We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for the station & cathedral, good sized rooms, but thin walls & curtains” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brandenburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brandenburger Hof
Ranked #72 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
The Beautiful North
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
“Handy for the station & cathedral, good sized rooms, but thin walls & curtains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was adequate for our needs, only 5 minutes' walk from the train station & cathedral, but there was too much light and sound coming into the room at night.

Positives -
- Very convenient for the station. I suspect a lot of travellers use it for the same reason, there seemed quite a lot of early morning movement around the hotel.
- Helpful multi-lingual staff, secure 24 hour reception (buzzer entry on the front door.)
- High ceilinged, airy rooms, a nice size for a city centre hotel. Small table and chair was handy for us having our own breakfast in the bedroom before early morning departure.
- Decent sized bathroom.
- Clean and secure.
- Although close to the station, it's a couple of streets away, which helps make it quieter.

Negatives -
- Curtains were much too thin for a hotel. They were inadequate to block out the streetlight at night, and daylight in the morning.
- Doors and walls did not keep out the noise from other guests, especially people walking through the echoey hallway and closing their doors.
- No lift if you have trouble climbing stairs.

Overall, if you're just looking for somewhere clean and secure that's close to the station or cathedral, Brandenburger Hof will do the job. However, if you want attractive surroundings, or luxury, or something a bit special, or you're a light sleeper, it's probably not the best hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    100
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
65
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I had made reservations for a November stay this past June (five months in advance). Yesterday, I wrote to modify the number of nights I was staying (adding one) and received a note back that stated that they had made a mistake in my reservation. Apparenlty, there is a trade show in Dusseldorf during this same time period and they switched their reservation policy during this time period, making everyone stay through the following Sunday night (one full day after the show). At no time during the reservation process was this made clear to me, nor is it stated in their on-line reservation form.

I cancelled my reservation altogether and would warn fellow travelers of this unfair and illegal activity.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here with friends for one night. The hotel is very central and within walking distance of the Cathedral and train station. The owners are extremely friendly and the rooms are a decent size and well equipped although lacking in coffee and tea making facilities. The bathroom has everything you could possibly need including a hair dryer and is extremely clean. Breakfast was continental and had a huge amount of choice.

The only fault this hotel has and it's not the fault of the owners is that as it is so central there is traffic noise all night long. Unfortunately, we stayed in a first floor bedroom at the front of the hotel and the night we stayed was extremely hot. There is no fan or air conditioning in the hotel bedrooms and we had the windows open which, because of the noise, made it a restless night. But, for a small hotel, the owners, facilities and breakfast on offer are very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jegste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Im often flying through Cologne or Dusseldorf to Europe with my friends. And I like to stop in this Cologne hotel. Few steps from railway station - an exit opposite to a cathedral, by a bakery to turn for a glass-building which is located opposite behind road. The hotel is located in the silent street. There are rooms with a bath, and rooms with convenience on a floor. On the second floor the big toilet room, on 4 floor only for one. All is very clean and convenient. Just one remark - this hotel hasnt lift, but for us it wasn't the big problem.
Very friendly personnel, free wi-fi, and the most magnificent breakfast (the buffet, include in cost of rooms) which I ever saw in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amin0ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and I cannot recommend it enough. The location is great being a five minute walk from the main attractions. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were amazing. Its worth walking across the main bridge as there are thousands of padlocks inscribed with lover's names which is worth a photo or two.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessaboneidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgique
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

5 mins walk from the station and dom
excellent welcome - rooms very clean
substantial breakfast - I will go back there !!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiqueDomi_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had 2 nights here in mid December. Our room was simply furnished and very clean although shower drain had a slightly strange smell. Breakfasts are the usual German buffet of cereals, breads, cold cuts and cheese - although the spread here is very generous! Staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the station - very handy if you have heavy luggage as we did travelling from Australia. The area around the hotel is not that interesting so for dining options you need to walk back across the station to the start of the shopping district etc. There are takeaway food places in the station too and also a bakery near the hotel.

Overall this hotel is ideal for a short visits to Koln eg for visiting the Christmas markets and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#97 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#151 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#26 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#65 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandenburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandenburger Hof

Property: Brandenburger Hof
Address: Brandenburgerstrasse 2-4, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandenburger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Brandenburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandenburger Hof Cologne
Brandenburger Hof Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing