We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Ranked #68 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Right from the beginning I knew this would be a good stay. Nice modern feel to the place, not overly decorated, but with interesting art in the hallways. The woman at reception, and indeed, everyone else who worked here, was delightful. Very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early. The room had a little ante-room with 2 arm chairs and fridge with 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water. The bathroom had a wonderful deep tub. Great central location, near the main shopping street, Cathedral and other sights. If you drive, park in the Rewe City carpark. They will stamp your ticket to get a discount - 10Euro vs 16 for 24 hours. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWorldCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    36
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
44
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MOW
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Good location, if a little bit noisy in the morning because of a nearby tram-line.
Room facilities almost non-existent - the room is small and rather spartan (OK to spend a night).
Pillow was very uncomfortable (but tastes differ).
Bath-room is tiny, albeit with nice towels and a fan.
Reception is friendly.
Wi-Fi is tooooo slow. PC in the lobby is very slow too.
TV is German only, with two free ugly porn channels.
NEGATIVE:
In the niche next to the bed's head under the reading light there were many tiny creatures about 2mm long. I guess it's because the shower is right behind the wall... They are NOT bed-bugs and they did NOTHING bad to me, but their presence was not pleasant, especially on my first night when I noticed some on my sheet and didn't know what to expect from them...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osakasenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed 1 night in business at a reasonable rate. Breakfast was above average for a 3 star hotel. Staff was polite and helpful. Single room as small but ok.
Negative: the free wifi is not very strong. Tv channels only in German including the horrible open access porn channels. If you bring children be aware of this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orbea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I was more than surprised -- I was overwhelmed by the new Hotel Am Augustinerplatz! I was only in Cologne for one night and I was just looking for somewhere functional to sleep, so I wasn't really concerned about the lack-luster reviews I'd read. When I walked up to the hotel, my initial underwhelment was confirmed: its looks are ho-hum post-war German standard. Inside, though, what a gem! The hotel has been completely renovated head-to-toe in a pastiche of glamorous old Hollywood and glamorous classic destinations. For example, my room had an oversized print of Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly hanging right over the bed, while the mural in the breezeway featured Rio, New York, and other tourist sites. Overall . . . it was a very (surprisingly?) nice place to stay. I was impressed.

On the details: my room was small (a single) but comfortable, functional, and well-designed with high-quality furnishings. The bedding was full and an extra pillow was forthcoming upon request. Most importantly (for me) the free in-room high-speed wireless internet really was high-speed; I was able to talk on Skype with no problems whatsoever. The desk was pleasantly solid and the desk chair was comfortable. The bathtub was equipped with both a handheld shower and a soaking rain shower. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Overall, I was incredibly impressed. The staff were friendly and completely fluent in English, and the location was perfect. The hotel anchors one end of Cologne's main pedestrian shopping street, with the Cathedral anchoring the other end. OH -- and there's a 24-hour supermarket literally around the corner from the hotel, in the same block! What more can I say? Stay here. As you'll see from my other reviews, I'm not always so effusive in my praise. This hotel really deserves it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbabones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of a trip across Europe with friends. Hotel is basic, rooms were clean, fairly large (for a European hotel), free wi-fi, bottled water, skipped breakfast which was 12 Euro extra. The location is great, right on the main shopping street and a 10 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof, Cathedral and old town. The only bad experience was during check-in. We showed up at 9am after a long flight from the US and were told that our room was not ready and we would have to wait till 2pm to check-in. That's was fine but then our friends who showed up after us were upgraded to a "premium room" and allowed to check-in right away, despite the fact that we both had booked the same double economy rooms and I had actually paid more for my room. We were forced to wait till an economy room became available and didn't get into our room till about 1:30pm. Check-in staff was rude and acted like they were doing us a favor by even talking to us. Would not stay here again simply because of the way we were treated by staff. Plenty of other hotel options around this area. Hotel also had construction work going on during our stay and there was loud drilling during the day making it impossible for us to grab a quick nap during the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

I travelled to Koln by train from London, arriving on a Saturday afternoon. The walk from the railway station is under 10 minutes and a direct street from the station through the shopping streets. I booked a Junior Suite directly on the hotel's own website. The room was the whole width of the hotel, which actually is quite a long and narrow building. Clearly the room had been refurbished and adapted in its new design, but this was not a bad thing. The bedroom had two single beds bought together for a comfy double with big pillows and very nice duvets, an LCD TV, built in wardrobe with its own air conditioning. An on suite bathroom was fairly large with a good sized bath and shower. The lounge was seperated with a sliding frosted glass door. In the lounge was another LCD TV, sofa and arm chair along with a desk, bar and fridge and the toilet led off this bit. Overall a nice room, but could of been just a little bit bigger. Be warned (we found it hilarious becuase it was quite stereotypical).... there are unrestricted hardcore porn channels on the TV so don't let your kiddies loose with the remote control, as a gay bloke thats not for me, talking of which there are gay bars within a a few minutes walk, and one across the street Station2b. The streets seem safe, clean and tolerant. Late night in the room you'll need to keep the windows closed if city noise bothers you, its the trams which pass by they are rather creeky. The hotel has a bar open for 22hrs a day, which seems to be manned by the receptionist late night. We didn't use the breakfast facility so can't comment on it. There is a bakery cafe just across the street which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504gld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Stayed only for 1 night on my way to Paris. Check in was quick and easy. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Location was great too. 10 minute walk for Cologne HBF.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RZom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Engelbertz
Hotel Engelbertz
#102 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
#54 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
#84 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Lint Hotel Koln
Lint Hotel Koln
#74 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Augustinerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Augustinerplatz

Property: Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Address: Hohe Strasse 30, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#47 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Augustinerplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO COLOGNE. The Hotel am Augustinerplatz is centrally located in the heart of Cologne's city centre. The historic old quarter, cathedral, main train station and banks of the Rhine are all within walking distance. After a sumptuous breakfast, explore the city of Cologne with its numerous places of interest or embark on an extensive shopping trip. Just a few steps from the hotel you will find the popular retail areas Hohe Strasse and Schildergasse. Just take a look at our Around-Me-Map and discover the area around the hotel. Our 53 modern rooms combine comfortable and sophisticated design. Business travellers can take advantage of our business package and proximity to Cologne's trade fair and exhibition centre. Our friendly team are on hand to deal with individual requests to ensure that you have a wonderful stay in Cologne!Our rooms - Wi-Fi and pay TV always included! Do you set great store by comfortable and sophisticated design? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Augustinerplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Augustinerplatz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing