We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cologne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen
Ranked #78 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This very old building serves as a great hotel for those looking for a more authentic feel while staying in cologne. However, it is not condusive for parties larger than 2 people. The largest room they have sleeps three and is almost double the cost. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is an elevator for those unable to climb stairs. Breakfast is servevery morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for a short visit to Koln. It lies along the waterfront on a lively square a few minutes walk from the cathedral and the altstadt. My single room was clean and in excellent condition with a good selection of television channels and wi-fi. Staff is friendly and helpful and the "hotel hund", Paul is adorable. The breakfast is more than ample. The toliets and showers are shared but are clean and neat. Toliets are located near the bedrooms. The only disappointment was that the (one) shower was two floors up from my room. I will certainly be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the water front side have a great view of the square but are quiet noisy since people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mparadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Rooms are dated in need of refurb good breakfast Staff friendly Ideal situated in a nice area very shared bathroom was ok hotel was quiet close to bars river and transport links Restaurant a bit pricey



  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a lovely experience here with my husband, 2 teenagers and our eldest daughter and her baby (10 months old).

The hotel was clean, staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and the dog who greeted you at the bar was lovely. The breakfast was excellent; plentiful and fresh and traditional German.

We had 3 rooms and each had a sink and window that opened wide. It was hot when we were there but nothing an open window did not fix. Also because we did not face the Rhine, it was quite quiet.

The location cannot be beat and we overlooked the smaller church beside the hotel. The Rhine was right outside our door and we could walk everywhere.

We also had a car and easily found a carpark that was within walking distance of the hotel.

We would return in a heartbeat. All of the children (save the mama with the baby, she would have preferred a toilet and shower in the room) stated they would choose this hotel again over our amazing flat in Berlin and our 5 star hotels in Trier and Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Consider a room facing the church beside the hotel. This made for a quiet sleep with open windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaMaria993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel was perfectly situated in the old town. The staff were more than friendly, nothing too much trouble. The rooms was basic but adequate, even the shared bathroom felt like it was en-suite, it was that close.

Room Tip: Ask for a hairdryer - they keep them downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Tessie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Perfect in the center, in front of The Rhein river, in the middle of hussle and bussle and just 200 meters away from the wonderful Cathedral, with a lot of bar and great restaurant around there. The staff is really kind and helpful, and the room are really cosy, clean and warm. I would definitively choose again this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank masbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for one night during our 12 day road trip from Brussels through Germany and ending in Paris. The location could not have been better.....view of the Rhine and a lovely area to walk to many restaurants as well as the Cathedral. The hosts were very friendly and an ample breakfast was included. The room we booked was small and had a sink only (shared toilet and shower on floor) but we chose this 13th century hotel for the unique experience and were not disappointed. However, my future preference would be for a private bathroom.

Room Tip: We stayed on a Thursday night and noise was not a problem. For those with an auto, there is an under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#126 of 263 in Cologne
136 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Sandmanns
Hotel Sandmanns
#68 of 263 in Cologne
145 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
#156 of 263 in Cologne
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Drei Kronen
#59 of 263 in Cologne
161 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Kleine Stapelhauschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Kleine Stapelhauschen

Address: Fischmarkt 1-3, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $77 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Das Kleine Stapelhauschen 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen Hotel Cologne
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing