We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was pleasantly surprised by Sonata Hotel”
Review of Sonata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonata Hotel
Ranked #121 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I booked well in advance and got a better deal on my room by negotiating directly with the hotel instead of using a booking service. I was in room 409 which had a bit of a view, a larger bed than some rooms, windows facing two directions which opened, and the room was spacious. The bathroom was clean and modern. The breakfast was very good. Staff were cheerful and helpful. One English TV station, but I didn't go to Germany to watch TV. I didn't have a laptop so can't rate the wi-fi. There was a little loud street noise from drunks, garbage trucks, and construction but it was intermittent. My earplugs took care of that. It's a relatively quiet part of central Cologne. 5 minute walk to Neumarkt trams and 10 minutes to the Dom and train station. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrentSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

Good proximity to Tourist sites. Large room for 3 guests with comfortable beds & pillows. Good shower but be aware the side of tub is quite high to climb over. Good variety at breakfast. No soap in shower (take your own!). Room had several extra chairs, desk and small table. No air conditioning but large windows open for good ventilation. Quiet...no street noise. Nice, helpful staff. Non-smoking is really non-smoking...overall and excellent choice of hotel. One of the 2 top hotels on our vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma-June2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed at the Sonata hotel for just one night arriving around 10 pm. We checked in and went to our room to be disappointed by the appearance of the hallways and the room itself. The hallways were reminiscent of a dorm. We booked a triple. Two of the beds were "normal" beds while the third was on a slant. Photos to come soon. Basically I slept at a 30 degree angle. The carpet in the room was soooo dirty and full of stains. In spite of the slanted bed, dirty carpet and dorm like hallways, we all slept fine. The bathroom was clean as were the sheets and towels. The breakfast was also very good and plentiful. We had to check out at 11, which we thought was a bit early. We paid 120 Euros for this room and it was soooo not worth the price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Its location is very central, just 10 mins walk from the train station and Dom. Close to the shopping streets, and a few restaurants nearby, or 10 mins walk to the river front. Buffet breakfast included was not too bad, hot or cold, but cold looked the best with cereals, toast, fruit and yoghurt.

Price was ok for 2 nights. Single room was a good size. Bathroom was neat and tidy. Only down side was the room was very hot during the hot weather they have in August, and there was no fan or air cond. The window opened, but the street was noisy from quite early in the mornings. The free wifi was crappy, worked very slowly, and sometimes not at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Rooms are not pretty, but large and bright though. Clean hotel, beds ok, perfect location for tourists (town center, quiet at night). Simple breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at the Sonata Hotel for three nights and on the whole it was very good and the location was superb, however when we went to check out the receptionist tried to bill us for two movies that we had not watched. After a long discussion she finally agreed not to charge us but clearly thought that we were liars because "the computer said we had watched them for more than 2 minuets".
This spoiled what was nearly a perfect stay so if you stay here be warned!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukmktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in December 2008, visiting the Christmas markets and doing a little Christmas shopping. The hotel is actually in a fantastic location, it's literally a couple of steps up a side street off the pedestrianised shopping area. Advantage being that it's quiet and also that a taxi can get right up to the front door of the hotel, but you're still right in the thick of things.

The room was great, more than adequate for two adults, with plenty of space. A little sparse but all we needed was a bed each and a bathroom, there was a wardrobe, a minibar, and a TV on top of a very high cupboard (you could only use the remote if you stood on the bed and pointed it at the TV, but we didnt go there to stay in the room anyway, so it didnt matter). The bathroom was fine, no bath, but a decent shower & basin, loo etc.

Breakfast included was ok - first day there was lots of fruit, but not available on 2nd two days. Always something to eat though, so did the trick.

The door of the hotel was right opposite the back door out of the mens dept in C&A, less than a minute away, so I would use this hotel again purely based on it's fantastic location. If you're shopping, seriously consider this place.

The staff were pleasant and friendly, left us an extra couple of pillows when we asked, although they couldnt get the radiator working, said they were waiting for a 'college' to come & fix it.. !

Not cheap, but a good basic accommodation in a really great location.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Engelbertz
Hotel Engelbertz
#91 of 261 in Cologne
110 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Senats Hotel
Senats Hotel
#119 of 261 in Cologne
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel An der Philharmonie
Hotel An der Philharmonie
#117 of 261 in Cologne
95 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#127 of 261 in Cologne
130 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
#67 of 261 in Cologne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Hotel

Address: Perlenpfuhl 6-10, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $95 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonata Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing