We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Im Wasserturm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Im Wasserturm
Ranked #31 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
2 reviews
“Extremely helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were exhausted, hungry and for one of us in need of medical help when we rocked up at this hotel late one Sunday on our way down to Italy for our honeymoon. The hotel couldn't have been more helpful. Not only was the room service good, but the parking was easy, our room was comfortable and the next day the hotel helped us find an emergency doctor within minutes and gave us a free late checkout to help us when we got back. It's not the cheapest but the service was fantastic and we felt we were in the best possible hands in that pretty nightmarish situation in a strange city. Also, they put Haribo bears on the pillow which has to be chalked up as a win.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radioladioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanjo K, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Im Wasserturm, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear radioladioo,

we appreciate you taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your stay and our service recently and look forward to welcoming you again to Cologne and the historic water tower.

Kind regards,
Hanjo Koch, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    160
    87
    39
    28
See reviews for
33
225
33
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

amazing buidling, looks great outside and inside. staff was helpful and checking in was done in less than 2-3 minutes. the room has a good size and the bed is comfortable. plenty of storage space and adequate bathroom.
on a negative side I ould list the poor air quality. if there was air con I did not feel it.
the towels are the worst hotel towels I have ever had. quite small and thin,
location is good, less than a minute from the tube station and a short walk to the center.
was ok for the deal I got but would not pay the normal rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brixtonmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanjo K, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Im Wasserturm, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear brixtonmarty,

many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is always very helpful but please note that we are in the midst of changing to the better some of the negative points you have mentioned.
We hope that welcome you again at the Hotel im Wasserturm on your next trip to Cologne and strive to do better next time.

Hanjo Koch
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's an expensive hotel without what you expect from a so called "5 Star hotel". I stayed in a room in the 10th floor for 2 nights. The air condition was not working and in the middle of summer it was very unconvenient at nights. There was no temperature control in the room at all! The head shower was not working either and it was a terrible experience to take a shower! In fact it was like taking shower in the cheapest hotels! The breakfast was expensive yet less than ordinary. The roof garden that could be the only good thing about the hotel was closed. I don't reommend it to anyone and don't stay in it again. The good things were proximity to the city center (10-15 minutes walk) and polite staff( but not more than what you expect from ordinery hotel staff).

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Reza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this amaizing hotel over the weekend, and loved every minute of it, on entry the staff was very polite and friendly. Helped us to our rooms, and was very helpful with giving us advise. The rooms was fantastic. We were in suite 906, really enjoyed the stay and staff in restaurant was very efficient and nice

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank izzymohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

...the building is beautiful, no question about that, but the service is terrible. You're paying a lot of money for one of the worst services we've ever experienced. it is definetly over-rated, maybe you have to be a sports superstar to be treated like it should be. and additionally they had problems with the aircon and offered fans to take up to the room .. BUT when we decided to take one they were already out of stock ... a few weeks after our stay I wrote a letter to the managing director of the hotel about the main things that went wrong and asked for an answer ... which I didn't get during the last eight months!!! there are definetly better places to be in cologne, i would not recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently on business and enjoyed my experience. The staff were friendly and helpful and the service excellent.

I felt the rooms were a little basic considering the price and the funky renovation of this water tower. However I still enjoyed the hotel. Didn't have the opportunity to sample the bar or the restaurant but both looked good.


Location is great, in the heart of Cologne but not too close to the bustling streets.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Service was unfriendly and poor. Room service didn't answer despite me calling then half a dozen times. Front desk lost my room key and just a generally bad experience. Would not recommend the hotel at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PM231975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Savoy Hotel
#17 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Im Wasserturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Im Wasserturm

Property: Hotel Im Wasserturm
Address: Kaygasse 2, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Im Wasserturm 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Im Wasserturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Im Wasserturm Hotel
Im Wasserturm Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing