We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprised old fashioned hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mauritius-Altstadt
Ranked #150 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Old fashioned hotel in a walking distance to the centrum. Small rooms, quite clean but with very poor soundproofing. Staff was rather impolite. Overprised and generally inadequate, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapfoChatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

This hotel is in a good situation- handy for the town and the exhibition centre but the single rooms are cupboard sized. Very nice staff though and a good breakfast. Great shower in the tiny bathroom. Also some reasonable restaurants in walking distance - the little Greek place nearby is good

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bathgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for one night on a weekend in October. I had a single room on the 4th floor. It was obviously recently renovated. The building dates from the 50's but the room was decorated in a contemporary dark wood lounge style. But it was tiny!!! Luckily I travel light. There would have been no space to open a suitcase other than the bed, which was comfortable but very narrow. The bathroom was very clean, but also tiny, with the smallest shower I have ever seen in a hotel. The room faced the noisy main-street, but with the windows shut I did not hear a sound. Since there is no air-conditioning, I would probably avoid this hotel from May until September. It gets hot in Cologne during the summer. And with windows open the room would be very noisy, with windows shut it would be unbearably hot.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. But still, considering the size of the room I found the hotel to be overpriced. Internet was not free, parking was 12€ per night, breakfast was an extra charge...it all added up. Will I stay there again? I don't know.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Unpretentious, rather old-fashioned but very adequate hotel within easy walking distance of the Dom and other sights. Don’t be put off by the grim,dingy frontage. Although not the most salubrious location - gay sex shop just down the road – the area is unthreatening in our experience, despite the odd weirdo and beggar. Blissfully quiet at night (a big plus in our book), partly because our room was at the back and partly thanks to some amazing town planning that has virtually banished traffic from the city centre. (Just watch out for the bikes, which are everywhere.) Room and facilities were a bit ‘80s but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Good breakfast, pleasant staff. As it was very hot during our stay, particularly on the top floor (no AC, of course), we requested and were supplied with a brand new Rowenta fan. So overall, very satisfactory. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Hotel Esser is a good choice if you want to stay fairly close to downtown. Even though the room was clean and clearly set up for business travelers, it was a little too hot. The staff was extremely friendly and professional. The hotel served a nice breakfast buffet-style.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Family-run hotel, now part of the Minotel group.

From the hotel it's a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area and a 5 minute walk to the Dom. Lots of cafés (Stube) nearby.
Tram (U-bahn) is a 2 minute walk , bus stop right across the hotel going to the city center.

Overall, we are positive about the hotel, but as a young couple (age 30) we found the design of the rooms a little "old". With old we mean the curtains with the "flowery Laura Ashley-design", the carpet,... All beds in the hotel are twins, which for us was a little dissapointing. Room was equiped with minibar, hairdryer, tv including English channels. All very clean, good size. Staff very friendly and helpful.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and this floor was newly renovated. Rooms on the first and second floor are yet to be renovated and are apparently a lot smaller.
Do ask for a room away from the elevator, as it's quite noisy and for those light sleepers amongst us, it can be quite disturbing. Then again our 2nd night, the elevator was "under repair". I found out more people complained about it, that's why it was shut down from 10 pm till 8 am ...

Breakfast is quite extensive for a 3-star hotel, hot and cold, pleasant surprise.
Hotel also has parking (Tiefgarage) for 11 euro a day.
Be aware that if you come by car, the hotel is located in an area where you need to have an "Umweltplakkette".
We got ours in the Mundorf Tank (gasstation), Rolshoverstrasse in Cologne. It costs 6 euro, open 24 hours 7/7.
Its located about 5 km from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaz251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

The taxi from the airport was 25 EUR. Not very far from the center and the Rhine river, close (2 min walk) to the MARITIM hotel, where I attended a conference. Reservation and check-in without any problems. Rooms small but clean. Breakfast included in my price of 95 EUR, and good. My room was absolutely quiet (as requested). Internet (WLAN) was about 10 EUR per 24h. Unfortunately they were not able to give me a 15 min (!) later check-out, which I would have badly needed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank freqtravmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
art'otel cologne
#23 of 263 in Cologne
1,073 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
#122 of 263 in Cologne
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 263 in Cologne
1,398 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#20 of 263 in Cologne
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mauritius-Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mauritius-Altstadt

Address: An der Malzmuehle 4-8, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $94 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mauritius-Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel lies in the Old Town of Cologne, a 5-minute walk from the Deutzer Brucke Bridge over the Rhine. It offers modern rooms with a flat-screen TV, and WiFi is free in all areas. All rooms are fully renovated and include a large flat-screen TV, minibar and private bathroom. Some offer high-quality leather furniture. A breakfast buffet is available each morning in the Mauritius - Komforthotel in der Altstadt’s stylish breakfast room. Hotel guests enjoy free access to the spa area at the Mauritius Hotel & Therme, 2 tram stops away. It features 7 saunas, 2 steam rooms, a massage service and indoor and outdoor pools. Heumarkt Underground Station is 300 metres from the Komforthotel. The Kolnmesse Exhibition centre is only 2 tram stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mauritius-Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esser Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing