We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Centro Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centro Hotel Royal
Ranked #190 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We took a suite for three persons and its size was good. The service isn't really good. They didn't bring tissues and soaps after they're done we had to tell them until they brought us one. There is no fridge or coffee machine .. The room has a small t.v., sofa, and closet. I loved our room because there is a balcony and big windows. There is space to put our bags. Free wifi is available and the hotel is almost 10 minutes away from the cathedral by walking. Around it there are plenty of restaurants and cafes.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Lina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 138 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a very cheap hotel and as cologne was only a one night stay for me I wasn't that fussed and didn't want to spend a lot of money.

The hotel is easy to find about a 10-15 minute walk from the main station and cathedral the check in staff were good our room wasn't ready on arrival but we popped out and back later and check in was pretty quick. The rooms however are very standard and extremely dated it reminded me of a prison camp dull and grey walls with big metal doors. The bed was ok comfortable had a decent nights sleep the shower could do with a revamp as was small and awkward but I can't complain as like I say does what it's purpose is there for. The hotel needs modernising and I think it was starting to happen when we we there as new flooring was going down.

One major compliment I can pay is we had to miss breakfast as we had to leave at 7 but the reception staff kindly made us a packed breakfast to take away which we grateful of and the first time I've ever known a hotel to do that.

I would stay here again but if your after something other than somewhere to sleep wash and get changed I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moses1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through booking.com. The hotel is very close to the hansaring tram/tube station (approx 4 mins walk) and is just the next station from cologne central station (Hbf), and 2 stations away from messe cologne. As we were three person travelling together we booked a triple sharing room, to our surprise, on arrival we were upgraded to a large suite room on the top floor with a huge private balcony. The morning breakfast is not a large spread, and could be improved. Overall would definitely recommend this hotel as it's reasonably priced, good room size, and excellent location close to the city center with many shops, pubs, restaurants nearby.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank heemanshuagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were in Cologne for only 1 night and wanted to stay in a budget hotel. This is good option as its 10-15 min walk to Cathedral/Padlock Bridge/City Centre/Koln Train Station. The rooms are warm, basic and small. The beds are a bit soft if you dont have severe back problems then it should be fine. Shower everything in bathroom worked fine, sufficient cabinets. There are restaurants and shop nearby. Breakfast has good options. Staff is very friendly, helpful and guided us on directions to city centre. Cons - no kettle and safe in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel has close proximity with hansaring Station.But please dont go there.The warned us for water dripping in the bathroom and did nt specify the room number. We stayed there for 4 nights in 3 rooms.The next day during check out the claimed 250 Euros without any warning and when asked to explain the threatened to call police, we had our train to catch o couldnt fuss with them, so had to pay and leave. The food was very basic not much choices ...cooked food basically only scrambled eggs or boiled eggs and other choices were tinned fruits, bread, yoghurt, turkey and ham slices for all the days..Due to the K Fair in Dusseldorf we also paid 170 euros per double room and 190 euros for trip room per night in advance.Horrendously expensive for the type of rooms and their service.
Please dont stay in this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdhivya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

10 - 15 minute walk to central station and cathedral. Hotel was clean but average in all ways. Breakfast was continental, again average to poor. No Bar or other eating facilities and rooms were very hot with no tempurature control, but could open windows. CNN was only english speaking TV channel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Location is great, the continental breakfast is also good. But the third bed is a catastrophe, it is a camp bed with a mattress. When we asked the staff if we replace the room said they would not be able to without bosses in Berlin so far not been at work for several days. In the end, we have added a mattress on the bed and it was just like camping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerbiaIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Centro Hotel Ariane
Centro Hotel Ariane
#204 of 261 in Cologne
91 reviews
Central Hotel am Dom
#208 of 261 in Cologne
326 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#134 of 261 in Cologne
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel Royal

Address: Hansaring 96, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Royal Hotel Am Hansaring)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $60 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centro Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centro Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing