We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Ranked #45 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We needed a hotel that met three basic requirements: parking, breakfast included and acceptance of our cat. This hotel was perfect for us. We had a quiet room and a good night's sleep. We toured during the day and the cat slept in. The breakfast buffet was fine, with good coffee and plenty of bread and hard boiled eggs. The staff was courteous and very helpful. Some reviewers implied that the price is high but there are other hotels in Cologne with much higher prices and not much more to offer the guest. Oh, and there is a McDonald's nearby for midnight snacks.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor facing a residential complex - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stellablue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvC_9, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your postive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you in our hotel.

Best regards,
K.J. Comes
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 379 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is located quite far away from the attractions of Cologne and the connectivity other than taxi is difficult. Room sizes are very small and initially it gives you a shock if you have already experienced any holiday in express hotel in Germany. The room sizes are smaller than standard and give you very less space to move in the room.
Its is again a self service concept hotel with almost no room service . The towels provided by the hotel were really not up to the mark and one towel was torn from one corner. Breakfast was very basic with very little choice and mostly it was cold.
Staff of the hotel is little rude in behavior and mostly you will not find them on reception Table . Every time you have to search them if you want tackle some issue.
As compared to other hotels this hotels lacks service and hospitality both quite badly.

Room Tip: Rooms on front side are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvC_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Cologne Mülheim.
With regret, I recognized that you have not been satisfied with our product. Please let me apologize ones again for any inconveniences.I have spoken to my department heads and the Front Desk Department and forwarded your comments. Only through the help of our guests, we are able to maintain the standard which we have set for ourselves and to improve.
I would be happy, if you could give us another chance to deliver excellent quality and service which is our goal at all times for all our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Cologne the next time.
If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.
best regards
Mark van Coppenolle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have very often stayed at this HIE, Koln hotel , i found this a very clean, good service, B/F hotel.
The manager & all the staff are extremely cordial.
Keep it up!!! Sonya & Team.
From: Joseph Mathew- Mumbai, India.

Room Tip: South side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy25leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvC_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to welcome you in our hotel.
Best regards,
Mark van Coppenolle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is usually my choice when I come to Koln for a few days, predictable service and reasonable price.
You cannot look for amenities, no gym, no lounge, basic breakfast, relatively small rooms ... but OK for a quick visit, given the price.
Location is close enough to the city center, where you'll have to go for a decent dinner... only McDonnell is available within walking distance

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Vecchio59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvC_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments.Only through the help of our guests, we are able to maintain the standard which we have set for ourselves and to improve and we look forward to welcome you in our hotel.
Best regards,
Mark van Coppenolle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Located around 5.5 hours by Car from Zurich, Holiday Inn Express Köln-Mülheim was just a 10 minute walk to the Berlinerstrasse Station. From there the city center was just a 20 minute S Bahn trip. We didn't expect to have a fantastic breakfast since we just paid 52 Euros per night for two pax (We stayed for two nights). They had everything from bread to marmalade to eggs to nutella. The quality of the coffee was also very good and the staff at the restaurant were the best. The Infrastructure of the hotel was in good condition and there were shops around it including Mc Donalds. The Check in was quick and attentive. The Room was spacious to our surprise and they had a lot of international tv channels. However the free WIFI was just available when you are at the reception or at the restaurant. The Shower Curtain and the Bath Towels were of very very poor quality. We were more than satisfied with this hotel and we definitely recommend it for those planning to do a side trip in Cologne. We are very much excited to test the other Holiday Inn Express Outlet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tumfave815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvC_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to welcome you in our hotel.
Best regards,
Mark van Cjoppenolle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Not bad, stayed here on a reward night usually staying with the group on business. Access to town fine about 12-15 euros in a taxi, didn't bother with public transport. The room was clean and fine HOWEVER, the bed was bloody terrible. Bouncy and springy like a 70's french metal sprung one, horribly cheap syntheic duvet and even worse cheap pillows - Ikea's 3 euro pillows put them to shame... Overall OK but you have been wanred about the bed! Very polite staff though... and Mcdonald's next door for breakfast if you don't fancy the hotel one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvC_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences about your stay with us.
We rate critical guest comments as a very positive opportunity to make things change for the better. Once again thank you for your comments.
Only through the help of our guests, we are able to maintain the standard which we have set for ourselves and to improve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Cologne the next time
Mark van Coppenolle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to go to the Christmas markets. The room was very clean, comfortable and warm, although there was an odd noise at night from the air conditioning All the staff were very friendly and polite and went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. We were given a delicious packed breakfast as we had to leave very early in the morning. It's a bit far out of the city centre if, like us, you used public transport and the nearest U-bahn is a 10 minute walk away, which seemed like forever having wandered round the markets all day. We would definitely choose to stay again if ever in Cologne.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvC_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experiences with us.
we are very pleased that you were satisfied with our service and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
kind regards
Mark van Coppenolle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Novotel Koeln City
#37 of 262 in Cologne
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#40 of 262 in Cologne
682 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#5 of 262 in Cologne
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim

Address: Tiefentalstr. 72, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mulheim)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $58 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Cologne Muelheim is a modern business hotel located within easy reach to the exhibition Koelnmesse, the Cologne City Centre, the Palladium (concert hall) and the Koeln Arena The Companys Bayer and NKT are near by.Also next to A3 motorway and public transport. The hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Colognelike Dom, diff. museums and the old Town with good restaurants and bars. Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions as well as shoppers for the Cologne city centre. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 107 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Internet Access and air condition.We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. Upcoming Events in Cologne and in Düsseldorf, are easy to reach, as well as the exhibitions Medica and GamesCom . Also nice to see are the Kölner Lichter, the Kölnmarathon and different events in the Köln Arena- reserve your room directly online with our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Mulheim
mülheim Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing