UK from Southern Germany and just needed somewhere to break the journey. We knew that this hotel was nearer to the Messe rather than being in the centre, so were not surprised that it would have been a tram/bus ride into the City. We also wanted the parking facility available at this hotel, which we paid €19 for but was absolutely worth it for the security of the underground car park. The room was great; very spacious, clean and modern, with a massive window which formed the whole of one wall! It had electric blinds which ensured that the room was nice and dark in the morning, and it was not noisy at all. We had a pleasant view over a courtyard which was a nice touch. One thing to note though - the minibar charges if you move anything in it, which we fell foul of, though this was easily sorted out by the very helpful reception staff.
The room rate that we had was very good and the restaurant seemed to be quite good value for the pasta dishes, although we didn't eat there.
The breakfast, as seems to be the way with the Radisson Blu chain, was quite astonishing. A huge selection of very fresh food with eggs being prepared by a chef in the buffet area.
We would definitely stay here again; it's quite orientated towards the business traveller so is more on the "large and impressive" rather than "cosy" side but it doesn't suffer for this at all. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxyroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Sandy,

Thank you very much for choosing the Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne as destination hotel for your last trip.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu I would like to thank you for your business and I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards from Cologne

Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Well, if I get a room, and the window cant be closed properly, because its damaged, then I simlpy expect, that I get a new room just by a phone call. Unfortunately I had to call several times, cross check it with a maintenance guy, talk twice to the front desk. This is not "guest first".
The hotel itself is clean, modern, good rooms. Nothing to complain, a good business hotel. The location is in my eyes good enough for exploring Cologne. Subway is just some steps away.
Breakfast is ok. Would I come again? If there is a good price, sure. If not, I will search for another one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximilian_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel and the breakfast.
In the same breath I would like to take the opportunity to apologize that you had such a bad experience with our front office and maintenance department.
I am sorry for the inconveniences you had to undergo and would like to apologize for all the distress we brought about.

I appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great hotel, clean friendly and large rooms. Some rooms on the fifth and sixth floor get a view of of the church. Loved the waterfall shower, but beware the bath is slippery! Parking costs 22EUR a night. Breakfast was a large selection and a chef was making omelets to order.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Ryamac,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with your room and the service we provided.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Hotel we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I have liked it a lot. The location is not the best possible unless you are visiting the fair. This time I was rather disappointed about the changes in the gym. All fitness machines were out of electricity and you could not do any training on them. The televisions had been removed from the gym. The sun beds from the small patio was also removed. It seems like the best days are gone and no money or effort is spent on the gym and spa area. These things matters when I choose where to stay!
The rooms are rather okey but we had difficulties with the televison. The problem was finally solved by changing the room. The breakfast is still good and the standard of the restautant is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juhani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Juhani,

Thank you very much for choosing the Radisson Blu Hotel as destination hotel for your last trip to Cologne.

We regret that you did not feel most comfortable during your stay with us.

I trying to find out way it be possible that there was no electrical power in the gym.
Therefore I will share you feedback with our senior management as well as our chief engineer in order for improvement. Regarding the TV in our gym, I can tell you that this was sadly defective and has been replaced.
This has nothing to do with savings.
Next time you will stay with us please let us know if you hafe any problems in our hotel.
We are hoping to get another chance to earn your business.

Kind regards,

Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here in August 2011. Beautiful Hotel, friendly staff, location isnt bad. A bit out from the city centre but its just a matter of hoping on the commuter rail and 3 or 4 stops later you are in Koln city centre!!! all the mod cons.

Ate in the restaurant one night, expensive but so good!!!

A nice quiet hotel to stay in with all the mod cons.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma1Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisorfor for your last trip to Cologne.

It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the service we provided.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, rooms comfortable, and facilities good. Enjoyed the gym and spa area a couple of times. The only downside was the location, we were there with children on vacation and found that going downtown was a bit far.

Room Tip: When we checked in we were happy with our children getting a garden view and not the traffic noice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thordis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Thordis P,

I appreciate you taking the time to complete this survey here at TriAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Hotel I would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was staying for three nights at the Radisson Blu. Brilliant location-just opposite the fair ground. But the rooms need renovation after a few years. With 200 €+ per night I also expect more than just shower gel and shampoo. In the past they had always some promotion gels. But this time nothing. Aa video on demand was not waorking, house keeping came to help and offered a feed back. No feed back. The breackfast is good, but there could be a few more points scored. They have fresh bread. But no tissue/blanket to hold it with your hand. The names of all the food was mixed (no fun when you expect cottage cheese-and get horse raddish!). They cook you a nice omelett fresh - but will not inform you that it is ready. Even if you sit opposite the chef! I found all kind of service and performance-from poor to excellent. So "average" is the result.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room, make sure you are away from lobby/bar and the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Martin G.

We appreciate you taking the time to complete this survey here at TripAdvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#5 of 262 in Cologne
2,475 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
1,714 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 262 in Cologne
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#33 of 262 in Cologne
715 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $88 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing