We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived after a long train journey so didn't check in until 20.00. Our first impression of the hotel was not good as when we arrived it was covered in scaffolding and "netting" at first our hearts sank as we thought the hotel was closed, thankfully it wasn't and once we were inside we were able to forget about the building work, well at least until about 08.00! The staff were friendly and helpful (with the exception of the bar man who was too busy talking to a local that after waiting at the hotel bar for 10 minutes still didn't acknowledge us), the room although small (how much time do you actually spend in your room??) was nice and had everything you needed The bed was clean and tidy but squeaked every-time you moved! The bathroom had a great shower with a movable head and good pressure (very rare to find). The best thing going for the hotel is its location, you can walk to all the main sights and attractions very easily. All in all it was a lovely holiday made great by the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbHaims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose the hotel primarily on location plus generally good reviews. It proved to be a great location as we needed good access to the trains and the hotel gave us this. It is also a good location for the getting around Cologne, plus close to the Dom, bars and restaurants by the river.
The hotel staff were good and helpful.
The rooms are comfortable and of a very good standard but slightly cramped and on our second morning we had no hot water in the room for showers etc, and so had to use another room!
Breakfast is expensive but very comprehensive and very good.
The second day the main bar was closed due to refurbishment work!
When booking our room description included wifi, however, this was available at a cost.
I was able to persuade the staff that it should be included, but it regularly times out and so you are constantly having to sign in. This should never be and extra when you pay the level of room cost as per this hotel.
We would go back to the hotel as the 3 star rating is due to the problems we had and overall it could be 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank parvs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in June,nice hotel,friendly staff good location. Rooms ok,would maybe expect more from star rating. Nice shower though space for a bath so ideally both,nice touch where tv sound is played into bathroom so can hear the tv in bathroom,plenty uk tv channels. No free wi fi in rooms,again preferable to have free. Room decor and facilities ok. Didn't get a chance to use sauna/spa facilities. Stairs/lifts in a bit of an odd layout so you can end up with a fair wee hike to your room, overall ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location being a short walk from the main station, the cathedral, the river and many bars and restaurants.

Nicely decorated but clearly an old hotel under the recent refurb. Lobby very spacious and inviting, unlike the rooms which are small and (for us) overlooking a very sad looking internal courtyard. Being there for 3 nights certainly didn't encourage us to hang around in the room as it was very gloomy.

Heating / Air-con didn't work.

No free wifi - still one of those chains that charge a fortune for the room then still feel necessary to charge extra for what is nowadays a basic service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB&SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first time in Cologne and we were using it as a stop over on our way to Italy. A quick note to the unaware - as we were, Cologne on a bank holiday Saturday seems play host to a lot of stag and hen parties. The participants were mainly German and there were some pretty outrageous costumes which might take a bit of explaining to children under the age of 12. This was during the late afternoon/early evening so there was no avoiding it. There was also some sort of wine festival going on which had a very good turn out amongst the old population and all tables in the square for this were fully occupied by 7 o'clock.
Any way back to the hotel. It is relatively easy to find and almost next to the cathedral. If you want to see the sites of Cologne it is a very good location. The younger members of staff at reception were friendly and very helpful with good English. The concierge was older and although he took the car key and parked the car could only be described as grumpy to the point of rudeness. There is a charge for the car park.
The room was ok for a stopover. Clean and modern, there were a few mysterious stains on the wall but it was perfectly adequate for a town centre hotel. The bathroom was small but had a great shower. We had a view of the cathedral and the roadworks and there was some noise during the night from revellers outside. I don't know if this would have been less had we been at the back of the hotel.
The breakfast was very good. The staff tried hard and the buffet was extensive. We had our evening meal elsewhere at a very good restaurant in Cologne so I am not sure if the food in the evening would be of the same standard.
If I was in Cologne again for a short time I would stop here again. There was nothing outstandingly good or bad about the hotel and you could have been in any city staying a pretty generic hotel room.

Room Tip: The view of the cathedral at night is nice but not essential as you are less than a few minutes walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lulurose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Is an excellent hotel in a superb location. In the old historic district. Is only a block from the huge impressive Cologne Cathedral , maybe two blocks or less at most from the Cologne central railroad station , and just a block and a half from the scenic Rhine River. Room was clean, quiet , very comfortable , and well equipped. Reception staff was excellent, friendly, and helpful. Many wonderful restaurants within 2 to 3 blocks or less from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DavidSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Is it possible to make a hotel room any smaller? 375 Euros a night during a conference and barely room for my suitcase. Clearly a great location 5 minutes walk to the station and a free train to the expo,. Really good breakfast buffet. No wonder so many people attending conventions commute in from Dusseldorf to avoid this kind of rip-off.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank ATL-CL3338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 263 in Cologne
2,233 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,296 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 263 in Cologne
1,882 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 263 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cologne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#22 Business Hotel in Cologne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $152 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel is located in the heart of the old town. Cologne Cathedral, the Rhine, the exhibition center, the shopping streets, a host of museums and other attractions are only a stone's throw away. The hotel has 203 elegant rooms, including 6 Junior Suites, 5 meeting rooms and a ballroom (1981 sq. ft. [184 sq. m]). In the "Reissdorf im Mondial" you can enjoy regional dishes and draft beer in the setting of a modern, Cologne brewery with a spectacular view of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing