We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location - great location”
Review of Senats Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senats Hotel
Ranked #147 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Central location - great location”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I visited the Senats hotel on a recent visit whilst watching Man Utd play Leverkusen. The hotel is a in a great central location (train station, Christmas markets, bars etc) and has extremely friendly staff.
I stayed in a single room (single bed) - room was of a good standard and decent size. Good choice of things to eat for breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMickey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    101
    65
    24
    11
See reviews for
27
75
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Perfect location for a stay in Cologne.
Our room was large, with comfortable beds,dressing gowns and slippers were laid out, as I had requested.the bathroom is well equipped with plenty of hot water and a powerful shower, as well as a bath.
We enjoyed the breakfast of cold meats, cheeses, fruit and cereals. We were offered a cooked breakfast every morning by the friendly staff.
Our main reason for visiting Cologne was to see the Christmas markets, and the Senats Hotel is steps away from the main ones and within walking distance of all of them.The Cathedral and the main shopping street are a few metres from the hotel too., although Senats is in a quiet side street, so there is no noise.
The reception staff were really helpful, cheerful and polite.
I would recommend is hotel and would certainly stay here again when visiting Cologne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent base for seeing Cologne and the Xmas markets. Our room was well layed out and of a good size, very clean and with a comfortable bed and good reading lights. Breakfast was a simple buffet but everything was very good. Staff were helpful. The main draw for us was the central location being a few minutes from the Dom, shopping area, old town and the river. Despite its excellent location it was very quiet at night so you should sleep well. Decor wise this is quite a basic hotel, so 3 Stars not 4 and the TV has limited channels. Overall we would return and would recommend to others.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JayneHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Senats Hotel is very close to the Dom (Cathedral), the Alter Markt, Heumarkt and riverside. In addition it is within 10 minutes walk of the Hauptbahnhof (main station) and the shopping areas of Hohe Strasse, Schildergasse and Neumarkt. The staff are very friendly and helpful and, although the breakfast on display is generally a continental one of meats, cheeses and preserves, will happily cook eggs, bacon and sausages on request. Although the rooms are somewhat dated they are, nonetheless, very comfortable. Our only disappointment was finding that the hotel bar had been closed since the summer.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are subject to a lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnalys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very basic and old hotel in the middle of the city centre. 5 minutes walk to the church and Christmas market. Clean beds, polite staff and ok breakfast. The advertised 4 stars is a bit too much, as I would rate it at 3 stars.. (after what I'm used to in Scandinavia this is closer to 3 stars)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kjetil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed again this week - Monday to Thursday. Had a junior suite this time, everything as good as always. Breakfast service not as good as before - just a bit slow, probably due to one of the waiters not understanding English too well. No bar open in hotel but go out of building and turn left then first left a little bar there, use it, it is good and friendly and you can get 0.4ltr beer. Reception staff did our on line check in for return flight without any problems, will definitely return next year for the xmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is very basic. The doors to get into your rooms open outwards and I found this strange. The rooms are quite spacious but sparse. The decor is drab and the carpets are clearly old. The single beds are quite comfortable and the linen was clean. There is a free soft drinks mini bar but there are no tea/coffee making facilities and the hotel does not have a bar, yes that's right, no bar! We were told it closed in August. When checking out, we saw what appeared to be decorators in one of the other rooms so they maybe starting to have a facelift. Breakfast was sufficient being of continental style with small cooked breakfast on request. The only channels in English on the tv are CNN and BBC World. Bathroom facilities were fine although the shower is about a foot higher than the floor level. On the plus side, the location is perfect for the Xmas Markets. From the airport, 20 mins on train costing €2.70 each single. From the station to the hotel is I would guess around 300 metres passing through one of the markets. Senats Hotel is within 2 minutes walk of 2 markets although we walked to several others. You are also very close to bars, restaurants, many hotels and a mega shopping centre with several large department stores. To be honest, the shopping are, so my wife tells me is a shoppers paradise. There seemed to be quite a few English guests. If you want a basic room, bed for the night and breakfast, this hotel is ok. If you want to spend a cosy evening in your room with tea/coffee, wine and tv, it's not for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#46 of 261 in Cologne
308 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Engelbertz
Hotel Engelbertz
#99 of 261 in Cologne
104 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel An der Philharmonie
Hotel An der Philharmonie
#122 of 261 in Cologne
90 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#206 of 261 in Cologne
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senats Hotel

Property: Senats Hotel
Address: Unter Goldschmied 9-17, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senats Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Senats Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senats Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing