We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a view!! Fantastic Hotel, too!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cologne
Ranked #3 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wow! What a view!! Fantastic Hotel, too!!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My team of 8 colleagues and I held our winter meeting here recently and loved every moment of our brief stay at this beautiful hotel.

Cologne is a wonderful city located on the western bank of the Rhine river, the Hyatt is on the eastern side directly opposite the Kölner Dom. A short 5-minute walk across the Hohenzollern Bridge (check out the love locks!) brings you to several wonderful museums and, of course, the Dom. Views from the second floor dining area and 6th floor meeting rooms are beyond description they're so beautiful.

The staff at Hyatt properties are always well-trained people of character, the Cologne team are some of the very best. The reception staff make check-in a very pleasant experience and treat everyone as though they are the most-important guest. The housekeeping team are thorough and make the rooms feel better than home, not an easy feat! The breakfast buffet is incredible, do not miss, it's really that special.

Many thanks especially to Ana Leal and the Group Reservations team, your efforts to ensure a flawless experience are greatly appreciated!

Highly, highly recommended +++++

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Tom M

I am very glad to hear that you had a successful winter meeting with us. We are overwhelmed with so much praise and it will give me great pleasure to communicate your lovely words to the entire team. It is comments like yours that make us feel extremely happy with what we are doing every day. Thank you very much for this awesome recommendation.

The whole team wishes you and your family a great Christmas time and a wonderful start to the
New Year 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Hyatt Regency Cologne.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    662
    173
    51
    26
See reviews for
370
871
130
732
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had an awesome stay at this hotel during the Christmas Markets. The staff is outstanding and the view of the Dom is to die for. We enjoyed our time at this hotel. Thank you Hyatt, Cologne. Excellent gym with swimming pool. The Regency Club breakfast is awesome and they will even bring you eggs if you ask them. Evening beer and wine is good but appetizers can be better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank KumarL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear KumarL 1960,

To be outstanding, you have to do a lot. Therefore, it makes me very proud that you have used that description in your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for your great praise for our beautiful view and the Regency Club. I will forward your comment about the appetizers.
Hopefully, you also enjoyed your visit to the Christmas market and will soon come back to Hyatt Regency Cologne.

The whole team wishes you the best for Christmas and the New Year.

Best regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights to visit the cologne Xmas markets and couldn't fault the hotel. The staff were very attentive and helped us out by calling a restaurant and making a reservation for us in German. We stayed on the club floor so our rate included breakfast in the club lounge with a beautiful view of the dom over the river. There was also free beverages and cakes trough the day then wine and canapés at night. We definitely made sure we got our money's worth :) rooms were really big and the bathrooms huge too. Plenty of nice toiletries. The hotel is right by 2 stations - cologne hbf and messe Deutsch. We visited the pool which was nice but not very big. All in all this hotel was a great place to stay in a great location. For cologne in general I would say that without the markets there wouldn't be that much to see or do. Zoo is definitely worth a visit though!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenF_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear foxychicken,

I would like to thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and services during your stay. Choosing the Regency Club was a good decision as it gives you the opportunity to relax and enjoy the even more attentive service in the private lounge.

We hope you are able to visit us again so we can show you the variety of things to do and see in Cologne. Cologne has beautiful sides, for example great museums, the cathedral, the historic old town and very good German restaurants. We would be delighted to arrange a sightseeing tour next time and give you more information about the city.

The whole team wishes you a wonderful Christmas party and a prosperous start in 2014.

Yours sincerely,


Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel with excellent location, and close to train station. The room was lovely and clean. The door man was extremely friendly and helpful . The breakfast was excellent with lots of variety, the omelettes are a must.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Michelle P.,

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It is good to hear that you were very satisfied with our location, the breakfast offer and your room.

I will pass your compliments on to our bellboy with pleasure and we all would love to welcome you back you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is very good with respect to all aspects. Location, service, quality etc... Most public/tourist places are at wlak distance. with good attractions. Highly recommended if you are visiting for the first time. They make you feel as if you belong to the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Muhammad Us T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Muhammad Us T,

Thank you very much for your awesome feedback and your friendly recommendation.

For us, it is an honour to give our guests the feeling of belonging and make them feel very welcome. It is good to hear that this effort is recognised and appreciated by you.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Cologne.

Best wishes,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koln, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I am satisfy of people are working there, hotel was really clean and very close to train station to access easily every where, I hope to be able to visit other Hayyat Regency hotels world wide. Best regards. Hooshang Nassernia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nassernia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Nassernia H,

Thank you very much for your friendly words on TripAdvisor. We would be very happy to welcome you back when you visit Cologne next time.

Kind regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I think the Hyatt is one of the two really 5-star hotel in Cologne, the other being The Ernst (but only when you book a renovated deluxe room). The location is on the other site of the Rhine river but it is only a short relaxing walk to the Dom over the Hohenzollern Bridge. Views from the hotel are great. Breakfast is great and you can park your car quit cheap in the streets around the hotel.

I returned to this hotel to find that all you can expect from a Hyatt is in place, but still with some annoying issues. When solved, this place would be great.

- Doorman allowing taxis to block the driveway so you can not park your car
- No luggage service upon arrival.
- No check in at the club (no staff available).
- Rooms are too hot in winter (22/23 degrees) / ask for a room where you can open a window (one third of the rooms offer have opening windows).
- Safe was not working.
- The information on the TV told me it was sunny and 23 degrees outside. Bit optimistic for november.
- Breakfast at the club is not that great as in the restaurant. My soft poached eggs were delivered as hard boiled eggs. Next time I will take breakfast at the restaurant again.

Worst problem is the smoking zone in front of the hotel entrance. You just can not get into the hotel without having to walk straight through the smoke. It is so easy to get this fixed.
Hotel staff responded to my feedback right away which I could appreciate.

Stil I can recommend this hotel to anybody and I will most certainly return (if the rate is not too steep).

Room Tip: Room with opening window. Take breakfast included. It is one of the best hotel breakfasts I ever h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear KeesE,

Thank you very much for rating us as the best hotel in town and recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. It is nice to hear that you especially appreciate our location and the breakfast at Glashaus Restaurant.

I don´t want to find any for the missing luggage service, the safe or that you could not check-in at the Regency Club, but please let me apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Moreover, I want to thank you for bringing the smoking situation in front of the hotel entrance to my attention again. Since the smoking ban in May 2013 we are trying to find a good suitable solution to satisfy all our guests. For sure we still haven’t found the perfect solution yet and we are working to get the issue resolved as soon as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Hyatt Regency Cologne in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,200 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 261 in Cologne
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,067 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#20 of 261 in Cologne
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cologne

Property: Hyatt Regency Cologne
Address: Kennedy-Ufer 2A, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cologne
#1 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Cologne is a luxury hotel in Deutz near Cologne trade fair. The 306 luxurious guestrooms and suites of our 5 star superior hotel located directly at the River Rhine offer a beautiful view of the city centre with its famous Cathedral and the Old Town. Additionally, Hyatt Regency Cologne features the Glashaus restaurant offering regional and international cuisine as well as the Legends bar and our popular Hyatt Beer Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hyatt Cologne
Cologne Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing