We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Cristall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cristall
Ranked #54 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel is rated 3 stars, I think because the rooms are small; however, they are very well designed and functional. The hotel is a short walk from the train station, in the opposite direction from the cathedral - not enough of a negative to detract from the hotel. The breakfasts are super and the wifi works well. Very near by is a local brewery which serves both a good meal and beer. The people at the front desk can point the way

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 733 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

A good place to stay if you are on a short bbuisiness or holiday trip in cologen an don`t need a lot of comfort. Located beside the main-railway-station (about 5min from the tracks) you have short ways to nthe attractiosnb aof cologne and public transport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in December. Hotel has a great location (3 min walk from/to train station and Cologne Cathedral) Very close to the inner city, shops, bars, restaurants.
Although our window faced the main road it was surprisingly quiet in our room.
Design of the room was nice, nothing overly fancy but clean and cosy.
Reception staff was very friendly, check in was done immediately (even though we arrived earlier than usual check in hours)
Breakfast had a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTheWorldToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristall Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cristall, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. The opinion of our guests is the most important foundation for our efforts to ensure a consistently high quality of our service.
We look forward to seeing you again in the HOTEL CRISTALL in Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed her for a few nights last winter and It's a very nice hotel. The room was spacious with a funky piece of art work in the middle of the room. The staff are friendly. Apon arrival there was a small packet off haribo on each pillow which is a nice touch to the usual mints you get. the only down side to this location as your right next to the central train station in Koln which is very noisy but other than the would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsetjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristall Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cristall, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took the time to review us. The opinion of our guests is the most important foundation for our efforts to ensure a consistently high quality of our service.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with our services. In the hope to see you again soon in Cologne and at the HOTEL CRISTALL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I needed a place near the railway station due to my travel plans. The hotel location itself is rather pedestrian and it is a five minute walk to the station. However, it is at the northern end of the attractions, so it did make me think twice about going back to the hotel after disembarking from a train trip - I'd rather just go on to the attractions - the cathedral, Roncalli square and the museums.

The wonderful riverfront is a bit further afield, as well as the Alter Markt with its wide choice of dining. It's a lovely walk in the autumn!

The furnishings of the hotel are nice and I suppose for the period I was there (end August), the price was reasonable, with a great breakfast spread.

I had to catch a midnight train and I was able to freshen up quite nicely (having checked out earlier), before walking - close to midnight, quite safely to the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristall Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cristall, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. The opinion of our guests is the most important foundation for our efforts to ensure a consistently high quality of our service.
We look forward to seeing you again in the HOTEL CRISTALL in Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place really looks good and if you like something that doesn't look like every other hotel without spending a fortune this is for you! Unfortunately there are some little areas that don't make it a "luxury" hotel. Things like slightly hard mattress, no flat screen tv, 'flat' pillows - but perhaps I'm being picky..! On the plus side, the location is great, approx 4 mins from main station. Also the rooms are clean and well protected from any city noise. Additionally the breakfast buffet has a great selection and they also offer free wireless Internet with a good connection speed as well. We had a really good stay and would recommend to others. I think the 'Three Star Superior' rating displayed outside is very accurate...

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristall Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cristall, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took the time to review us. The opinion of our guests is the most important foundation for our efforts to ensure a consistently high quality of our service.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with our services. In the hope to see you again soon in Cologne and at the HOTEL CRISTALL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just had a night here and were very impressed by the helpfulness of the reception staff, the variety of tasty choices at breakfast. The room was quite basic, but clean. Most importantly, the hotel is a three minute walk to the Central Koln area with the many Brau Haus / restaurant offerings where you really should sample the excellent local beers. (And I'm a wine drinker!).

The awe-inspiring mass of stone that is Europe's largest cathedral is just a ten minute stroll away also.

Beware: parking is plentiful in the immediate area but 'short term', and therefore expensive. The charging period is from 9 am to 9 pm.

We would stay here again, and we got a very good price via booking.com.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayRuddickTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#151 of 263 in Cologne
302 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#51 of 263 in Cologne
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Hotel Kommerz
#84 of 263 in Cologne
223 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
#31 of 263 in Cologne
1,052 reviews
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristall

Address: Ursulaplatz 9-11, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $78 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cristall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristall Cologne is a design-filled boutique hotel in Cologne's city centre with an inspiring and distinguished atmosphere. Colour and Shape. Light and Room. Design and Style. Accompanied by comfort and top location. The interaction of these attributes form an exciting concept. Being in the city centre, the Hotel is located within walking distance to the Cologne Cathedral, Central Station, river Rhine, major museums, main shopping streets, Cologne Old Town and Cologne Trade Fair/ Cologne Messe. The Hotel features 97 rooms in two categories, a hotel bar, two variable state-of-the-art conference rooms and free WIFI.Our Comfort rooms are newly furnished and belong to an impressive old building redeveloped in 2008, and attached to our main building. Each piece of furniture is individually designed and custom-made of quality materials. The Rooms are 26-36 square metres in size with a 3-metre ceiling height, and thus provide genourous comfort. All 14 Comfort rooms are non-smoking rooms and feature: Kingsize bed, Airconditioning, LCD flat screens, free WIFI, Free SKY-TV Entertainment, Directdial telephone, Satellite TV, Desk, Minibar, walkin shower, Toilette, bathroom Floor Heating, Hairdryer Our Standard rooms are individual in their design with a special attention to detail, especially when it comes to lightening. They embody quality, taste and warmth. All 83 standard rooms feature: Directdial telephone, free WIFI, Minibar, Shower/Toilette, Hairdryer Satellite- and pay TVCristall' s two variable conference rooms feature state-of-the-art conference equipment and proper surroundings for 2 to 65 people. Both rooms provide complimentary Wireless-LAN, air-conditioning, and direct daylight. Among various light arrangements both rooms can be fully blacked out if desired. Therefore, our conference facilities are rightly suited for any event, ranging from major conferences to small meetings as well as receptions. We offer tailored Conference Packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cristall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristall Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing