We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cool stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The cool stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Excellent hotel in the middle of the town

The hotel is situated in the middle of the town very near to all outstanding places you can visit in Cologne, it's as well near to the cathedral as to the Rhine and to the old part of town and it's pubs (called Altstadt-Kneipe). The whole atmosphere of the hotel is very friendly, not stiff. The fittings are elegant, but not uncomfortable. The service is excellent. This is our own personal experience.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaysheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    523
    219
    68
    17
See reviews for
114
440
134
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, Brazil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Hotel in a very central location just a few steps from the Koelner Dom, central train station (Hauptbahnhof), Museum Ludwig, historic center and Rhine river. Plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance, easy access to public transport. Service was efficient, the room was functional, well furnished and quiet but rather small (not a surprise in Europe). Excellent breakfast: large selection of breads, cold cuts, fruits, fruit juices, hot dishes and freshly made coffee (capuccino, latte etc). The area around the hotel was a big construction site, so beware of blocked sidewalks, mud, scaffolding etc. We were there during carnival and we couldn't have chosen a more central location, right in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brasiliense_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

The hotel was comfortable, clean, quiet and the staff friendly. The location just behind the Cathedral on the edge of the Altstadt with all it's bars and restaurants is excellent.

That said the room was tiny - especially as we had stayed in an Ibis hotel in Brussels en route where the room was about 3 times the size and about half the price. Ibis and Sofitel are both chains in the Accor group of hotels. The Sofitel won on the trimmings in the room - fluffier towels, fancy bed covers and scatter cushions, mini bar, better quality toiletries in the bathroom. But the room was no more comfortable and in fact was less convenient as it was so small. We didn't even consider breakfast there at 22 euros each!!!! (22 euros would buy you a large main course and a couple of beers in the evening - too much to pay for breakfast!)

Also the hotel website made no mention of the enormous hole in front of the hotel which looks like it has been there for some time and will be for a lot longer as they are building a new underground railway line in Cologne!

I have stayed at the Ibis Koln am Dom at the railway station before - which is just as convenient and just as comfortable.

The hotel was fine if you are happy to pay for all the trimmings and we enjoyed our stay but I really didn't think it was value for money.

  • Liked — Location - close to bars, restaurants, museums, shops, the Rhine!
  • Disliked — Expensive for a very small room!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Man_of_Kent2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed recently for two nights during a trade fair in Cologne as i couldnt stay at the Radisson.
I must say that all the public spaces are great and the staff are all fantastic but on the downside the rooms are very small so if you do stay try not to pack too much as your luggage may not fit the room!!!
The standard of the room is average but the bed is very comfortable although the air con somewhat noisy. The bathroom and shower are very good no worries there and a powerful jet of hot water is greatly appreciated after 12 hours in an exhibition!!
The bar and restaurant are very good and the pub serves great snacks with the local Kolsch.
Located just between the Dom and the Rhein you could not wish for a better position but the overall benefits of location are let down by small room sizes.

  • Liked — It had rooms available during exhibition!
  • Disliked — Very small bedrooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for a short business trip lasting 3 days.
The hotel was of a good standard and had some nice touches.
All staff spoke good english and was made to feel very welcome.
Breakfast was served up till 11 am and was again of a high standard with more choice then you could possibly need.
There is a small building site outside the main lobby but this did not disturb us in any way.
The central location in walking distance to the bars near the Rhine, the railway station and main shopping area.
I would recomend this hotel for business trips and city breaks.

  • Liked — City centre location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Arrived at hotel for 3 nite stay only to find most of center of Cologne is a massive construction site,with the Sofitel sitting in the middle, surrounded by cranes, blocked sidewalks, and debris. had to walk an extra 2 blocks to reach hotel entrance.
Nothing was told in advance about the construction which should go on for years. While hotel was quiet, I don't believe it meets standards of other Sofitels at which I've stayed. If it wasn't for the construction, the location would make it a good choice; however the rooms are extremely small for the price and the food was definitely over priced. Hotel is close to station, Dom.
Alstadt and Rhine where boats are boarded

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — construction surrounding hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Conner2dood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed in a standard double - it was far too small for the price and five star rating. I've had a larger room in an Ibis at 1/3 of the price. Although the common parts were far too hot, once the heating in the room was disabled, and the window opened, the room temperature was Ok. There was not enough hanging space in the very compact storage area, and moving around has to be one at a time as passing space limited! Publicity wrongly asserts each room has a luxury bath - not true, ours had a basic shower. The plus points are a superb, comfortable bed, good quality bedding, good, helpful staff and very central location. As we were not about to pay 22 Euros each for breakfast, can't comment as to the quality thereof. If I'd paid rack rate I'd be furious - but as we got a good lastminute.com deal I'm only slightly miffed!
Accor hotels vary so much for a chain - I have to say (and I've stayed at a lot) - 70% are superb, 20% Okish and 10% just don't hit the price/what's on offer button - and this is one of that 10%

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cramped room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#22 Business Hotel in Cologne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel is located in the heart of the old town. Cologne Cathedral, the Rhine, the exhibition center, the shopping streets, a host of museums and other attractions are only a stone's throw away. The hotel has 203 elegant rooms, including 6 Junior Suites, 5 meeting rooms and a ballroom (1981 sq. ft. [184 sq. m]). In the "Reissdorf im Mondial" you can enjoy regional dishes and draft beer in the setting of a modern, Cologne brewery with a spectacular view of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing