We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Markets”
Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #35 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at the Novotel in Cologne. The Staff, hotel and rooms are superb. We had an issue with the room safe failing on us which wasted a night and all the following morning, spoiling the weekend slightly as all our belongings were locked inside and being a Christmas Sunday the hotel had difficulty in tracking down an engineer to fix the problem. However at all times I felt the excellent Staff were on the case

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Martin R,

we say THANK YOU for your commentas here on this site. It was a pleasure for us to host you in Cologne. For the problems with the safe we appologize once again.

All the the best in 2014 and warmly greetings from Cologne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

We arrived at the Novotel in the evening after flying into Dusseldorf airport and catching the Sky train to Cologne. We took a taxi to the hotel for 9 euros. On arrival quick check in and our room was on the third floor. It was nice and large perfectly adequate for a family of 4. One double bed and a sofa bed converting into two singles which were nice and comfortable. It had tea and coffe making facilities, mini bar if required and was nice and clean. We didn't sample the food as we were there for the German christmas markets and we ate there. The bar was usual prices and pleasant for a night cap before bed. It is a little out of the way but only a nice 20 minute walk along the Rhine on the front to the centre.

Room Tip: Third floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Bobbit,

reading your comments make us smiling..... We are happy that you stayed with us and that you have had a good time in Cologne.

Best regards and have a nice christmas time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ValentynTs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jg1313
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

There seems to be a real shortage of rooms available in Cologne for more than 2 occupants, it took a while to find this hotel and we are really glad we did. The rooms were clean and very well maintained. We chose a Superior room which gave us a queen sized bed and a sofa which was already converted in to a double bed and was fine for the kids. Parking was secure and located just below the hotel, the overnight rate was around €14 per night which didn't seem too bad for a city centre hotel. If you are in Cologne for Christmas markets the Chocolate museum can be seen from the hotel so is no more than a 5 minute walk, central Cologne markets and Shopping are also just a short walk away alongside the Rhine and a cheeky shortcut through the Maratim hotel! Free wifi is a great bonus, all hotels should really offer this. The breakfast buffet includes free meals for under 16's and the selection on offer was excellent, the reception staff were great (and English was perfect!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chem73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Chem73,

thanks a lot for your detailed feedback that we will share with our staff. We are happy to read that you have had a great time in Cologne.

Enjoy the christmas time. We hope to see you again in our beautiful city.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We drove for a long weekend for the Christmas markets in Cologne and we were not dissapointed by the drive nor the hotel.

One of the really good family friendly hotel so far, when driving in Germany as

- a really convenient access from/to the moroway
- a walking distance to the Christmas markets
- comfortable, clean and quiet rooms
- reasonably priced
- underground safe parking (paid though, as it comes to 10 euros per day, quite common in DE)

We will return, as really happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValiaIon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Valialon,

thanks so much for your vote here. It is always a pleasure for us to provide our staff with a feedback like yours.

We hope you will have a nice christmas time. See you again in Cologne.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel in line with the Novotel brand standard. Too bad it isn't convenient to public transportation, despite being on a very busy four-lane highway that flanks the Rhine: all bus and metro stops are at least 5 minutes away on foot. The parking garage is convenient but expensive.

We had a bizarre experience with our breakfast - we had booked through the Accor Web site the "City Breakfast" at the bar, but apparently the staff wasn't really aware of how it should work. We stayed three days and we had to negotiate every day with different people, some of them insisting that it would have to end at 10AM just like the regular breakfast (although the documentation says nothing of the sort), others apologizing for their colleagues not really knowing; and even one bartender that, despite us being very evidently waiting for someone to come, from 9.45 to 10.00 AM, kept on doing some inventory of beverages without even bothering to call a colleague.

Finally, I had booked the room to use my points to pay for part of the stay, but at checkout seemingly nobody was aware of it and I had to pay the full amount. I was really upset, but even a call to the central Accor call center in Germany was useless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mcicogni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear mcicogni,

thank you very much for your detailed feedback here. To understand what happend and to clear the situation we would like to know the date of your stay in our hotel and we need also your name.
Please be so kind to contact us by mail to H3127-GM@accor.com.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 263 in Cologne
1,398 reviews
art'otel cologne
#25 of 263 in Cologne
1,072 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#66 of 263 in Cologne
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Hotel Lyskirchen
#19 of 263 in Cologne
589 reviews
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Address: Bayenstr. 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#14 Family Hotel in Cologne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $91 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing