We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Riverfront Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cologne
Ranked #3 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice Riverfront Hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2009

The hotel is located on the banks of the river, a short walk to the city center. It was convenient to the central rail station but if you have bags, I would take a cab.

My room was fairly large with a nice view of the city. The bathroom was also large with a nice walk in shower. The bed was comfortable.

The hotel has a nice spa complete with pool, sauna, and steam room.

The breakfast buffet was very nice. It's located on the first floor with nice views of the city. It is one of the nicer breakfast rooms I've encountered in Germany.

Overall, this a comfortable property and I would consider staying here again when in Cologne.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Febo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    648
    168
    49
    25
See reviews for
360
854
127
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

The bathroom of my room was almost as large as entire rooms of several other hotels I've been to in Europe. The bed was very comfortable.

The property is immaculate with nice decor and furnishings. The gym is nice & looks onto the Rhine River but some of the equipment was dated.

Great hotel but it's pricey and you must cross over the river to get to the Christmas markets and Cathedral.

  • Liked — Huge room
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank txpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Stayed here again on business. Great location for Exhibition area and also for walking across river to centre of Cologne. Rates seem expensive even for business so suggest request rate. Friendly staff at reception and great rooms. Breakfast was also excellent. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Immaculate
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I’ve stayed at a number of Hotels in Cologne, and the Hyatt is the best by some way. It is located opposite the Cathedral, but on the other side of the river, right next to the bridge.

The rooms are good, well furnished and comfortable and the ones at the front have a great view over the city.

While the hotel has the normal facilities that you would expect of a good standard of business hotel, what makes it stand out is the way that they are delivered. I can honestly say that all of the staff were friendly and very helpful, and had a great understanding of customer service. To give an example, when seeing that I was eating on my own in the restaurant the waitress offered me an English newspaper; a small thing but indicative of a level of thoughtfulness that very pleasant.

Overall highly recommended business hotel.

  • Liked — Great customer service
  • Disliked — Part of a chain
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2Adults2Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

My wife and I go to the Photokina trade fair at the Koelnmesse every two years, and we have stayed at the Hyatt on our last three visits --- the most recent in September 2008.

This hotel is truly excellent.

It's location, right on the east bank of the Rhine, is gorgeous, and we love to sit in the Regency Club and watch the barge traffic on the river, or the sun set over the central part of Cologne and the Cathedral.

My wife has a funny request with water bottles --- she wants the hotel to freeze a half-filled bottle for her at night, so she has ice water all during the next day. Many hotels, including some of the best in the world, find this simple request impossible to fulfill, blaiming things like "Elfin Safety."

The Hyatt Regency in Cologne gave us the impression on each stay (and particularly the latest) that my wife's water bottles were absolutely the most important thing in the world to them.

The room was clean and of decent size, with a nice view of the river. Food in the Regency Club was great, and the one dinner we had in the hotel was fine (although a bit too much mustard in the pastrami sandwich for my taste).

I'd advised the hotel that I'm disabled and find it difficult to walk great distances. Often this is ignored by hotels, but in this case our room was immediately next door to the Regency Club.

This is an excellent hotel, with efficient yet caring staff. And they make it look so smooth and effortless.

  • Liked — Friendly, efficient staff
  • Disliked — Unusually, I liked everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_Walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Excellent hotel, stayed for 2 days and can only agree with previous comments. Staff really nice and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They even upgraded us with a river view. Location ideal as you only have to walk across the bridge to the main area but get the views of the catheral. However probably not ideal for those who can't walk too far. The only slight negative was the pool which was very small.

  • Liked — friendlyness
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hovis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

staying here on a business trip. the views are great. the rhine and the dom and the bridges. very picturesque.

got here exhausted, the front staff is super attentive and very friendly. very service oriented. hotel is clean and attractive, very close to main shopping districts with excellent restaurants in all directions. room is very spacious and comfortable, nice bathroom.

room service is exceptional. food is great.

only caveat is that it IS close to the main train station and if the sound of trains is a problem, then you might be bothered. otherwise, this is a great location. i'm not paying the bill, so have no real concept of the cost tho. i've been very satisfied on a guest level, however.

cologne is not very touristy really, but this has been a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor wi fi setup
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redhedgurl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,740 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 260 in Cologne
426 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cologne

Property: Hyatt Regency Cologne
Address: Kennedy-Ufer 2A, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cologne
#1 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Cologne is a luxury hotel in Deutz near Cologne trade fair. The 306 luxurious guestrooms and suites of our 5 star superior hotel located directly at the River Rhine offer a beautiful view of the city centre with its famous Cathedral and the Old Town. Additionally, Hyatt Regency Cologne features the Glashaus restaurant offering regional and international cuisine as well as the Legends bar and our popular Hyatt Beer Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hyatt Cologne
Cologne Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing