We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money”
Review of Sonata Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonata Hotel
Ranked #119 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Istanbul
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed at the Sonata hotel for just one night arriving around 10 pm. We checked in and went to our room to be disappointed by the appearance of the hallways and the room itself. The hallways were reminiscent of a dorm. We booked a triple. Two of the beds were "normal" beds while the third was on a slant. Photos to come soon. Basically I slept at a 30 degree angle. The carpet in the room was soooo dirty and full of stains. In spite of the slanted bed, dirty carpet and dorm like hallways, we all slept fine. The bathroom was clean as were the sheets and towels. The breakfast was also very good and plentiful. We had to check out at 11, which we thought was a bit early. We paid 120 Euros for this room and it was soooo not worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    51
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
25
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Its location is very central, just 10 mins walk from the train station and Dom. Close to the shopping streets, and a few restaurants nearby, or 10 mins walk to the river front. Buffet breakfast included was not too bad, hot or cold, but cold looked the best with cereals, toast, fruit and yoghurt.

Price was ok for 2 nights. Single room was a good size. Bathroom was neat and tidy. Only down side was the room was very hot during the hot weather they have in August, and there was no fan or air cond. The window opened, but the street was noisy from quite early in the mornings. The free wifi was crappy, worked very slowly, and sometimes not at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Rooms are not pretty, but large and bright though. Clean hotel, beds ok, perfect location for tourists (town center, quiet at night). Simple breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at the Sonata Hotel for three nights and on the whole it was very good and the location was superb, however when we went to check out the receptionist tried to bill us for two movies that we had not watched. After a long discussion she finally agreed not to charge us but clearly thought that we were liars because "the computer said we had watched them for more than 2 minuets".
This spoiled what was nearly a perfect stay so if you stay here be warned!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukmktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in December 2008, visiting the Christmas markets and doing a little Christmas shopping. The hotel is actually in a fantastic location, it's literally a couple of steps up a side street off the pedestrianised shopping area. Advantage being that it's quiet and also that a taxi can get right up to the front door of the hotel, but you're still right in the thick of things.

The room was great, more than adequate for two adults, with plenty of space. A little sparse but all we needed was a bed each and a bathroom, there was a wardrobe, a minibar, and a TV on top of a very high cupboard (you could only use the remote if you stood on the bed and pointed it at the TV, but we didnt go there to stay in the room anyway, so it didnt matter). The bathroom was fine, no bath, but a decent shower & basin, loo etc.

Breakfast included was ok - first day there was lots of fruit, but not available on 2nd two days. Always something to eat though, so did the trick.

The door of the hotel was right opposite the back door out of the mens dept in C&A, less than a minute away, so I would use this hotel again purely based on it's fantastic location. If you're shopping, seriously consider this place.

The staff were pleasant and friendly, left us an extra couple of pillows when we asked, although they couldnt get the radiator working, said they were waiting for a 'college' to come & fix it.. !

Not cheap, but a good basic accommodation in a really great location.

  • Liked — Location in the centre of Cologne shopping
  • Disliked — Key pick up late at night in the parking garage
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Went to Cologne to visit the Xmas markets and picked this hotel for its location,all in all everything was excellent. It is a no frills hotel, ie no bar no restaurant but the rooms and the breakfast are great and everything is on your doorstep, places to eat,bars the Xmas markets, the Rhine, the wonderful shopping area. Well worth a visit at this time of year and would love to go back next year just to soak up the great Christmas atmosphere. Highly recommend their 'Gluwhine' lovely winter warmer of a drink.
Cologne would be a lovely place to visit no matter what time of year but if you just want to get into the Christmas spirit this is the place to go and this is an excellent hotel to stay at.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Engelbertz
Hotel Engelbertz
#99 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Artisthotel Monte Christo
Artisthotel Monte Christo
#166 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#184 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Lint Hotel Koln
Lint Hotel Koln
#67 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
#68 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
#54 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Hotel

Property: Sonata Hotel
Address: Perlenpfuhl 6-10, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonata Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing