We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Im Wasserturm
Ranked #31 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“New Years eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

When we arrived nobody was there to open the door / to collect the luggage and the entrance was very dark, so it looked they were closed. The check-in is very efficient. The staff is friendly and they even recognized us by our name. We reserved a suite. The suite was located on the 4th floor. The carpet is crème white so it has dark spots on it. The stars to the bedroom is too small to carry huge luggage upstairs. The room looks and is very clean. We received fresh fruit in the room. No cutlery or plates, so it is difficult to eat the fruit especially as this is partly tropical fruit. The fruit was great. The bathroom is very big. The temperature in the room was too warm. We had to open the window, as we could not control the temperature.
Staff is very helpful and friendly. Check out took too long.

Positive: very friendly staff, great building, beautiful restaurant and bar, close to the city center and close to the bars, but strange location, big bottles of Molton Brown in the bathroom.
Minus: old-fashioned interior, bed (linen) is different style then the rest of the room, no free wireless internet, no complimentary bottles of water.

We loved staying here, but do not know if I want to return as the style is not completely my style, they have to upgrade the hotel to 2011 styles.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    162
    87
    40
    28
See reviews for
33
229
34
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel is built into an old watertower. The architecture is superb, with lively old brichwork well preserved at the entrance and well designed, if oddly shaped, bedrooms.The rooms themselves are well equipped. The restaurant is excellent - we only ate in the main restaurant not the Michelin starred one at the top, but what we did eat was very good and the service was excellent.The only minor drawback is that the hotel is not situated in the heart of the city, but it's not far to walk and the reception staff give excellent directions.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

This place lived up to the hype and reviews we read before booking. It has the wow factor as you arrive outside for the first time with the same feeling continuing all the way to the rooms. We've stayed in 5* hotels before but this place was a bit different. Breakfast is a fantastic experience in itself both visually and gastronimically. Unfortunately the Michelin starred restaurant was closed for our visit as we intended to have a birthday meal there. The hotel is located a short way from the town centre but 5 minutes walk take you to the main shopping area or to the Neumarkt for the best bars and restaurants. Has to be the best hotel in Cologne.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

I just stood in this hotel for one night in a room at the 9th floor. Nice view but not more then this. The rooms are nice but not in way special or anything you might expect like this at such a place. Some 10 min to walk to the city center. The staff is helpfull ( called me by name at the breakfirst) but the entire building is lacking of atmosphere in comparison to e.g. the same sort of hotel in Hamburg, called Mövenpick.
Nice detail: You can use a Porsche Chayenne for airports-transfers at no more costs then a taxi. All in all a little bit disappointing

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halimbalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

If you are looking for a very different hotel, try the Wasserturm. This converted water tower has the most unusual layout of rooms I have ever seen (although I did have a suite). The whole place oozes bijou luxury but the best without doubt is the 360 degree views from the floor to ceiling windows. It loses points for being a little way from the city centre, but this may appeal to travellers. A hotel that should be accompanied by vast amounts of champagne and decadence. Excellent dining as well. Quality through and through.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunty_Burano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

What a superb hotel. And very centrally located so you can walk around the middle of the city for half or a whole day leaving your car in their garage. Service, especially reception, was excellent. The hotel’s internal architecture is full of character being originally an enormous water tower. We had a junior suite for 2 nights with magnificent views over Cologne which, apart from the usual rather hard continental beds and maybe the bathroom needing a minor refurbishment, was first-rate. The Restaurant on the top floor was excellent albeit pricey. Wine list unusually good. Very quiet when we were there and I suspect most of its clients will be business conferences rather than private individuals but we can thoroughly recommend it. One of best breakfasts we have ever had, the orange juice was truly fresh (always a good test) and there was a wide variety of interesting offerings.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

The hotel is located in a uninteresting area of Koln, but is a short walking distance from the Dom (Cathedral) and surrounding shopping. The building is impressive and the design is quite nice. (However, it's a little confusing once you get inside.) The staff are very helpful and friendly. The decor is quiet but subtly luxurious. We had a deluxe room which was nice and on the 8th floor wrap-around terrace. Great views from our room (but don't leave your curtains open if you don't want anyone to look in). The bathroom was big, but the shower/tub area was very dark. No free internet and the access was annoying. Good but very expensive restaurants.
Plus: Cool design, great views (from the floor we were on), big bathroom and bedroom, relatively close to the cathedral, business center with free printing, fitness center, spa, good/expensive top floor gourmet restaurant (La Vision), helpful staff.
Minus: Too expensive for what you get, uninteresting neighborhood, NO FREE WIFI (a pet peeve of mine and the "buy-your-time" program doesn't work!), awkward spaces, decor needs updating.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickAgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Im Wasserturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Im Wasserturm

Property: Hotel Im Wasserturm
Address: Kaygasse 2, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Im Wasserturm 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Im Wasserturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Im Wasserturm Hotel
Im Wasserturm Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing