We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its OK”
Review of Hotel Cristall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cristall
Ranked #48 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Its OK”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My friend and I were on a short trip to Cologne for the Christmas markets and wanted somewhere central and of a good standard. This hotel wasn't anything special but it was clean and central to the station and the cathedral. The reception staff when we arrived weren't particularly helpful by this I mean we had to ask about everything. wifi, breakfast time, location etc. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were so flat and thin even asking for extra didn't help so I ended up rolling my coat and towel up and putting under the pillow. Breakfast was average other reviews raved about the good breakfast unfortunately I cannot do the same. The hotel was busy the markets I guess and when going for breakfast at 8.45 both mornings we had to constantly ask for thing to be replenished and this took so so long. The choice was ok if you could get it. We were both hoping to have a good breakfast to last us through our days out this was not possible. All in all an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKGHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    314
    147
    46
    17
See reviews for
47
215
107
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

OK for one night if you want to see the sights of CGN. I would however, not stay here again as the bed linen was too thin and the pillows as well which made for a bad sleep. The walls are very thin as well as you can hear other guests coughing their guts up in the morning and when it rains you hear the drops all night on the tin evacuation ducts that were just outside our room. The hotel also does not have a parking facility. the nearest one is at the dome 500 meters walk, which will cost you 21 € a day. So if you have no choice and you come by train then its ok but if you do not then I would suggest to stay somewhere else, there are many other hotels around in the centre of town in the same areas with onsite parking facilitys for the same sort of budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbfdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We booked well in advance as we wanted a good location to visit the many Christmas markets in and around Cologne and the location looked good - it was! The hotel is about a 5 to 10 minute walk from both the central train station and the Dom (Cologne Cathedral), the Rhine is another 5 minutes walk.
The hotel is very clean and well appointed, the staff really friendly and helpful, there is a great little bar open in the evenings and the breakfast (continental) is plentiful and very good quality, note if the hotel is full avoid peak times at breakfast!
The rooms are large and clean with comfortable beds, some of the room furniture could do with replacing but compared to all the positives this is a very minor point.

Room Tip: We requested and stayed on the ground floor due to mobility issues, with the windows closed there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0GCH0PPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wehl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel seems a little grim from the outside, but is very modern from the inside. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was large, so no trouble getting a seat. The selection was not huge, but adequate. The hotel is situated very close to the main train station (only a short walk) and the Altstadt (the Cathedral in particular). Had a room in the front, which made the noise from traffic a bit hard sometimes. Otherwise the hotel is certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed76Wehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A good quality hotel at a reasonable price in a central location. Is there anything further to be said?

Hotel Cristall is a modernised hotel about a 5 / 10 minutes walk from Cologne's main station and the Cathedral. It's not much to look at from the outside (like most buildings in Germany) but the interior is clean and modern.
Single rooms are smallish, but decent enough and the bathroom / shower is clean and adequate.
Buffet breakfast, which comes free, is also quite good.
Staff are "efficient" ( a word which features a lot when describing Germans) and, like all Germans, have a tremendous sense of humour (Ha ha! Just joking)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very central, 5 minute walk from Main Station and Cathedral. Friendly staff.
Very good breakfast. Luggage storage. Rooms a bit dated but appear to be
improving. Request quiet room at back of Hotel. Very comfy beds but pillows rather soft.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is tucked away about 10 mins walk from the station in a quiet area. The reception staff are great, the rooms comfortable - great beds and bathroom. TV large and wifi free, nice touch of free mineral water and gummi bears! Excellent breakfast - superb service. Amazing value. Modern decor and a cosy bar. And a great Italian restaurant La Cantina round the corner. Cannot recommend it enough - great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#102 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#29 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#31 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#24 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristall

Property: Hotel Cristall
Address: Ursulaplatz 9-11, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cristall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristall Cologne is a design-filled boutique hotel in Cologne's city centre with an inspiring and distinguished atmosphere. Colour and Shape. Light and Room. Design and Style. Accompanied by comfort and top location. The interaction of these attributes form an exciting concept. Being in the city centre, the Hotel is located within walking distance to the Cologne Cathedral, Central Station, river Rhine, major museums, main shopping streets, Cologne Old Town and Cologne Trade Fair/ Cologne Messe. The Hotel features 97 rooms in two categories, a hotel bar, two variable state-of-the-art conference rooms and free WIFI.Our Comfort rooms are newly furnished and belong to an impressive old building redeveloped in 2008, and attached to our main building. Each piece of furniture is individually designed and custom-made of quality materials. The Rooms are 26-36 square metres in size with a 3-metre ceiling height, and thus provide genourous comfort. All 14 Comfort rooms are non-smoking rooms and feature: Kingsize bed, Airconditioning, LCD flat screens, free WIFI, Free SKY-TV Entertainment, Directdial telephone, Satellite TV, Desk, Minibar, walkin shower, Toilette, bathroom Floor Heating, Hairdryer Our Standard rooms are individual in their design with a special attention to detail, especially when it comes to lightening. They embody quality, taste and warmth. All 83 standard rooms feature: Directdial telephone, free WIFI, Minibar, Shower/Toilette, Hairdryer Satellite- and pay TVCristall' s two variable conference rooms feature state-of-the-art conference equipment and proper surroundings for 2 to 65 people. Both rooms provide complimentary Wireless-LAN, air-conditioning, and direct daylight. Among various light arrangements both rooms can be fully blacked out if desired. Therefore, our conference facilities are rightly suited for any event, ranging from major conferences to small meetings as well as receptions. We offer tailored Conference Packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cristall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristall Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing