We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable hotel near the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Ranked #52 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is located behind the Heumarkt and a 5 minute walk to the Dom of Cologne.
The elevator only reaches the third floor, so if you sleep on the fourth floor, you have to walk another level of stairs.
The rooms are quite small and the beds are NOTHING compared to home. The matrass is thin, the pillow has a plastic feeling and is filled with air, (yes, the pillow slowly depletes until your head lies on the matrass). There is a little window, but at night there is much noise from bars.
Shower is great. Hard and warm waterjet.
Breakfast is good as well. Everything what you may expect from a full continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for staying in Cologne. Right next to a number of great restaurants. It is also a quick walk to the major sights and shopping district. The one downfall is that it is right next to bars/walkways were partiers are traveling later at night. You can shut out the noise with the rolladens, but our door didn't do a very good job of isolating the noise from the late night goers in our hall. This was really the only negative though. The staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful. The rooms had everything you could need, although were a little hot. Overall worth the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsr0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location was excellent with the Dom within five minutes walk.
Was a bit of a nightmare to find in the car due to all the road work closures in the city and no real directions available advising how to get to find entrance.
The room was clean and the window looked over a quiet square. It was very warm and there was no air conditioning in the room which was a bit of a draw back so we had to purchase a fan. There was also no shower mat or grip in the bottom of the showers which were quite slippy and we had to buy one of those for my mother in law to use.
Breakfast is served down in the basement past the conference faculties which, in the summer heat, became sticky and uncomfortable after a few minutes so we didn't linger over our coffee.
Staff were very helpful and polite and all in all it was a decent budget hotel.
The sting in the tail was only discovered when we got home. The majority of hotels swipe your card and hold a small amount on this in case of additional room charges not known when the final bill is settled. We were using a prepaid post office euro MasterCard with a limited amount of euros on it to use whist we were away. Our final hotel bill was circa €400 but then the hotel "held" a further €399 from this card for approximately 2 weeks following our return. This was all but €200 of our remaining available euro balance. Thankfully we travelled home directly from checking out and didn't need to use any of the balance remaining on the card but it was still a shock when I went online to check the remaining balance to find that we were effectively missing €399 without any notification. The funds have now been released but if we had remained in mainland Europe for a few more days this would have caused additional bank charges as we would have had to make withdrawals on other cards. I consider the amount withheld to be excessive given that we only stayed 3 nights and it almost matched the total bill for those nights for the two rooms booked. Beware if you have limited funds available during your stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A very promising, simple budget hotel. Provide you with everything you need for a short stay. The staff is helpful. The room's size is acceptable and clean. But the room is not very soundproof, you can actually hear the room next to you. The bed is comfortable. The bathroom is very nice and clean. The location of the hotel is very good, many restaurants and bars are around and very close to the city center and Köln hbf. However, it can be quite confusing to find the hotel for the first time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJYukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We planned to spend our time before and after a concert in Koln in the Altstadt, and stay at Caprice.
That idea was completely ruined because of a Turkish demonstration, making the city completely unreachable. Instead of 2 PM we arrive 1 AM in the center. It took over 10 locals (including taxi-drivers) and over an hour walking and searching before finding the hotel.

Positive:
- The hotel is very nicely centrally located.
- Beds and shower were ok
- The room was not big but clean
- Parking for 8 euros.

Drawbacks
- The room was a too warm and no climate control was available.
- Charging 3 euro p/h for poor WiFi anno 2013 is like asking to pay for the shower...
- Noisy

Room Tip: Prepare well to be able to find the location easily Better take rooms with views on the little squ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaraldvanderWeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Did not have huge expectations of this budget hotel but was suprised. Great location - not too far from main train station and Dom and plenty of restaurants and bars very near hotel. Very friendly reception and rooms very clean. Did not go for extra charge breakfast. Tile floors could get noisy in peak times but would stay here again. Good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savystayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel, Service, Sauberkeit, Lage etc. ist perfekt für das Geld! man ist Mitten im Zentrum und damit im Geschehen. Zum Rhein ist es auch nur ein Katzensprung. Die Mitarbeiter alle Freundlich und Hilfsbereit und persönliche An- und Nachfragen wurden sofort beantwortet bzw realisiert! Danke für den Aufenthalt! Empfehlenswert!

Hotel,Service,Tidiness, Location etc is perfect for the money ! In the middle of the center and in between the partys. To the river Rhine its only few seconds. The Staff is professional and helpful, personally requests are immediately solved or helpfully answered ! Thanks for a pleasant stay! Absolute commendably.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirkW645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
#80 of 261 in Cologne
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#45 of 261 in Cologne
91 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Lint Hotel Koln
Lint Hotel Koln
#71 of 261 in Cologne
95 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom

Address: Auf dem Rothenberg 7-9, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $71 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityclass Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing