We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice ambient, tiny rooms, expensive breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights, for second time. Near to the dom and train station is very nice when you need to go diary to koln-messe. The rooms, very tiny. The breakfast is great but expensive. You can go to starbucks at train station and pay less than a third of you can spent for a breakfast at this hotel. Gym: only three aerobics machines, no more. Great and complete spa!
The bar is nice to spend some time before go to dinner.
I will recomend this hotel, but I knoe that maybe there are anothers similara or better in price-benefits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavoarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Staff were freindly and helpfull upon arrival and we were offered a cathedral view or a quieter couryard room which we selected.The rooms are a bit small but comfortable and complimentary bottled water s provided. Conveniently located to explore all of Cologne and most of the best bars and restaurants in town are within a few hundred metres. Breakfast was the best have ever had in any hotel including full English, continental, pancakes and hot cherries and much more + the waitress was discreet but always on hand to assist or clear dirty plates.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddygrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Visited Cologne or the weekend. Arrived wthout a hotel reservation. Hotel desk offered rate which I then went online and reduced the price by 55 EUR. Room was fine, but the beds are very small for someone 6'3" tall. The bathroom was modern and clean. The slightly higher price than other hotels in the area is worth the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a viewof the Dom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyairdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good location. TV in room is still Small Tube TV, not LCD.

Very close to the train station and lots of restaurant by the river, just 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel. The Dom is also only 2-3 minutes walk. Hohe Strase is just beside the Dom.

Almost all retail stores closes on Sunday.

Concierge is not that helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CowboysIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotels location while central and near the Dom does not offer the best view of the Catherdral. The common areas of the hotel are nicely decorated and the staff were efficient and helpful, however I was disappointed by the size of my room. While my booking said I would get a city or cathedral view my view was of an internal light well. I would have asked to change rooms but I needed to get on with some work and was only there for a night so did not bother. My final gripe is that the wifi was chargeable and slow. I did not eat in the hotel, although my colleagues who had breakfast said there was a good selection.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel when it was known as the Sofitel Am Dom Hotel a few years ago and very much enjoyed my stay there. Despite the rather smallish size of the rooms, it was a truly 5 star hotel experience.
Recently, I had to go to Cologne gain and decided to revisit the hotel. The welcoming was as pleasant as I remembered. The staff were courteous and polite. I had required a non smoking and quiet room and they happily obliged. So far, so good.
Whether it's the fact that management has changed or just the passing of time, I was rather disappointed with the state of the room and bathroom. The walls in the bedroom were stained and the bathroom's white walls are in need of a fresh coat of paint. No complimentary slippers and just one bathrobe for two guests. The toiletries are not of the best quality, but acceptable. The linen for the bed was ok (still the same as before), but the towels were a bit cheap albeit white. The air conditioning worked well and the TV service offers you ample choice for news and programmes in all languages. Complimentary mineral water was a nice gesture which was replenished every day. No turning of bed of bed and no chocolates as in the past. If you are a light sleeper staying close to the Cathedral will mean that you will hear the bells toll frequently, starting very early in the morning and finishing at midnight. I decided not to have breakfast at the hotel as I found the cost of 25 Euros quite expensive vis a vis the current state of the hotel. Equally did not stay for dinner as my initial experience of a few years back was of fish drowned in butter so I decided to give it a miss and explore other options in the city. Wi Fi is at 9 Euros a day, which I find unacceptable as a matter of principle so did without that. All in all it's an acceptable place to stay, being the location one of its greatest assets particularly if on business and very tired at the end of the day. Unlikely to revisit soon as I it has lost some of its stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAFAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and two children stayed here for 3 nights in early August. We had adjoining rooms with spectacular views of the cathedral. As other have said, the rooms are not fancy, but nice. The storage situation was a little lacking and some of the furnishings (tv/safe/minibar cabinet!) a bit dated. Not horrible, but could be improved. In-room coffee consisted of a hot pot and packets of instant. The internet situation is awful; the worst we experienced in Europe. Don’t waste the 9 euros for 24 hours of frustratingly intermittent and painfully slow wifi. Instead, get a kolsch from the nearby store for 2 euros, head down to the Rhine, sit on the grass and celebrate the brilliant way you just saved 7 euros. One more negative: 20 euros a day for parking! We needed a car for this portion of our trip, but the train station is a short walk.

Now on to the positives! The breakfast was the best we had in Europe. We could load up early in the day and then not have to deal with an afternoon meal. It also saved the time and hassle of finding a restaurant for the four of us; we could have an afternoon snack and be fine until dinner. It worked great for our family.

The location is excellent, as others have mentioned. Easy walk to the shopping and all the restaurants along the Rhine. We took a nice 15-20 minute stroll down the river to the chocolate museum. Also, when we needed to drive, the main roads were easy to access.

If you can, get a room with a cathedral view. On the night we arrived, we threw open the windows, watched the sunset beyond the cathedral and ordered room service. The meal was good, but I’ll always remember that spectacular view and as if it couldn’t get any better, a brass ensemble somewhere outside started playing Bach as we ate.

Front desk, concierge, and staff were all very efficient and courteous. We would stay here again, but would take the train and use the business center computer to check email, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taeshatama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,218 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cologne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
#22 Business Hotel in Cologne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $155 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel is located in the heart of the old town. Cologne Cathedral, the Rhine, the exhibition center, the shopping streets, a host of museums and other attractions are only a stone's throw away. The hotel has 203 elegant rooms, including 6 Junior Suites, 5 meeting rooms and a ballroom (1981 sq. ft. [184 sq. m]). In the "Reissdorf im Mondial" you can enjoy regional dishes and draft beer in the setting of a modern, Cologne brewery with a spectacular view of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing