We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but the room is no special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 25, 2013

On the positive side, the bed is comfortable and the hotel is very well located to the Dom and the Alltstadt. The view of the DOM from my room was absolutely fantastic The breakfast is nice. In addition, there is a large selection of BBC entertainment stations which is unique for the area since most hotel offer you 3-5 options of English language news and no entertainment stations (without an additional charge).

However, all is not perfect. The duvet rotates open and it took a lot of effort to open it. Like most German hotels I have used, there is only a half door for the shower stall. Worse, there was no tub but only a slight depression in the floor. Therefore, a lot of water ended up on the main floor on bathroom. Luckily, there were plenty of towels to mop up the floor.

You need to pay for Internet connection and, worse yet, connectivity is constantly interrupted. If you plan on doing work in your room, don't count on being a good connection. That is okay because the desk space is very, very small.

If you are looking for a good location, this is a good place. However, I needed to get some work done in my room so I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Dom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KolnerBigBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mondial am Dom in Cologne and have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. Its location was very convenient for us - in the centre of the old city, near the cathedral and very close to the main shopping areas. The reception clerk at check-in was friendly and helpful and we had good recommendations for restaurants in the area from the concierge. The staff in both the bar and the restaurant were very nice and helpful. One minor complaint was the lack-lustre French Onion soup in the restaurant, but the cheese plate more than made up for it!
Parking was a little on the pricey side, but taking the 'car elevator' was worth something :-)
I'd stay at the Mondial am Dom again without question.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just stayed for 2 nights and cannot understand why complementary wi-fi is not included when I have paid 270 euros a night, they just encourage guests to eat and drink elsewhere, there are loads of local bars and restaurants which have free wi-fi, 2 mins walk away. No wonder the restaurant and bar are so quiet.

Apart from the above, location is central, approx 3/4mins walk from the central train station. Accomodadtion acceptable except my room wasnt cleaned properly after the first night, coffee cup not replaced with a clean one, toiletries not replenished. Breakfast ok, buffet style, slow to replenish food and clean glasses for juices.

Some staff were friendly and others quite rude

Room Tip: Stick to the 3rd floor, ideally with a view of the Dom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenClaireLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a very comfortable hotel located very close to everything we wanted to see. The room was great and the staff was incredible. They were extremely helpful and friendly. We were there to visit the Christmas markets and the bonus was how close it was to everything else. It’s a very short walk from the train station and very close to the cathedral. It’s also pretty close to the Rhine River which makes for a nice stroll. The Christmas markets were incredible and our favorite one was very close to the hotel. (about one block) The German people are very nice and the food at the markets was incredible. They really know how to throw a festival.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWood2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here on a visit to the "A Bigger Picture" Hockney Exhibition at the Museum Ludwig, we were delighted to find it next door to the hotel. It is very close to the Philharmonic, the cathedral, the old town, the railway station and the Rhine . Our room was quite small but staying on 3 for the price of 2 in a standard room we were perfectly happy with it ( we were asked if we wanted a non or smoling room so we didnt have to smell tobacco ! ) and the shower room was excellent . We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis , the breakfast was excellent with every hot and cold option we could think of. We didnt eat at the hotel in the evening, the menu displayed had few options and in our experience hotel restaurants are often basic. There are literally hundreds of restaurants within walking distance . Staying in early january the hotel was very quiet, All the staff we met were polite and friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend the Mondial Am Dom

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbwhite258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to the Dom Christmas faire in Cologne.
You could see the Cathedral right out our window.
You could also hear the bells ring.
It was like a fairy tale.
The room was average size for Europe.
Our son had a non view room that cost the same but was much smaller.
Not sure how they figure costs?
Good hotel.
Excellent location.

Room Tip: ask for view room of the Dom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euroky8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My stay at the Mondial am Dom hotel was a disappointing experience. There were some good bits, but the tiny room sizes and exceptionally poor restaurant experience means that I couldn’t possibly recommend this hotel to anyone.

THE GOOD
Fixtures and fittings in the rooms and public areas are generally high quality.
The TV includes a number of UK channels (BBC1, BBC2, ITV1, ITV2 etc).
The breakfast is good (though expensive).
Very convenient location for the cathedral and railway/underground stations.

THE BAD
Room was TINY (the smallest I’ve ever stayed in)
The room smelt of tobacco smoke.
Wi-Fi is 9 euros a day (come on people – this is 2012!)
Despite the promise on the website, the room did not have a bath
There was extremely limited storage in the room for clothes etc, and nowhere to put a suitcase.
It snowed during our stay. Many of the neighbouring shops cleared the pavement in front of them. The hotel didn’t bother.
Our restaurant experience bordered on an episode of Fawlty Towers. We had booked a table for 7pm for 4 people. When we arrived they couldn’t find the reservation, though we were eventually shown to a table. After 10 minutes or so we were given the à la carte menu (actually its the only menu they have), which had less choice than you would expect (two fish dishes, one lamb dish, one pork, one chicken and three beef dishes). My wife ordered the chicken, only to be told that it was unavailable. So she switched to the lamb, only to find out that was also unavailable. At this point we asked the waitress to find out if the kitchen was providing any alternative choices. After a few minutes a different waiter turned up to advise us that they had now run out of pork, but there was now one portion lamb available. When we expressed dissatisfaction with the choices the waiter suggested we choose a starter instead. At this point we gave up and decided to eat elsewhere. It was only afterwards that we realised no one had asked us if we wanted anything to drink. When we complained to the management they were not at all apologetic, citing that they were very busy,

THE UGLY
You may notice there are no pictures of the outside of the hotel on the website. This is because no one would ever choose to stay here because of its looks.
The combined minibar/tv/safe/lighting unit in each room appears to be a legacy item from when the hotel was built. It doesn’t match the rest of the décor and if you had one at home you would either have chucked it out or hidden it away where visitors couldn’t see it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corbo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 261 in Cologne
1,695 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,806 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#22 Business Hotel in Cologne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $140 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel is located in the heart of the old town. Cologne Cathedral, the Rhine, the exhibition center, the shopping streets, a host of museums and other attractions are only a stone's throw away. The hotel has 203 elegant rooms, including 6 Junior Suites, 5 meeting rooms and a ballroom (1981 sq. ft. [184 sq. m]). In the "Reissdorf im Mondial" you can enjoy regional dishes and draft beer in the setting of a modern, Cologne brewery with a spectacular view of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing