We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated, poor service and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cologne
Ranked #3 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“outdated, poor service and overpriced”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

located on the opposite side of the center of Cologne. within a 10 min walk to the local train station. reception area is dark, like the whole hotel. checkin slow. the rooms are old, very dark with small window, standard equipments and very noise from inside the hotel. the doors dont close. no state of the art coffee maker but and old style watter boile which doesnt work well. coffee/tea not refilled - needed to call. gym is old and sauna already closes at already at 9pm without any information in the hotel brochure. as usual for Hyatt basically no benefits for Platinum guest.

Room Tip: different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreqTravellerMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear FreqTravellerMunich,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your honest words as they give us the chance to improve and become better. We are sorry to read that you did not like the design and interior of the hotel lobby and of our rooms. Also, we want to apologise for the inconvenience caused by our tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We take this comment seriously and will consider a better solution for the future.

We would be very happy to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Cologne soon to convince you of the real quality of our service and facilities.

With best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,446
    662
    171
    51
    25
See reviews for
369
869
128
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

There are two apples in the room everyday. There are fantastic and delicious.
Breakfast provides you all energy for the whole day. Their staff are friendly and helpful.
Wi-fi is free and pretty fast.
When you walk to the dome, do not talk to the strangers when they approach. There are many pick pocket in this area. The sale tax is very high in Germany (19%) and Austria is 20%.
The taxi from hotel to the airport is about 25 to 30 euros.
I wish for elite members, we can check in earlier.
I will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank York2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear York2010,

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor and for the clear recommendation of our hotel. I am delighted that we could provide you with everything you needed during your stay and that you had the chance to visit our beautiful cathedral.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back soon at Hyatt Regency Cologne. So, don’t wait too long for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very good business hotel. Clubfloor is good with nice breakfast (eggs to order) and good evening canapes. Excelent service overall. Pool is bit outdated, sauna and steamroom good. Very near trainstation Deutz-Messe so very good located.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD7402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear PD7402,

I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am very glad to learn that you liked our convenient location and enjoyed the benefits of our Regency Club during your stay. We would love to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Cologne during your next business trip to our beautiful Cathedral city.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

You can two apples in the room everyday. There are fantastic and delicious. Breakfast provides you all energy for the whole day. Their staff are friendly and helpful. I wish for elite members, we can check in earlier.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank YeongLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear York2010,

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor and for the clear recommendation of our hotel. I am delighted that we could provide you with everything you needed during your stay and that you had the chance to visit our beautiful cathedral.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back soon at Hyatt Regency Cologne. So, don’t wait too long for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nice hotel, nice rooms, good service, comfortable bed, nice shower, good location. Didn't try the food though so can't comment on that.Was a very short visit with just enough time to sleep! I left something in my room and staff were helpful in helping me get it back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshj6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear joshj6618,

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we would love to welcome you back for a longer stay. We are very happy that you liked your room and that your lost item was restored to you. Hopefully you can try our Glashaus Restaurant with its beautiful views of Cologne Cathedral during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed in a suite in the Hyatt Cologne for a weekend with my wife during April 2014.

The hotel is in a perfect spot on the riverside opposite to the famous "Koelner Dom", so having the best view in town of the Dom. That only is recommendable. The hotel is perfectly connected with the Dom place through the famous train bridge. This bridge is one of the things-to-see anyway since all lovers (like in Paris) attach a lock to the railing. For train spotters this is the ultimate spot to be in Cologne :)
No train noise in the hotel despite its close proximity to the tracks.

We had a super large (and expensive!) suite, with big king-size bed bedroom, a small office with separate bathroom, dining & living room, bathroom with bath tub, shower and WC. The room faced the river (a must when staying in the hotel) and thus had "Dom view".

We tried to operate the DVD player in the room but also the hotel staff could not get it to work. Our request for a free movie was honoured to have us watch a movie anyway. Perfectly well resolved.

Breakfast buffet is very well assorted, however we found the setup in the (otherwise beautiful) atrium a bit clumsy. Sofa's are not comfy to sit at a table. Also a book rack separates the table area from the buffet leaving little room for many to pass by.....bit clumsy.

Hotel staff is very friendly.

Our only dissapointment during the visit was the loung that was included in the room offering. During check in we were adviced that cakes and drinks would be available in the lounge. When we got up there, it turn out they have basically turned some kind of lobby area in front of the elevators into lounge. The food & beverage offering consisted of a full automatic coffee machine, a small fritch with some soda's, a few cookies and exactly one small (strawberry) cake.....8-10 pieces. Not comfortable, not inviting, not luxurious, not relaxing. A complete miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear MKnops,

Thank you very much for your detailed online review on TripAdvisor.
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in the city of love-locks and the great Cologne Cathedral. It is true that our hotel is in an excellent location and affords wonderful views.

I definitely appreciate your comments on our Glashaus Restaurant. During the renovation in 2012 we tried to give the restaurant its own character but because it is open from morning to evening we needed a location in which lounge and restaurant could be designed to fit together perfectly. That is the reason why we have armchairs or sofas as well as chairs so that guests who want only a cup of coffee don´t have to sit in a formal restaurant which is getting ready for the dinner period. However, I totally agree that a sofa is not very comfortable for breakfast.

I also would like to thank you for your comment on our Regency Club food arrangements. I have noted your remarks and would like to apologise for the poor experience you had.

We would very much like to welocme you again soon, and to show you that the real Regency Club provides top service and good quality food and beverages.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2014

you feel pampered at all time, very friendly front desk, very good concierge, spacious rooms with view on the river from most of the rooms, Spa a little outdated, but with a super terrace facing the river. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Sven H,

Thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was a true pleasure to provide a high class service during your stay. I am so proud that the entire team could arrange a perfect stay with the service, the location and a relaxing time in our Puls Fitness Club and Spa.

We look forward to your next stay to arrange the same five-star service.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,199 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 261 in Cologne
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,064 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 261 in Cologne
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cologne

Property: Hyatt Regency Cologne
Address: Kennedy-Ufer 2A, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#1 Business Hotel in Cologne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Cologne is a luxury hotel in Deutz near Cologne trade fair. The 306 luxurious guestrooms and suites of our 5 star superior hotel located directly at the River Rhine offer a beautiful view of the city centre with its famous Cathedral and the Old Town. Additionally, Hyatt Regency Cologne features the Glashaus restaurant offering regional and international cuisine as well as the Legends bar and our popular Hyatt Beer Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hyatt Cologne
Cologne Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing