We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a face lift, stay away if you are a light sleeper!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In need of a face lift, stay away if you are a light sleeper!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel when it was known as the Sofitel Am Dom Hotel a few years ago and very much enjoyed my stay there. Despite the rather smallish size of the rooms, it was a truly 5 star hotel experience.
Recently, I had to go to Cologne gain and decided to revisit the hotel. The welcoming was as pleasant as I remembered. The staff were courteous and polite. I had required a non smoking and quiet room and they happily obliged. So far, so good.
Whether it's the fact that management has changed or just the passing of time, I was rather disappointed with the state of the room and bathroom. The walls in the bedroom were stained and the bathroom's white walls are in need of a fresh coat of paint. No complimentary slippers and just one bathrobe for two guests. The toiletries are not of the best quality, but acceptable. The linen for the bed was ok (still the same as before), but the towels were a bit cheap albeit white. The air conditioning worked well and the TV service offers you ample choice for news and programmes in all languages. Complimentary mineral water was a nice gesture which was replenished every day. No turning of bed of bed and no chocolates as in the past. If you are a light sleeper staying close to the Cathedral will mean that you will hear the bells toll frequently, starting very early in the morning and finishing at midnight. I decided not to have breakfast at the hotel as I found the cost of 25 Euros quite expensive vis a vis the current state of the hotel. Equally did not stay for dinner as my initial experience of a few years back was of fish drowned in butter so I decided to give it a miss and explore other options in the city. Wi Fi is at 9 Euros a day, which I find unacceptable as a matter of principle so did without that. All in all it's an acceptable place to stay, being the location one of its greatest assets particularly if on business and very tired at the end of the day. Unlikely to revisit soon as I it has lost some of its stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAFAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    523
    219
    68
    17
See reviews for
114
440
134
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and two children stayed here for 3 nights in early August. We had adjoining rooms with spectacular views of the cathedral. As other have said, the rooms are not fancy, but nice. The storage situation was a little lacking and some of the furnishings (tv/safe/minibar cabinet!) a bit dated. Not horrible, but could be improved. In-room coffee consisted of a hot pot and packets of instant. The internet situation is awful; the worst we experienced in Europe. Don’t waste the 9 euros for 24 hours of frustratingly intermittent and painfully slow wifi. Instead, get a kolsch from the nearby store for 2 euros, head down to the Rhine, sit on the grass and celebrate the brilliant way you just saved 7 euros. One more negative: 20 euros a day for parking! We needed a car for this portion of our trip, but the train station is a short walk.

Now on to the positives! The breakfast was the best we had in Europe. We could load up early in the day and then not have to deal with an afternoon meal. It also saved the time and hassle of finding a restaurant for the four of us; we could have an afternoon snack and be fine until dinner. It worked great for our family.

The location is excellent, as others have mentioned. Easy walk to the shopping and all the restaurants along the Rhine. We took a nice 15-20 minute stroll down the river to the chocolate museum. Also, when we needed to drive, the main roads were easy to access.

If you can, get a room with a cathedral view. On the night we arrived, we threw open the windows, watched the sunset beyond the cathedral and ordered room service. The meal was good, but I’ll always remember that spectacular view and as if it couldn’t get any better, a brass ensemble somewhere outside started playing Bach as we ate.

Front desk, concierge, and staff were all very efficient and courteous. We would stay here again, but would take the train and use the business center computer to check email, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taeshatama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Arriving by train in Cologne, this hotel is ideal as only a few minutes walk from the station, and only 1 minute from the Rhinegarten riverside park. Don't be put off by the external appearance; inside it is a lovely hotel. The room was a bit small, but all other facilities e.g. lounge, breakfast, room service were excellent. We had 2 bottles of water in our room every day. My partner mislaid his wallet while we were out, and the reception staff could not have been more helpful, ringing places we had visited for us and reassuring us (fortunately he found it again.) I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cologne, and would stay there again with pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linnemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

3 night stay during Gamescom. Hotel is well organised , staff are friendly , breakfast is good. Room was small but adequate . Housekeeping a bit lacking . On check in the bin in the room hadn't been emptied and no water was provided in the room until the last night. The minibar was only refilled on last day also, and the room service breakfast menu door hanger wasn't replaced after the first night . Other than those minor issues the service and organisation overall were good. Location is great .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EiboNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel Mondial is just behing the Dom and the Railway Station. Superb location. We stayed there for one night so we could not sample the restaurants at the hotel. However, there are many eating options around the place. The service was very good. They themselves suggested that I can park my car at the front for a couple of hours while I packed my bags and checked out. Rather than the expensive car park.

The room was big with a very large bathroom. There was no view whatsover as we looked into the inside courtyard. Wi-fi was for Euro 9 for 24 hours. I always find it interesting that in Europe they still charge for wifi whereas in Asia (where I come from) its become free in most hotels. Nevertheless Euro 9 was not too steep.

The hotel is not fancy but clean and functional. The clincher is the location. Near to the sites yet reasonably quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an external view. Hopefully that of the Dom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeltoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very nice hotel, stylish rooms.Staaf profesional,some of them there for years which gives confidence in service. Super location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Excellent hotel, ideal location and nice clean rooms.
Very high standards.
Would recommend and will stay again. (I have stayed here previously as well)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIBBED_OFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#22 Business Hotel in Cologne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel is located in the heart of the old town. Cologne Cathedral, the Rhine, the exhibition center, the shopping streets, a host of museums and other attractions are only a stone's throw away. The hotel has 203 elegant rooms, including 6 Junior Suites, 5 meeting rooms and a ballroom (1981 sq. ft. [184 sq. m]). In the "Reissdorf im Mondial" you can enjoy regional dishes and draft beer in the setting of a modern, Cologne brewery with a spectacular view of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing