We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Hotel Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Koeln
Ranked #38 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just spent one night at Maritim Hotel on August 4th 2013.
I think the Hotel deserves a much better rating. It’s not new , and not luxurious but it’s super clean, quiet , It’s location is perfect. Great pool, great Breakfast … excellent customer service… what else you can look for in a hotel?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Anna A.,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback via TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Maritim Hotel Cologne so much. We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
With kind regards.
MARITIM Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    438
    178
    65
    39
See reviews for
109
236
60
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely room, great customer service! Everyone was polite and very helpful. The breakfast was amazing! The location could not be beat! It is close to everything! Everything one would want to see was within easy walking distance. I booked this room as a walk-in to escape the miserable art hotel my sister and I had the misfortune to suffer one night in. The young man on duty at reception was so very courteous and helpful! He seemed to go out of his way to be helpful!

Room Tip: We had a view of the atrium, but they also have Cathedral view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Deborah D.,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.
With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel has a great atrium. When I visited it was so hot and like a greenhouse. The business rooms downstairs were cooled but not airconditioned so the temperature was either too hot for some or too cold for others. The bedrooms were properly temperature controlled. The hotel has a number of restaurants in the atrium. The one we hasd breakfast in was very good. The hotel is a walk across the bridge behind the hotel to the Rhine and five to ten minutes stroll to the big selecton of restaurants and microbreweries with their lagers.

Room Tip: Looking out onto the surround may be more interesting. Looking into the atrium may be quieter althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Stevie007,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.
Kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I spent a few nights here with a colleague on a business trip.

As others have said, it is in a great location - you can walk everywhere you would want to form the hotel. There is also a good selection of bars/restaurants inside the hotel if you really can't face heading out.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms and hotel overall were all clean and well presented.

My areas for improvement would be:
1. door locks - they are card operated but make a really loud buzz when you go to your room which isn't great.

2. wifi - it's really expensive to use the hotel wifi and if you go for the telekom option it is one of the worst wifi experiences you will ever have in your life.

Personally, given the size of the building, I think they could do a little more with the gym, but then it didn't really matter as you are right beside the Rhine so I just went for a run along that instead!

Overall though, a perfectly nice large city centre hotel. I will stay again - in fact I'm back there in a few weeks and didn't feel the need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mike W.,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your remark concerning the door locks and the Wifi costs. We like to pass your remark on to the management. We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.
With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was one of my best experience in life. This is the best luxury can get (At least for me). Fantastic rooms, fantastic hotel, fantastic location and out of this world buffet breakfast. I have never seen a better buffet that this. Champagne for breakfast! Millions of variety of cold cuts, fruits, cheese, breads - think of it and it's there. I will visit again if I get a chance. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take any and you wait for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumikChakrabarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear SoumikChakrabarty,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet and your stay with us. We are already looking forward to welcome you again at the Maritim Hotel Köln.
With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Once again we stayed at this hotel, which is not far from the shops and restaurants and places of interest. It is situated right on the Rhine River where is it nice to sit and watch the world go by. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms have recently been refurbished and instead of bath with shower there is a walk in shower with a choice of hand held shower or rain shower and at the touch of a button the lights change to different colours which is really nice. There is a great breakfast to be had each morning with everything you could possibly want and more besides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunny318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear bunny318,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback via TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Maritim Hotel Cologne so much. We would be delighted to welcome you soon again here in Cologne.
Best Regards
MARITIM Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the city centre of Cologne. It's location is perfect for shopping, see the historic Cathedral or visiting the Christmas markets in December, all of these activities are within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. We had a great view of the Cathedral from our room. The hotel was very clean and well run with polite and professional staff. It still needs more modernisation work, but when this has been completed this, will be a super hotel. Breakfast was busy but to be fair the hotel was fully booked when we stayed. Loved the piano bar in the evening. All in all this hotel is good value, great staff and its location takes some beating. Once it's been fully modernised it will take some beating. We will be staying here again later in the year.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Dave R.,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback via TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Maritim Hotel Cologne. We would be delighted to welcome you soon again.
Best Regards
MARITIM Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Lyskirchen
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Hilton Cologne
#28 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Koeln

Property: Maritim Hotel Koeln
Address: Heumarkt 20, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cologne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Köln holds a fascination for its guests, whether they are business travellers, sightseeing tourists or there to attend an event in the city, through its ambience, location right on the Rhine and its interiors. The spacious glass covered hotel hall with its variety of exclusive boutiques and elegant restaurants, the historic old city in the immediate vicinity, the proximity to the Cathedral, the main railway station and the trade fair centre and the unique possibilities for organising congresses make the hotel an obvious choice for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritim Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing