We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Convenient Location and Great Prices for Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Ranked #39 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Convenient Location and Great Prices for Rooms”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in March 2014 and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located close to the Dom (Cathedral), close to the River Rhein (5 minutes walk), near the Cologne main train station, and hotel is surrounded by many shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes. The location is very convenient for us as we don't want to waste time.

Our double room and bathroom was spacious and clean. The room came with large flat screen TV (mostly German channels, unfortunately!), small fridge, couch, writing table and chair, coffee table, and off course, 2-twin beds made into a double bed (this is common here!). The staffs were friendly and helpful. The price for 3 nights were very reasonable. We didn't take the breakfast as we wanted to eat outside, but they have a nice eating area overlooking the Dom. They also have a bar with alcoholic drinks (in case someone wants a night cap). Security-wise, you will get an electronic key that activates the elevator to your floor and your room. The only complain we had was the soft pillows on the beds. But we used the throw pillows from the couch for extra comfort.

We really enjoyed this hotel and we will definitely stay here again when we visit Cologne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    223
    73
    22
    15
See reviews for
44
131
44
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in January, it was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is reasonably priced, it has friendly helpful staff. Rooms are lovely, beds very comfortable. There is an excellent breakfast buffet with a huge variety on offer.

I am really looking forward to paying a return visit, I can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, just repaired with attentive staff, delicious and big breakfast (only 8 Euro), cozy small rooms. Suits for business travel and sightseeing. Located very close to the main railway station, right next to the old Church.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NDYRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A superb location and superb price! Lovely and clean and comfortable with an excellent breakfast buffet and the opportunity to order food (Italian) if you wished, but why anyone would I do not know, when it is located about 4 doors from the Frueh Brewery and with many other eateries around. Close to the railway (not so close that you can hear the trains) and in a very safe feeling area. Lovely to find gummi sheep on the pillow!!!
Parking is an issue; no response to an email sent asking about parking, we were advised on arrival to park at the Heumarkt which, although geographically close took 45 minutes to reach when taking the car there and was eventually only 3 euros a day cheaper than the car-park literally around the corner! Staff were generally very friendly and helpful - particularly those who were on the afternoon/evening shift when we were there, they were very lovely and very helpful.
My only concern, was that one day when I went to breakfast, I arrived back at my room to find my room unlocked (it was an electronic key system) which I had assumed was an electronic error, when I discovered later in the day that my purse was missing 30 euros the afternoon/evening staff were extremely helpful but advised me to speak to the manager in the morning when I checked out - not such a helpful response from them the following morning (your purse should've been in the safe - yes, but the room should have locked automatically?) and I am still waiting for the email to let me know their findings from 'watching the cctv in the corridor' (which I didn't see was there) - disappointing that there has been no response thus far and I suspect that any response would say 'the cctv did not show anything unusual'.
However, that aside (I have pretty much forgotten about it), I will most certainly stay in the hotel again as everything else about it was brilliant :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our 3rd visit to the CityClass Europa an our 3rd really enjoyable experience. Our email request for a room preference was met, enabling a superb view of the Dom. Arrived early and had luggage cases were stored promptly and securely. Reception staff are friendly, professional and speak impeccable English. Location is spot-on for the Dom, the Old Town, the river, bars/restaurants and the main shopping areas. Can’t really fault the place (or Cologne and it’s friendly people).

We were there over New Year and thoroughly enjoyed the way it was celebrated. So different to home and if you keep your wits about you it's fine. Much better than watching an organised event where you ared herded around like sheep.

Room Tip: A view of the Dom at night is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is very nicely located just the back of Cologne Dom.
Easy reachable to Cologne central station and main shopping street too.
Because of the exhibition, almost all hotels in Cologne increase the room rate sky high.
And this hotel is the same.
I can not fairly judge if this hotel charge the normal rate but because of the very high rate, I have to be very critical this time.
I paid more than 400 euro and stayed 6 nights this time...... but the single room was exreamly small and you can not open big suit case.
The hotel entrance has 7 to 10 steps up and it make us very unconfortable to bring big lugguages and this is not at all friendly for handicapped person.

If there is no exhibition, the room rate may be drop down by 1/5, then you have diffrent score but if they charge 5 times more and it nothong worth for this level of service and hotel facility.
Only the location was fantastic.

Room Tip: Is there any good room there ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a single room, and I loved it; for a traveler that will spend minimum time in the hotel, it's perfect. The service is at the level, and the hotel looks new. Breakfast is only 8 euro, but various and delicious. Free Wi-Fi is only for 20 minutes a day, but u can ask for more. Location is right close to the Church, shopping street and dining area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NDYRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#31 of 261 in Cologne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#47 of 261 in Cologne
308 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 261 in Cologne
855 reviews
Hotel Drei Kronen
#64 of 261 in Cologne
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom

Property: CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Address: Am Hof 38 - 46, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa am Dom ****Wake up and see I'm in Cologne! From a view of the Cologne Cathedral everyone dreams - you enjoy this exclusive look at us!Located in the heart of Cologne, in the immediate vicinity of the Cologne cathedral, the extensively renovated 4-star Hotel Europa am Dom in 81 rooms, understated elegance, modern comforts (air conditioning, flatscreen TV, wireless) and attentive service.For small break in between loads the open round-the-Clock Bar lounge of the hotel up on a wide selection of drinks and snacks and separate smoking lounge.Whether you come to explore in and around the cathedral city or for a business visit to Cologne, select the Europa Am Dom as the focal point for your activities: main station, fairground and shopping are within walking distance to the airport, the train leaves in 15 minutes.Cologne City GuideWhether as a refuge for a city tour, as a convenient "obvious" place to stay after a concert or theater, or as a "home away from home" for business activities - the three CityClass hotels in the heart of Cologne for every occasion, the ideal choice.Gladly we reserve a table for you in the most beautiful old town restaurants or hearty beer halls or book tickets for the currently trendy musicals and plays. Our professional staff can help you in choosing your shopping or at the "Route Planning" for your excursions into the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityclass Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing