We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,752)
Filter reviews
2,752 results
Traveler rating
1,679
758
217
63
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,679
758
217
63
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river short walk over the bridge glashaus restaurant club room rhine view hohenzollern bridge beer garden old town cologne cathedral excellent hotel main restaurant rooms are spacious perfect location excellent stay train station trade show the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
1,146 - 1,151 of 2,752 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed in the Hyatt from Saturday 13th to Tuesday 16th Feb. The location is excellent, decor of the highest standard and the room was beautiful, though we had a view over the car park. Well stocked and laid out bathroom, very comfortable bed and well heated room - it was unseasonly cold and snowing the whole time we were there. The breakfast was very expensive so we ordered a la carte to our room all 3 mornings. We had a reservation for The Glashause for Sunday night, Valentine's evening. There was no record of our reservation but there were plenty of tables. We ordered the special menu €49 per head. The soup was leek with shrimp; we were told it could be served without shrimp so we ordered that. However it was served with shrimp. I ordered my fillet well done but it was served rare so I had to return it. When the bill came we had been overcharged by €18 - not a successful or romantic meal which we informed the MaitreD' of.
We left out our breakfast order when going to bed but breakfast did not come next morning. My husband checked and the order was still hanging on the door - we were furious! By the time we informed the front desk it was too late to eat as we had booked a train to Belgium for the day. On our return there was champagne in the room from the manger with a written apology for the incident and next morning we were served a complimentary breakfast. We both felt that this more than compensated for the earlier problems.
Smoking is allowed in public places in Colgne - and elsewhere in Germany -and this was not good for us as we are non smokers. Also the food was very salty and the beer varied hugely in price. By coincidence we were there during festival which was good humoured during the day but a bit threatening at night. Shops were boarded up and there were a lot of drunk people on the streets.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I stayed at this hotel using free nights from Hyatt Stays last year.

It was close walk to most everything. Rooms and some parts of hotel need a little updating. I felt like I was on a Golden Girls/Designing Women (US TV Shows) set sometimes.

Spa great (small--and steam room smelled funky), beds and rooms great. Bathrooms are excellent (but agree with previous post that wall paper is gross). Internet free due to being a premium Hyatt customer......but not wireless! So laptop becomes useless and must stay on desk.

Staff go out of their way to be helpful.

Overall it was a good stay...now would I pay the asking price (looked it up online)....NO!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLTRVLGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My partner and I decided to spend New Years Eve in the Hiatt in Köln and we booked 2 weeks before our arrival, directly through the hotel website. We asked for a Rhine view room because we wanted to stay in our room, have diner there and watch the fireworks, so we don't have to go out and dress up. We just didn't feel like that this year.
As we arrived we were told they didn't have a Rhine view room anymore.... but we were welcome to come downstairs to watch the fire works from there.
We were very dissapointed that they didn't inform us about this before our arrival, the could have emaild us to let us know. We probably would have cancelled our reservation because staying in was a big issue for us this year.

Room # 145 on the left wing of the hotel; styling is outdated and not our taste. Good bed (queen size,) although the covers were a bit small for the size of the bed. Bathroom had seperate shower and bath which we liked. Really ugly wallpaper in the bathroom....
Coffee and thee making facilities available in the room.
Big flatscreen TV, but unfortunately no Dutch channels, not even on the pay-tv list (which had a lot of religious channels and muslim/arabic channel choices). Good selection of movies; we decided to watch an englisch spoken movie (10 euro) from the list, which was really good. .
There is an Ipod connection in the room so don't forget to bring yours if you want to listen to music. There is no radio in the room.

Food:
We had a quick bite in the bar (beefburger) and the food was good quality. A good selection of wines per glass; Italian, Austrian, Spanisch and French.
Smoking is allowed in the bar and at the little tables there. Not always a plus; especially if you are eating in the same spot.
In the evening we had diner in the room and it was good. Except for but the salat which tasted mainly of vinegar. After ordering it took them only 20-30 minutes which we thought was suprisingly fast considering a busy night with a full restaurant downstairs.
Breakfast buffet the other morning was huge and very good, but probably not always so big. Special breakfast buffet because of Newyear: € 99,- for 2 persons. I'm not a heavy eater in the morning, so I find it to be overpriced but it was very good.

Service:
Service is excellent. staff is friendly, correct and continuasly checking if you want something.

Atmosphere; we found the hotel to be very dark, not warm or cosy. The Schälsickbar is dark, small and has uncomfortabel chairs. It looked more like a simple 'bierstube' then the bar of a 5 star hotel.
On the sixt floor there is a much nicer place to have a drink but it's only for people who stay on the sixt floor (Regency Club) in the suites.

We didn't visit the spa. So we can't tell anything about it.
Valetparking, parking is € 21 euro's per night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte-Ramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We've stayed at the Hyatt Cologne many times. We were thrilled this time to get a view with a wonderful view of the water and the Cologne Cathedral. The hotel is a short walk from the train stations and to the city center, making it very convenient, yet far enough away to be peaceful.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
Thank SFfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

First time ever in Germany and the hotel offered a pretty good rooms and ammenities as others Hyatt´s around the world.

Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
Thank ChouY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews