We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Steak!!! Will come back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Chango

El Chango
Ranked #35 of 2,347 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Steak!!! Will come back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We all agreed: This is the best steak we have ever had. We were six, Canadian, german and austrian all well travelled ( even to argentina!) and in Cologne for the food fair. From the outside and the dekor of the restaurante we didnt really expect a lot! But it was incredible. I guess this could almost sound like a fake review...but it seriously isn't!
Go to this place and enjoy a perfect steak! Even the service was wonderful.
When we get back to cologne, we will definitely come back here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    109
    28
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited two years ago and was very pleased to find that the food was still as good. Flame grilled Argentinian steaks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Engbandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taste Of Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great food, the starter was very tasty, and a perfect steak for main course, loved the ambience, maybe it was also the great group of people we were with. Food did take a little long to be delivered to the table, so not the restuarant for people in a rush.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

You like you good argentinian beef, thats the place to be. Meat is great, side dishes average. Service and prices are ok. Local colleagues from Cologne showed me the place as their favorite place in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paxelpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak with heart....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very often we go to El chango in Cologne... Great steak from a grill with great butter and home made chimichuri sauce.
Service is nice and polite, atmosphere is friendly and allways positive and that means a lot for us who work in the same branche....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danijel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chango also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to El Chango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing