We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,724)
Filter reviews
2,724 results
Traveler rating
1,663
750
214
63
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,663
750
214
63
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the rivershort walk over the bridgeglashaus restaurantclub roomrhine viewhohenzollern bridgebeer gardenold towncologne cathedralexcellent hotelmain restaurantrooms are spaciousperfect locationexcellent staytrain stationtrade showthe air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
1,158 - 1,163 of 2,724 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I’ve stayed at a number of Hotels in Cologne, and the Hyatt is the best by some way. It is located opposite the Cathedral, but on the other side of the river, right next to the bridge.

The rooms are good, well furnished and comfortable and the ones at the front have a great view over the city.

While the hotel has the normal facilities that you would expect of a good standard of business hotel, what makes it stand out is the way that they are delivered. I can honestly say that all of the staff were friendly and very helpful, and had a great understanding of customer service. To give an example, when seeing that I was eating on my own in the restaurant the waitress offered me an English newspaper; a small thing but indicative of a level of thoughtfulness that very pleasant.

Overall highly recommended business hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2Adults2Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

My wife and I go to the Photokina trade fair at the Koelnmesse every two years, and we have stayed at the Hyatt on our last three visits --- the most recent in September 2008.

This hotel is truly excellent.

It's location, right on the east bank of the Rhine, is gorgeous, and we love to sit in the Regency Club and watch the barge traffic on the river, or the sun set over the central part of Cologne and the Cathedral.

My wife has a funny request with water bottles --- she wants the hotel to freeze a half-filled bottle for her at night, so she has ice water all during the next day. Many hotels, including some of the best in the world, find this simple request impossible to fulfill, blaiming things like "Elfin Safety."

The Hyatt Regency in Cologne gave us the impression on each stay (and particularly the latest) that my wife's water bottles were absolutely the most important thing in the world to them.

The room was clean and of decent size, with a nice view of the river. Food in the Regency Club was great, and the one dinner we had in the hotel was fine (although a bit too much mustard in the pastrami sandwich for my taste).

I'd advised the hotel that I'm disabled and find it difficult to walk great distances. Often this is ignored by hotels, but in this case our room was immediately next door to the Regency Club.

This is an excellent hotel, with efficient yet caring staff. And they make it look so smooth and effortless.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Craig_Walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Excellent hotel, stayed for 2 days and can only agree with previous comments. Staff really nice and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They even upgraded us with a river view. Location ideal as you only have to walk across the bridge to the main area but get the views of the catheral. However probably not ideal for those who can't walk too far. The only slight negative was the pool which was very small.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hovis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

staying here on a business trip. the views are great. the rhine and the dom and the bridges. very picturesque.

got here exhausted, the front staff is super attentive and very friendly. very service oriented. hotel is clean and attractive, very close to main shopping districts with excellent restaurants in all directions. room is very spacious and comfortable, nice bathroom.

room service is exceptional. food is great.

only caveat is that it IS close to the main train station and if the sound of trains is a problem, then you might be bothered. otherwise, this is a great location. i'm not paying the bill, so have no real concept of the cost tho. i've been very satisfied on a guest level, however.

cologne is not very touristy really, but this has been a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redhedgurl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I stayed here four nights in the beginning of March while attending a fair.

The hotel is very conveniently situated if you are attending a fair since it is at walking distance from the fair grounds. At the same time it only takes a couple of minutes to walk to the Old Town on the other side of the river.

The view is superb, the river is right in front of you and you have an excellent view of it as well as of the Dom which is very spectacular.

The room was very comfortable and spacious. Everything was tidy and clean and there was everything you needed there. The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet.

Breakfast was great with a variety of food and different freshly squeezed fruit juices.

The only downside ís the pricing. 320 Euros for a weekend night and 420 Euros during weekdays is quite a price even during fair times and in a hotel like this. Obviously there seems to be people willing to pay the price though since the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews