We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - adequate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Koeln
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great location - adequate hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Annual boyz weekend to Cologne on 9-12 Nov. Eurostar from London to Brussels then on to Cologne. Booked into this hotel for its location and was not let down - superbly central and easy to get to all the areas of interest. Hotel as described by other contributors with a kind of shopping mall at the bottom with restaurants and shops. Building was bright, airy and clean. The rooms could maybe do with a bit of sprucing up but they were acceptable. I had a fairly small room with en-suite bathroom - saw a bit too much of it as I fell ill with some kind of flu bug and spent a fair bit of time sleeping. However comfy enough with side view to the Rhine - fridge, free safe, but as others say, no free wifi. Charged E129 per night plus a "culture" charge of E6.90 per night. Breakfast extra at a flat E19.0 - plenty to have and free champagne so probably just worth it. I thought the hotel was perfect for what we wanted - not luxurious but near to all the things that were going on.

11th November was the start of the Cologne festival season - if this is the start I dread to think what the full blown festivals are like. The official kick off was 11.11 am but there was plenty of drinking and fun well before that. Everyone was in fancy dress of some nature or another - some costumes were really brilliant. Bands all over the place and not just in the main square - vans serving drinks/food were plentiful. Long queues for the toilets but many males were taking short cuts behind the vans etc. It was a really happy but drunken atmosphere and I was glad to experience it. Cologne is a nice place and I would gladly go back again at sometime in the future. Beer served in very small glasses either 0.2l or 0.3l at around E1.50 to E2.0 - we found a beer house that was selling 10l barrels so bought one of them between 6 of us for E75.0 that saved a little bit of money, 10l sounds a lot but it was about 3 pints each over several hours and with large helpings of food to absorb it all. Train station also within 15 minute walk from hotel.

Room Tip: My room was ok but others were available facing on to the main square - may have been preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C Saloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear C Saloux, thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor! We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay here in Cologne and we hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Your MARITIM Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    448
    188
    68
    42
See reviews for
112
245
63
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed last week for two nights and booked a suite (because there was no standard room available and the price difference was not much). The hotel is surprisingly big and looks more like a shopping center when you get in. We usually don't like this but being in a city and the location being perfect to visit Cologne and shop, it did not disturb us. To be honest, it is true that an effort needs to be made as far as carpets is concerned. We were pleased to have slippers in the room so as to not have to walk barefoot on the old dirty-looking (not dirty!) carpet. Other than that, the suite was big, the bed comfortable,it had all the amenities and the bathroom, although small, was immaculate and had the very latest fittings (we think everything in the bathroom had just been replaced).

The service was perfect - just each and every member of the staff, whether at Reception, in the restaurants, or for room service were helpful and extremely courteous and friendly. Breakfast was perfect and the food was of good taste and quality;

I have a small Chanel handbag which I only use in the evening. It was packed in a white soft pouch and I was silly enough to forget it when we packed - I most probably left it on the bed. We went to Königswinter (also Maritim hotel - see separate review) and I only noticed in the evening that my bag was missing. I went to Reception, they immediately got in touch with the hotel in Cologne and told me that my bag had been found and was being sent to me! This tells you a lot about honest personnel and perfect customer service.

We will definitely use this hotel again when we go to Cologne as it is definitely not expensive for one that is so conveniently located and with such a service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim_Koeln, Sales Assistant at Maritim Hotel Koeln, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear LucieBelgium, thank you very much for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor! We are very pleased that you felt comfortable during your stay. As you recognized, we just finished refurbishing most of our bathrooms this summer and it is planed, that we continue refurbishing next summer. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Your MARITIM Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

sad place, old furnishing, dusty carpets, old elevators

but service is fine, the manager has been helpful in an embarassing situation.
if you go to any fair this is 3 tram sops away and you can walk to look for a nice restaurant around

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esperto66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at Maritim during a very busy week – the hotel was fully booked. All the staff were very kind, polite and helpful. The location is really good, close to downtown attractions and a morning run along the Rhein river is a delight. The gym was nothing to write home about, but the pool is very nice. Breakfast selection was good. There’s no iron in the room but I got one when requested. One weird thing for a business hotel is that they charge you for wi-fi but it worked very well. I would stay here again on business trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valpuri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we stayed at this hotel as it was close to the dealers where our motorbike was being repaired.
We turned up in the massive lobbey area with airline pilots in our motorcycle gear and we were quickly booked in despite a small problem with the reservation which had only been made 45 mins before. We were treated very well and the staff were helpful.
We parked our bike in the car park under the hotel but had to pay.
Our room cards and how to operate the lifts was fully explained. The first ride up in the lift was sureal as this place is massive.

We got to our room which was quite large. It was clean and tidy. The beds were big and comfy. There was plenty of space to hang up our gear and the small safe worked.
The bathroom was fantastic.the shower had mood lighting digital adjustable tempreature and you could change from a normal shower to top drench head at the touch of a button as well as adjusting the water flow..

The hotel is right in the center of town everywhere was within easy walking distance and koln has some good places to eat and drink.

The breakfast was excellent with all sorts of choices with good freindly staff but then again it did cost 17 euros each.

Summing up this is a top class hotel with prices to match. I am sure that you could stay cheaper in Koln but if you want luxury and want to stay somewhere a little special in the center of town then this is the place. Just remember you have to pay for the good stuff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Maritim for 5 nights whilst working at an exhibition at Koelnemesse. The room was clean and comfortable - only gripe was that you don't get a kettle and tea and coffee as in the UK - really miss this touch when travelling abroad. Also, some colleagues had a bath which would have been lovely to soak after a long day on your feet - but the shower was impressive with 'mood lights'. Very centrally located for restaurants and bars and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnoppics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Maritim is located in the Rhine in the heart of Cologne near the Dom Cathedral. The staff all speaks fluent english and after staying here for years, they are the friendliest people of any hotel that I have ever stayed with. The rooms are old and dated, the TV is small and has only one english channel, but why would you come here to watch TV. You are in a great location in the heart of Cologne. Many restaurants and bars within a 30 second walk. The city train is across the street. The Rhine is right behind the hotel, you can catch a boat there for a day cruise. In the winter they have a ice skating rink set up across the street with vendors selling everything.

Room Tip: I have stayed all over this hotel. Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Lyskirchen
#21 of 261 in Cologne
557 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,742 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 261 in Cologne
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Koeln

Property: Maritim Hotel Koeln
Address: Heumarkt 20, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cologne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Köln holds a fascination for its guests, whether they are business travellers, sightseeing tourists or there to attend an event in the city, through its ambience, location right on the Rhine and its interiors. The spacious glass covered hotel hall with its variety of exclusive boutiques and elegant restaurants, the historic old city in the immediate vicinity, the proximity to the Cathedral, the main railway station and the trade fair centre and the unique possibilities for organising congresses make the hotel an obvious choice for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maritim Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing