We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cristall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cristall
Ranked #46 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

With a buffet breakfast and free wi fi included, the hotel is good value for the price paid. Handy but slightly hidden location, within walking distance to main train station and cathedral.
Hotel is close to main station but as a woman, I don't know that I would feel comfortable walking the last 50 or so metres to hotel after dark on my own. Hotel is on a corner on a street away from main pedestrian traffic.
Hotel staff were very friendly and attended to our requests quickly. (we had a slightly blocked toilet on arrival)
Breakfast and Internet were included in our room rate and both were good. Wide selection available for breakfast and internet speed was satisfactory.
Room and bathroom size was on the small side but ok for 2 people, space taken by swinging picture would be better utilised with a small table and chair. Mini bar fridge was not cold but I didn't check if it could be set colder. Other reviewers have commented on the noise level but we didn't notice any from our room.
The hotel stay would have been excellent except for lack of air conditioning in the room and very hot weather. (I think I mistakenly thought climate control was air conditioning).

Room Tip: From reading other reviews it looks like some rooms have air conditioning, so if you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    308
    143
    45
    17
See reviews for
45
213
104
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
178 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my second stay at Hotel Cristall and the hotel is handily placed, a short walk from the Hauptbahnhof (the main railway station) and the Dom, colognes magnificent Cathedral. My room was clean, comfortable and non smoking with a mini bar, Wi Fi is also free. the hotel has a bar and a continental breakfast is available. The hotel is next to a main road and the railway noise so there is a bit of noise from trains and traffic if your room is that side of the building. Overall and excellent not too expensive hotel in a great location for all the sights and shops of Koln. I'll certainly book the hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Room away from the trains and road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our last night in Germany to be close to Dusseldorf Airport & Train Station. Nice place, large modern rooms. Great value and excellent breakfast. Right by train station and short walk to cathedral. Friendly staff. Great AC and amazing shower!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is located conveniently near the main train station of Cologne and allows you to easily walk into the city center. One major flaw is that the standard rooms have no air conditioning, unlike specified by Expedia and some other sites, which is definitely a problem in the summer, as other reviewers have explained. We opted for the comfort upgrade and did not regret this decision in the sunny Cologne weather. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet and helpful staff. Be prepared to sleep on a very soft mattress though with rather thin pillows, luckily additional pillows are available upon request.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have no A/C! Request a room at the back of the hotel as the front faces a busy road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lb_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestfoss
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came by car and had lots of problems finding the hotel via GPS. You should not try to find it - just concentrate on finding the parking garage Maternushaus close by and walk from there. Just follow the noisy 3 lane road and you will find the hotel above the tunnel.

As Julie said in another review, you really have to choose if you need fresh air or sleep, in summer (we were there in July) it is impossible to offer hotel rooms without AC. Since the staff asked us how we enjoyed the stay when we checked out, we told them about the terrible warm room because of the lack of AC. They said "it was not possible to install AC in the rooms".

Our rooms (304+305) had windows to the busy road and it was really the worst night I have ever had in a hotel. Great location for a walk to the Dom etc., but still difficult....

The room itself was okay, but smelled a bit of smoke or old or whatever.

A few words about the breakfast. We noticed the service personnel were not exactly professional. Coffee is served when you sit down, but it took about 20 minutes and two times asking before we got coffee. That's a killer when you need coffee to wake up after a night without sleep. But the rest was okay :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the busy road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked in to hotel , manager was very helpful, friendly and his English brilliant. As other reviewers , the room was small but very clean, comfy beds and the Hotel was only a short walk to the centre and the beautiful cathedral. Breakfast was very nice and fresh
But..the weather is very hot, Room 206 has no AC. The room is located on the road side of the Hotel over a very busy 3 lane road that goes underneath the railway and tram station with a constant flow of trains and trams through the night. as I have slight asthma i need to have some air into the room , so as my heading suggests you can have fresh air or sleep, but not both. It was probably one of the worst nights sleep ( or not ) that we have had in any hotel and my hubby does sleep sometimes in his lorry by road sides and even he couldn't sleep due to the constant traffic and train noise.
Lovely little hotel but if you have room 206 or any other road facing rooms, ask to change. Especially if you need the window open.

Room Tip: Don't have 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misfit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Cristall has been a positive one. The hotel is near the Kholn rail station and the Cathedral. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by one of the attendantsat the reception who checked us in and assisted us with our luggage. The hotel is divided into two buildings, the new building and the old building. Our room was located in the old building and the downfall to the old building is that the lift does not stop pararrel to the rooms, for example we stayed on the second floor and we took the lift to the 3rd floor having to bring our luggages down one flight. Our room was beautiful, flat screen TV, a very comfortable nice size bed and pillows. Also up to date furniture and a nice chic decoration. The breakfast is very good, with a diversified menu. We decided to take a walk around the neighborhood and grabbed a bite to eat at a local German Restaurant called" Brauhaus Schreckenskammer". We had some Schnitzels with fries and some boiled sausages. The prices were extremely affordable and the food was good. Afterwards, we decided to go for dessert, we found a really nice spot called " Eiscafe PortaRomana, this spot was about a seven minute walk from the hotel and it is located by an old fortress. The desserts and the cafe lattes are to die for and the service was excellent. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Cristall.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guidance235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#97 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#26 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#11 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristall

Property: Hotel Cristall
Address: Ursulaplatz 9-11, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cristall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristall Cologne is a design-filled boutique hotel in Cologne's city centre with an inspiring and distinguished atmosphere. Colour and Shape. Light and Room. Design and Style. Accompanied by comfort and top location. The interaction of these attributes form an exciting concept. Being in the city centre, the Hotel is located within walking distance to the Cologne Cathedral, Central Station, river Rhine, major museums, main shopping streets, Cologne Old Town and Cologne Trade Fair/ Cologne Messe. The Hotel features 97 rooms in two categories, a hotel bar, two variable state-of-the-art conference rooms and free WIFI.Our Comfort rooms are newly furnished and belong to an impressive old building redeveloped in 2008, and attached to our main building. Each piece of furniture is individually designed and custom-made of quality materials. The Rooms are 26-36 square metres in size with a 3-metre ceiling height, and thus provide genourous comfort. All 14 Comfort rooms are non-smoking rooms and feature: Kingsize bed, Airconditioning, LCD flat screens, free WIFI, Free SKY-TV Entertainment, Directdial telephone, Satellite TV, Desk, Minibar, walkin shower, Toilette, bathroom Floor Heating, Hairdryer Our Standard rooms are individual in their design with a special attention to detail, especially when it comes to lightening. They embody quality, taste and warmth. All 83 standard rooms feature: Directdial telephone, free WIFI, Minibar, Shower/Toilette, Hairdryer Satellite- and pay TVCristall' s two variable conference rooms feature state-of-the-art conference equipment and proper surroundings for 2 to 65 people. Both rooms provide complimentary Wireless-LAN, air-conditioning, and direct daylight. Among various light arrangements both rooms can be fully blacked out if desired. Therefore, our conference facilities are rightly suited for any event, ranging from major conferences to small meetings as well as receptions. We offer tailored Conference Packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cristall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristall Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing