We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Little Convenient Stay”
Review of Hotel Alt Deutz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alt Deutz
Ranked #172 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute Little Convenient Stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had decided to arrive 2 days before the Einsenwarenmesse in March 2014, to help set up and organize, etc (My company was participating). So I wanted to stay some place close by and inexpensive, and found this suitable.
Its a sweet little budget hotel near the Messe Station. Only a 10 Min walk to the Exhibition Grounds, which was very convenient for me. The location is also very nice as the area has a fair amount of Bars / Restaurants, etc.
The staff were very nice, as they made me make an international call (outgoing) for free. Its a very quiet hotel. Nice place to get a coffee and read a book during the day in the dining area.

PRO's - Location, cost, staff, ambience, peaceful

CON's - Room size, no elevators (if with heavy luggage), needs a small kitchen for light snacks and drinks (only chocolates and chips in vending machine).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ike666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Ike666

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, Cologne.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location near the fairground.

For your next stay in Cologne we would be happy to welcome you again. Simply book directly through our website and benefit from our online discount of 5%: always best value for money on the web.


with warm regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    57
    27
    44
See reviews for
30
71
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

There is nothing about this hotel to invite anyone there. May be the price, if u get a double room for 25 euro than u get a good opportunity, but it still in an arez that is not really in the mood of this nor of other times. A place where you do not want to stay, in and around the hotel... Unless you go for a show near by

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild tracks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Wild tracks S,

thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, Cologne and for your feedback.
We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and would like to learn from your impressions. In order to enable us to improve we would have been pleased to obtain some more detailed information on your staying experience. Anyhow, we would like to thank you for your appreciation of our excellent value for money room rates which are updated on a daily basis and often offer unique deals.
The hotel is located in the heart of Cologne Deutz, right opposite of the old town. In the heart of Cologne, this hotel offers bright rooms with cozy interiors and free Wi-Fi. The KölnMesse Exhibition Centre and the Lanxess Arena are a 4-minute walk away.
A cable TV, work desk and telephone with free, unlimited calls to German landlines are featured in the rooms at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. A free bottle of mineral water is offered each day and a rich continental and healthy breakfast is served every morning. Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral can be found within 2.5 km. These are just 1 stop from Köln-Deutz Train Station, 900 metres from the hotel. Simply find all information on our website and book directly for special value deals.

with warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Bolton , England
Level Contributor
253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We wanted an inexpensive budget hotel as we had already been away a few times recently so bearing this in mind and the seemingly high cost of most hotels in Cologne this was a great find.

Only five minutes’ walk from Deutz Bahnhof / Messe train station (the one just before Cologne Central) and a 15 minute walk over the bridge to the city centre this hotel is in a great location. In addition it appears to be in a bit of a residential area so there are bars, restaurants and shops right on the door step.

We received a very warm welcome and were presented with a map and tips on how to get about In addition the receptionist informed us that there was free fruit, toffees / small biscuits and newspapers all day – the papers being German and my German is as good as my Bulgarian though it’s the thought that counts.

The room was clean with very good central heating, the furniture basic (think Ikea) the bathroom had everything needed including a hairdryer (not that I need one) and soap, shampoo /shower gel. In addition perhaps the best toilet view to date – the Cathedral (Dom) – although with the curtains open perhaps other people were getting a greater view ?

Breakfast was the big surprise for the price. It was continental but there was a vast supply of fruit, yogurts, jams, cheeses, breads and even smoked salmon. Tea, coffee and fruit juices all included and the waitress was even happy to make hot chocolate for members of our party.

So if you want to save a few quid and avoid sterile corporate hotels then try this one for traditional German hospitality. Prost !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSamsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear BigSamsWanderer,

thank you very much for your stay with us and your nice and warm comments.
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you again, soon. You can then also benefit from our newly renovated rooms and excellent value for money options by simply booking through our website and entering "LOY" as a keyword to obtain a 5% discount on our room rates. Visit www.hotelaltdeutz.eu

With warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena
S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The room and ensuite has pretty dated decor, but was clean they had a conplementary bottle of sparkling water in our room which was quite nice. They actually charged us more than quoted which wasn't ideal and the breakfast was continental so nothing really that substantial for a big day! Was clean and the location was ok

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte_croz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear charlotte_croz,

thank you very much for your stay with us. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your comments and would like to inform you that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms on an ongoing basis. During the last months we have already completed fifteen rooms - the rest is to follow and we plan to have all rooms done by the end of 2014.
With regards to the mentioned overcharge this must have been a misunderstanding. We are obliged to add the cultural fee of the City of Cologne to every overnight stay effective end of 2010.
We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our continental breakfast buffet. In general we have always received very positive comments with regards to the variety and quality of breakfast items on display, i.e. considering the cost of € 5,- per person for any in-house guest. We would appreciate a more detailed feedback on what you would like us to change with regards to our buffet and we would be more than happy to look into this matter and improve us steadily.
We value your honest opinion and would be very pleased to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the second hotel around the corner. We had two double rooms, with a bathroom on the corridor. The rooms were small, but we knew that. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. Complimentary fruit and bottled water. The Wifi was free, easy to connect to and with a good signal. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear AlisonW68,

thank you very much for your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your comments.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked your rooms as well as the complimentary features we offer to our guests. In special we like your comments on our continental breakfast buffet and we would be happy to welcoming you back for your next visit in Cologne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel (stayed for Anuga).
The lady on reception when we checked in was great; explaining all about the area and how to get to the show by foot.
The hotel is very basic and rooms maybe a little like a youth hostel, yet by the time we got to our 2nd night I was starting to think it was quite cosy!
I do admit that I'm a bit of an hotel snob and only do 5star, but I would actually consider staying here for a budget weekend with my husband.
The bathroom, although very dark, was clean. They only give you the one towel, so I would suggest that you take another with you, it is replaced with a clean one, but if anyone is like me, I always want one for my hair too!
Single beds are a little small and it can be a little noisy, but I'm a light sleeper
Another tip for the ladies (or the men for that matter!) would be to take a mirror, as putting make up on in the bathroom mirror isn't easy!
As others have said, the Continental breakfasts are good, and location is good for both Anuga and a nice walk into town.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 21, which was a tiny noisy from street below, but I do like to go to bed super earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BANewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear BANewcastle,

we would like to thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed staying with us - even more as you say you usually stay in 5* hotels.
Due to our central location in the heart of Cologne a basic urban sound comes with a stay in this area. We do have rooms facing the courtyard, too. For future visits simply request for one of these rooms and we will do our utmost to accommodate these requests. Also with regards to the rooms we have good news, since we have started an overall renovation that is planned to be completed in due course. It will be free of noise disturbance, so no worries when staying with us during this time. Upon request we will also be happy to provide additional towels and answer any request during your next stay.
Book directly on our website to receive 5% discount, by just entering the code LOY whilst making your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked this hotel on behalf of colleagues of mine visiting the Anuga Fair. Upon arrival they were placed in two separate buildings, we made one booking and they needed to be close. no hope their. the rooms themselves were not clean, not up to standard not nice at all...nothing like the images.
they complained about the rooms, were note given an option and left, but upon contacting the hotel the person handling my request denied them complaining and even denied I had been trying to call them as they did not have any logged calls, so they said. please note I had called the day before and discussed with the persons colleague. they are not interested and don't even attempt to sort out issues and on top of all basically called me a liar saying I did not contact them.
Would not recommend booking there or if you do don't expect anything to happen if you complain. not once did they even say "we are so sorry to hear you were unhappy with our services" would have mad a difference. and refund forget it they basically said no cause I had no reason to complain. Please note I book rooms for our staff regularly so I am aware of how things are handled. I di not personally go to this hotel but I do know what we have experienced. and the thing that upset me most was their attitude ..I think you can kind of deal wit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOUBS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear DOUBS05,

we would like to thank you for your reservation and your colleagues‘ stay with us and for the time you took to give us your feedback.
After receiving your comments on behalf of our guests we further investigated on the mentioned issues and found that we had no complaint of your colleagues logged whilst they were staying with us. Indeed we had to accommodate the rooms in different buildings which we understand is not too convenient for colleagues travelling together. However, it is clearly stated on all websites that guests either stay in the main building or our annex, which features the same services and facilites, has newly renovated rooms and is only a one minutes‘ walk from the main building. Unfortunately the reservations did also not mention that all rooms belong to the same group. Otherwise we would have been happy to accommodate this requests. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this matter and would be happy to welcome your colleagues again.

With warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena
S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#100 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Deutz
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#193 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Deutz
SKADA-City Colln Hotel
SKADA-City Colln Hotel
#187 of 260 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
No photo provided
Hotel Putz Garni
#144 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Hotel Stadtpalais
#34 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Hotel Ilbertz
#132 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alt Deutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alt Deutz

Property: Hotel Alt Deutz
Address: Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alt Deutz 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cologne, this hotel offers bright rooms with cosy interiors and free Wi-Fi. The KolnMesse Exhibition Centre and the Lanxess Arena are a 4-minute walk away. A cable TV, work desk and telephone with free, unlimited calls to German landlines are featured in the rooms at the Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. A free bottle of mineral water is offered each day. A rich continental and healthy breakfast is served each morning at the Alt Deutz. Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral can be found within 2.5 km. These are just 1 stop from Koln-Deutz Train Station, 900 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alt Deutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing