We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was pleased with this choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Ranked #55 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights at this property. The only negatives I have is that this property to me seemed to be located a bit from the main action, but the metro bus stop was one block away, (take the bus and transfer to the S-bahn at Weiner Platz), and was a minor inconvienence toting my rolling bag but it is alright. 2nd negative really is not their fault, but it seems in Germany there are very few English TV channels and you can only hear so much CNN and BBC until it drives you batty. Hotel check-in and lobby area are very nice, small bar located there as well. My room was very nice and I was given a nice quiet location. Breakfast buffet was splendid, with everything you could want, and very good effecient service. Check-in and check-out very quick. They do recognize BW elite status, but upgrade rooms are subject to their occupancy/availability. Overall quite a nice property and would stay again, especially if you find that their pricing is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-JL.a.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 390 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here with my business colleague in May 2013. We booked a top floor room with a balcony which was great for us. We were on 5th floor with the same floor of Sauna and Solarium facility.
The hotel is in a really good location, very close to the river and the open top bus stop is a few meters away which we didn’t use because we rented a car. The car park is free to us and we have parked just in front of the hotel. It's also very easy to get to the hotel from the airport - we travelled by taxi (around 25 Euros).
The staff at the hotel was very friendly.
The hotel restaurant looked lovely at breakfast time. We did have breakfast at the hotel - the selection and quality were both excellent. There is a park near the hotel which leads to the river and you can walk along the river in sunny days. We did. It was very good.
We will definitely be staying here again on our next Cologne visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salih Ahmed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. We had a big room with lots of light, really nice clean bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Staff were all very polite and friendly. Had the steak in the restaurant one evening which was cooked perfectly. Really good value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a very nice 4 star hotel situated some distance from the city center, but within walking distance if you are so inclined.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and light with large 'french door' type windows, which make the rooms light and airy. However, the air conditioner failed to cool our room down at night, so we slept with the window open. Although at the front of the hotel, we were not disturbed by traffic.
Tea and coffee facilities are provided as is free WiFi in all rooms. Bathrooms had the now common (unfortunately), liquid soap and shampoo dispensers screwed to the walls.
The restaurant serves sensibly priced meals, (typically German in the large portions), and the wine list, though not extensive, was good and reasonably priced. Service in the restaurant was friendly, but not up to 4 star standard. We left after our eating and went to our room to retire for the night. We were telephoned (just as we had settled for the night), to say that we had not paid for our meal. Quite unnecessary, as we were hotel guests and settled our account on leaving.
Parking available at 16 Euros a day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Civrasien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel just comes to the expectations of a 4 star property. Though hotel is nice n clean with big rooms but the other amenities are quite average. The gym is very poor and the dining options are very limited. The Internet through wifi is very very slow but if you can avoid room no 140 as you don't get even weak wifi signals there. I had to change the room after first night.
I was there for a 5 days in house meeting which was quite OK, but for some one who is visiting cologne, better avoid since its relatively out of town with nothing much closely. The train station is around 750 meters but no direct trains to city centre, at best you can reach LANxess arena directly.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank MS-75-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koln falls short of the 4 Star experience, especially if you compare the services with the other 4 star Hotels in ME (UAE & Qatar).

The hotel tariff was attractive, but the the breakfast which was included in the Hotel tariff leaves vegetarians like me with not much of choice.

Other things were so..so...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnoturkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is economical even in busy times. Got a room for 70 Euros when others in city were quoting 100 + Euros.

Excellent service, clean and spacious rooms.

Good place to stay if you are ok to travel 10-15 mins to the city center (need to take a metro)

However, breakfast does not have any options for vegetarians (apart from bread, cornflakes and fruits). Request the management to explore at least one veg dish in breakfast

Room Tip: Try asking for room not facing the road
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Best Western Hotel Koln
#61 of 261 in Cologne
187 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#7 of 261 in Cologne
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Servatius Hotel
#87 of 261 in Cologne
68 reviews
Lindenthal
Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln

Address: Clevischer Ring 121, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#45 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $58 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln 4.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior hotel in Cologne is ideally located to Cologne's city center, the fair grounds, the gothic cathedral, the LANXESS arena, the zoo, several TV studios and the famous Claudius spa at the river rhine. It`s also easy to reach the hotel by public transportation whether from the airport, central station or city center. The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel combines modern facilities with individual services. It provides 188 comfortable rooms and suites, meeting facilities, complimetary wireless LAN, underground parking for up to 86 cars, a restaurant with a summer patio, a bar and a wellness area with a sauna, gym and roof terrace. The hotel also guarantees perfect conference possibilities! Guest rooms. 188 generously designed rooms and suites meet the requirements of todays business traveller. All hotel rooms are equipped with safe, bathtub, minibar, wireless LAN, TV, pay TV and tea-/ coffee making facilities. Meetings. The hotel provides the perfect accommodations for business and private events for up to 220 persons. The light-flooded conference rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art technology in a classy atmosphere. Wellness. The wellness area with sauna and gym on the top floor of the hotel is advisable to relax. There is a jogging path next to the hotel along the Rhine river. The famous Cologne Claudius spa is located only 3 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cologne
Cologne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing