We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cologne
Ranked #3 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Overlloking the Rhine and with an excellent view of the Dom Cathedral, this is a good hotel. The room is big, clean and staff very friendly. While I have absolutely no complaints about the service but though I cannot put my finger on it, I missed sense of warmth and that personal touch that makes a good hotel great. But I will happily recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear George M,

Thank you very much for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us, and that you had no complaints. We are thankful for your constructive criticism which will help us to become better still, and to continue providing exceptional service to all of our dear guests.

We would love to give you the personal touch that you missed - and to make you feel more than welcome - during your next stay.

Kind regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    634
    156
    45
    23
See reviews for
339
819
125
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in February for work and enjoyed my stay. Staff were friendly, rooms were spacious and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was great. I'd recommend the fillet steak and the veal on the menu. Prices were high in the restaurant but also what you would expect from a 5* hotel. All side orders and sauces are at an additional cost etc. The location was also good, just a 10 minute walk across the bridge and you ate in the heart of the city. I would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Lucy H,

Thank you very much for recommending Hyatt Regency Cologne as well as Glashaus Restaurant to the TripAdvisor audience. I am very happy that we could please you with our friendly service, food quality and the interior of the hotel in general. It would be great to welcome you back on your next business trip to Cologne.

With best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We'd booked a Regency Club King Room and it was a real treat. The room was pretty big, clean and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom is also well equipped.. The Kolner Dom is only a walk over the bridge away, good location. But the service in the hotel, especially the Regency Club, was exceptional!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Paola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read the very positive review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire team I want to thank you for your kind words about our "exeptional service". It was an honour to serve you in our Regency Club and to let you feel comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at Hyatt Regency Cologne with our perfect view of Cologne Cathedral.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

High quality service , very professional. Perfect location. Never experienced such friendly and helpfull staff. Rooms are very luxurous exceeding normal standards. I used the club rooms o the sixth floor which have a nice view. snacks and refreshments are served early afternoon and evening

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Eddy T,

How wonderful it is to receive feedback like yours on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you were satisfied with your entire stay. It was a true honour to provide you with high-quality service in a perfect location with our friendly and helpful team.

Enjoying the special attention service in our Regency Club Lounge is always a pleasure, and definitely worth the money. After a private breakfast with a perfect view over the city of Cologne - followed by an arrangement of biscuits and cakes - the evening brings an exquisite cocktail reception. I am very glad that you enjoyed this special offer, and I would love to welcome you to our sixth floor soon.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

i was totally satisfied with the hotel, it is the third time i have stayed, and i will on my next trip to Cologne whenever that will be, during my last stay i enjoyed the restaurant outside however being winter it was closed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Irena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Irena J,

Thank you very much for always choosing the Hyatt Regency Cologne and for your very kind words on TripAdvisor. It was an honour to welcome you back to our hotel for a third time.
We look forward to welcoming you for a fourth time at the Hyatt Beergarden in the summer.

Best wishes from Cologne

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt for 3 nights in a standard room. The entrance to the hotel is a little underwhelming – quite dark and gloomy. However, the rest is an improvement. We were very impressed with the size and furnishings in our room; big comfortable bed, comfy chair, desk, and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was large, with a good powerful shower. Our only small complaint was that the television guide said that BBC 1, 2 and 3 were available but they weren’t so my husband was disappointed that he couldn’t watch Match of the Day! We asked at Reception about this and they sent someone to check but it made no difference. But this was hardly a trauma! The service everywhere in the hotel was excellent – very pleasant, friendly and helpful staff.

We didn’t have breakfast included in our room rate but we did treat ourselves one day. The breakfast was as you’d expect for a 5* hotel and the dining area had a good view over the river and cathedral. A very pleasant atmosphere. At 25€ each it is quite expensive. I would recommend that you book a room with breakfast included as it is probably more cost effective. There is very little else close by so eating breakfast at the hotel is the most convenient option.

In the winter the location of the hotel is not great. It is only about a 10 to 15 minutes walk across the bridge to the city centre, which is fine, but when it’s cold and gloomy or you’re walking it for the 4th time that day and for the 3rd day in a row, it does get a bit tedious. However, in the spring or summer I imagine it would be a lot more pleasant and the walk would be very enjoyable. If I returned to Cologne during warmer months I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear cakestin,

It is an honour that you describe your stay in our hotel with the words, “A very pleasant stay” on TripAdvisor. It was a true pleasure to welcome you to our property.
I really appreciate your comment about spacious guest rooms which have been newly refurbished only some time ago.
How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offer, and that it gave you a good start in the day.

Our location gives you a unique view through the cathedral and the old town of Cologne. Less than 10 minute’s walk over the Hohenzollern bridge brings you straight into the city centre. I would love to welcome you again in the summer, to show you all of the positive aspects of this walk.

Enjoy your time, and take care.

Best regards

Robin Saunders
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel looks tired. The building looks very sixty of last century. The interior and the guest room looks outdated. And the color of the walls and carpets just don't help. And the riverfront park was under reworking when I stayed there. So the arrival was not celebrated at all. If not for the reason of being close to the IMM, you should try hotels in the older quarter of the city.
Some river front rooms can have a view of the Cathedral. The reason I paid for the view was the fear that room without that view could be too depressing.
The restaurant lives up to Hyatt tradition. Foods and service were good. In fact, the foods, which is lively, probably is the most trendy component of this hotel.
I won't say this is a bad hotel. But I certainly will try another hotel if visit Cologne again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WM_Lee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear WM_Lee2014,

I really appreciate you honest words on TripAdvisor and would like to thank you very much for your detailed feedback.

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the food and beverages in our hotel.
I am sorry that we did not satisfy you with our look and design. The Hyatt Regency Cologne was established in the 1980s and was completely renovated inside from 2010 to 2012. We try to appeal to as many guests as possible, but of course this is not always possible. The city of Cologne is building out the new Rhine Boulevard in front of the hotel which gives us a construction work for that time being. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
The entire team would very much like to welcome you again in the summer, so that you can be shown the most colorful aspects of our hotel and the city of Cologne.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#26 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cologne

Property: Hyatt Regency Cologne
Address: Kennedy-Ufer 2A, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#1 Business Hotel in Cologne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Cologne is a luxury hotel in Deutz near Cologne trade fair. The 306 luxurious guestrooms and suites of our 5 star superior hotel located directly at the River Rhine offer a beautiful view of the city centre with its famous Cathedral and the Old Town. Additionally, Hyatt Regency Cologne features the Glashaus restaurant offering regional and international cuisine as well as the Legends bar and our popular Hyatt Beer Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hyatt Cologne
Cologne Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing