We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Hilton Cologne”
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #23 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at Hilton Cologne”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I visited Cologne for the Christmas markets and chose to stay at the Hilton Cologne. It was easy to find (drove from the Netherlands), and had a nice underground parking garage. The hotel is very close to the cathedral. The Christmas market at the cathedral was PACKED on Saturday evening, but it was still very nice.

The hotel staff were very friendly, and check-in was quick and easy. The room was very nice and clean. It included a comfortable bed, stocked mini-bar, and a large bathroom. Breakfast was great (as usual at a Hilton), and I found the extended breakfast hours on Sunday very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Teddi B.,

I am more than happy to read your nice comment.
Thank you very much!
It is great to see that you totally enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great and pleasant time in Cologne.
The Hilton Cologne team would be very pleased to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    846
    296
    95
    54
See reviews for
266
678
185
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hilton Cologne. This hotel is excellent. It is only a few minutes from the train station and just around the corner from the cathedral. We went for the Christmas markets and were not disappointed. The hotel is an excellent base for exploring the city

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiobhinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Aiobhinn,

Thank you very much for your excellent review!
It is great to see that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time in Cologne.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back in Cologne and our hotel.
Dear Aiobhinn, we hope you had a good start into 2014 and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Your Hilton Cologne Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Decent location being minutes walk from the train station. Efficient staff at check-in and day-time/breakfast restaurant manager.
Had an upgrade to a suite and the room was well appointed and clean. This is a corporate hotel and of the standard you would expect of Hilton
Breakfast was part of our deal and was a good set-up before we went forth to tackle the markets & shops for the day.
Late check-out on Sunday was a boon as it gave us an extra half day in the city and the chance to shower and change before flying home.
Absolutley no complaints about the hotel (the fish buffet in the restaurant is another matter though - see separate Konrad review), but would still use the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabu101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonge, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Made to feel very welcome at the hotel. Rooms were nice and spacious with a large bathroom. Nice bar area to relax and the breakfast was very good with lots of variety. Hotel location is right by the cathedral which was perfect as we visited for the Christmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Gerard O,

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
I hope you and your family had a good and healthy start into 2014!
I am more than pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and a good time in Cologne.
The entire Hilton Cologne team is looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon.
Best regards,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We chose the Hilton Hotel Koln, to celebrate our 42nd Wedding Anniversary, from the moment we arrived at reception, we were treated like Royalty, we felt special from the start.
We were then shown to our room, by the Guest Relations Manager, Katharina Scherff, who I might add, looked after us until we got in our taxi to leave.
The Xmas Markets were a sight to see, and recommend them to everyone, of all ages, superb.
The room was immaculate, ,even English Channels on the T.V., if you have time to watch them.
The breakfast meals were superb, so much choice, a credit to the Catering staff.
The bar snacks were also of good standard, having sampled one during our visit.

The staff, from the cleaner of our room, the bar staff , the receptionists, the Reception Manager.and a special mention to Mustaff the Concierge, who was very helpful throughout our stay, always handing us an umbrella if it was raining or snowing, giving us tips and advice.

Again we must thank Katharina Scherff for making our 42nd Wedding Anniversary a very special one, and one we will always talk about, thank you KATHARINA, you are a credit to the Hilton Hotel Company.
Hilton Hotel Koln, we will be seeing you again.
MERRY CHRISTMAS & A HAPPY NEW YEAR FOR 2014.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris609033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Chris609033,
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback.
I am more than happy to see that we made your stay to something special.
It was my pleasure to prepare everything for your 42nd Anniversary.
My colleague Mustafa is also very pleased about your nice comment.
We hope you had a safe trip back home to sunny Spain.
The whole Hilton Cologne Team wishes you and your wife a Merry Christmas and a good start into 2014.
I would be delighted to welcome you back very soon.
All the best,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed the week before US Thanksgiving holiday, at the start of the Christmas markets. The hotel staff remains outstanding in service quality. Downside: same room decor since I stayed in early 2000s.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms - the standard rooms are nice but smaller. Hotel is located across from St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear DGfromDallas,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It was our pleasure welcoming you as our guest again at the Hilton Cologne.
Hopefully we see you before the next Christmas markets starts.
We wish you a nice Christmas time and a good start into 2014.
Best regards,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is very well located to the train station and the cathedral, and an easy walk to the shopping streets and the old market. The building is modern and the rooms are clean, as is to be expected from a Hilton hotel. However; as also can be expected from Hilton hotels, this place was all presentation with no real amenities. WiFi was expensive, we couldn't even get it free in the lobby. There was no breakfast included, the room was tiny. Overall a clean and fancy hotel, but I don't like to be "nickel and dimed". This hotel is obviously geared towards business travel and seems great for that, but if I were to return on vacation I would spend my money at a smaller chain or family run hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,619 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,320 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,742 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Property: Hilton Cologne
Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing