We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing this trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #28 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing this trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

have stayed at this Hotel many times, but the service has slipped. Front office staff were terrific as we're the breakfast crew.
It was the turn down service that disappointed. First 2 nights we received a donut and jelly beans. The last 3 nights nothing!
Seems like a small thing but the standard had been set and also the expectation.
It is expensive to stay there so these little things keep you coming back. We will look at an alternative for our trip next year
Location to the station is awesome

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madfish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Madfish56,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is nice to read that you were totally satisfied with the service provided from our front desk team as well as our restaurant team.

We really regret the inconvenience you have experienced due to the missing turn down service the last three nights. It is our aim to serve you the best and most comfortable service you deserve. Please rest assured that this incident is definitely not our standard.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back and to show you that we can make it better like the way you already used to it while staying with us.

If there is anything I can do for you it would be my pleasure to assist you in this case or with your next reservations. You can reach me under michele.doehring@hilton.com and I will take special care of your next visit.

All the best,
Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    822
    285
    91
    52
See reviews for
252
652
182
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from May 23-25. We had booked two King Hilton Deluxe Rooms with Breakfast. The rooms were spacious, breakfast was great. The great thing about this hotel is the location - Hauptbahnhof (the central train station) as well as the Dom are within short walking distance. The only inconvenience we faced was that early checkin was not possible despite our prior request, although I don't really fault the hotel. It was a bit inconvenient after a long flight. Otherwise, the guest relations staff and reception were extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Cologne and for let us have your feedback.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and were totally satisfied with the room provided and breakfast served.

I totally understand that it was inconvenient to wait for a room after your long trip. We always try our best to accommodate early check ins. Due to the hotel occupancy and check out time of previous guests it is a bit difficult to guarantee early check ins sometimes. Thank you very much for your understanding.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in future.
Kind regards,
Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a trade show. Hard to fault the service or the staff but the rooms, and the general demeanour of the hotel, define average. Toilet smelled a little of a men's urinal, shower smelled faintly of drains, handles falling off some of the cupboards, AC did not work, €6 for a bottle of water in the minibar. Tired. Hotels have simply moved on so much from this, surprised a brand such as Hilton allows this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Cologne for your last business trip and to let us have your feedback.

We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the room you were provided for your stay at the Hilton Cologne.

Every guest feedback is very welcome as it helps us in pinpointing strengths and weaknesses in the hospitality we offer. Due to this I can assure you that we take your comments very serious and I will pass it through to our Senior Management.

I am happy to announce that we are working on a renovation for all our guest rooms in future. We would be more than happy to welcoming you back at our property and get the chance to show you that we can make it better.

Should you wish to detail any issues encountered, can I encourage you to contact us direct so we can address these immediately.

Kind regards,
Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you're looking for a hotel in Cologne, Germany with a great location, then look no further. Hilton Cologne is located right in the heart of downtown Cologne right beside the massive "Dom" cathedral. The shopping district is located right within a short walking distance of the hotel as well.

The room was a bit small, although, it had a very cozy feel to it and the bed was extremely comfortable.
I had no noise issues and had a perfect un-interrupted sleep.

I was a little disappointed to see that Breakfast and Internet weren't included. Internet was an extra 20 euros for 24 hours and Breakfast was approximately 30 euros or so.

There is a nice lounge-style bar area to hang out in, which I found was enjoyable after a stressful day of shopping; a Pianist came in later in the night to play some fun tunes on the Grand Piano, which was a pleasant way to end the night.

The hotel is a bit pricey, but that's because it's a Hilton Hotel and you're also paying for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, GUest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for let us have your feedback through Tripadvisor.

It is nice to read that you were satisfied with the room especially with the comfortable bed. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you would like to have a bigger room next time I am happy to announce you that we do have different room categories to book. Furthermore we would be more than happy to help you finding a room which fits your needs. You can reach us anytime per email or telephone.

Regarding the breakfast charge the full American breakfast buffet is 27,00€ . If you book a rate including breakfast the breakfast charge will be much less.

We would be more than happy to welcoming you back at our property in future.

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Look at the title of my review. To me that is it.
1) the hotel is clearly showing signs that age and gravity affects everything. Time for a renovation, not sure.
2) the room is the smallest I have ever been. Period. Not to the level of price charged, not really.
3) breakfast, that's not included on the room price, is very good so one can consider a completely different event from the stay at the hotel.
And one more thing, the bathroom cleaness is not remarkable and two towels I did not feel comfortable to use because the way they look. That is really not nice.
So that for the hotel the score would be low, but breakfast offsets the total score in my evaluation. While walking clos to this venue, I saw several other hotels in the same neighborhood that I think can offer a better total experience.
Worst of all, this hotel charge you for know show if you make a change on your reservation with less than 14 days. That to me is the most abusive practice seen and if I knew before (did not pay attention to small letters T&Cs) would have looked for other place due to the risk of having to make a change which really happened.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate that you addressed your concerns directly with me and gave me the chance to apologize personally and offer you a solution.

If there is anything else I did not cover please feel free to contact me anytime per email.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our property.

Kind regards,
Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Very well located in the centre of Cologne but the hotel rooms are tired and in need of a makeover. The Marriott which is the other side of the station is a better hotel though slightly more expensive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kenjukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for let us have your impressions about your stay with us.

It is very nice to read that you like the central location of our Hotel.

Regarding your estimation about our rooms I am delighted to inform you that we intend to make a renovation in the near future.

We really much hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Cologne!

Kind Regards
Wibke Francovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel has a great location right by the Hauptbahnhof (train station), in the heart of Cologne. Walking distance to everything for a tourist. Nice sized room. WiFi worked well most of the time, but not all of the time. They may have been working on it because it seemed to get better over a 2 day stay. Nice bar and restaurant - though there are plenty of local places in walking distance. Very helpful staff.

One drawback for Hilton Honors Gold / Platinum - no executive lounge.

Room Tip: City can be a bit noisy. Get a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relation Supervisor at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your opinion about your stay with us!

With great pleasure I read that you have enjoyed your time with us.

We apologize for any inconveniences with the internet. It is correct that we had to work on the internet connection due to a provider change.

Furthermore I do understand your anger concerning the not existing Executive Lounge. As our Hotel is unfortunately landmarked we are not able to alter the rooms.

For all that we hope to welcome you again on future visits!

Kind Regards
Wibke Francovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Property: Hilton Cologne
Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing