We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, all the Hilton you would expect”
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cologne
Ranked #24 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great hotel, all the Hilton you would expect”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I love this hotel and stay here frequently and for longish stays. The staff are usually very helpful, especially the bar staff. The regular rooms are a little small, suites are decent size. My only gripe would be that now they have a room service menu on the TV which doesn't always work, and the menu doesn't change which is a bit of a drag when you have a stay of say a week. To have a soup of the day and some other dishes to choose would be great.
There is no swimming pool but there is a pool in the hotel around the corner, which sometimes doesn't charge when you say you are from the Hilton, otherwise it's 9.50euros. If you use this facility do check ahead that there isn't a class going on which would prevent you from swimming.

Room Tip: if you can get a suite it's best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for being a regular costumer of the Hilton Cologne.

We do appreciate your patronage and the time you have taken to let us have your impressions from your last stays.

I am happy to announce that we do not display our room service menu on the TV any more since we figured out that most of our regular guests preferred to find the menu as usually on their table. This is the reason why we have printed new physical room service menus for each room.

Regarding your request for a daily changing soup or other dish we, as the Guest Relations Team, would be more than happy to discuss this will during your next stay with us. I am sure we will find a solution since our aim is to make you feel home away from home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne.

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    842
    293
    94
    54
See reviews for
259
675
185
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

You need a navigation system to find the hotel, but once there you can leave your care in the (very expensive) garage and walk everywhere. Make sure you know where to have diner before you start walking, we couldn't find anything interesting in the evening, only to find tons of places the next day when we walked around in the city.

Rooms were big and clean. The tap in our bathroom was rusted. Something I don't expect from a Hilton, but I assume it was overlooked. I send a message to the hotel to fix it.

Staff is very friendly, we got a very nice gift for our daughter when we listed her for the Hilton kids program. I guess you should start young to create lifetime fans. Not sure my daughter understood that, but she was very happy with the gift.

We got a nice price for the weekend and I thought it was good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front where you can see the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freq_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Cologne and for taking the time to let us have your impressions.

It is nice to read that you were fully satisfied with the room provided and the friendliness of our team members.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the rusted tab in your bathroom. Please rest assured that this is not our standard and we already discussed this issue with our Executive Housekeeper in order to avoid such circumstance in another room in future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at our property soon.

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was nice, clean hotel in a great location close to the train station and many of the Cologne sights. Rooms are well maintained. Service is hit or miss- some staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, some just the bare minimum.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7continents5oceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor and for having preferred the Hilton Cologne during your last visit to Cologne.

With regret I read that not every member of our team was able to deliver the level of helpfulness and friendliness we owe to each of our guests. Please be ensured that your comments have been already shared with our heads of department in order to stress the importance of this aspect once again.

We are glad to read that you were pleased about the location of our hotel, just few minutes walking from the train station.

We hope truly to have again another opportunity to count you among our guests.

Kind regards,

Angelo Vassallo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Hilton Cologne is a typical American-style hotel, having no real bad points and many good ones, yet on the whole not particularly exceptional. Its location was perfectly suited to my needs: virtually next door to the main train station and about a block or two from the major attractions of Cologne.

It is a big, sprawling hotel that is clean, well maintained, and well managed. Service was fine but not memorable. The common areas were in good shape, as was my guest room. I had a casual meal in the bar, which was great.

At a rate of €150, I thought the accommodations were a very good value. My guest room was large, clean, odorless, brightly but comfortably decored, well equipped, and had all the usual amenities you would expect in a hotel of this caliber: safe, bath robes, slippers, ironing board (much appreciated), coffee/tea, significant closet and drawer space, minibar, and flatscreen television. The bed was comfortable and the climate control was excellent. It was quiet with no outside or hallway noise.

There were no special touches or unusual amenities, but the basics were very well done. I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it as a good choice in Cologne.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for having stayed at the Hilton Cologne.

We are really interested to read the comments of our guests in Trip Advisor since we look at this as a great opportunity to individuate aspects of our service which we can improve. Thank you indeed to share your experience.

With pleasure we read that you enjoyed the stay at our property and that you took advantage of our location close to the train station and to the city centre.

It is really important to us to give the same passion to the preparation of formal or casual food. In this instance, we are pleased to realize that the food offered at our Lobby Bar was of your complete satisfaction.

Just few weeks ago we had the “Housekeeping Week” at our hotel in order to stress once more the importance of the cleanliness and the décor of our guestrooms. It seems that according your comments we achieve the aim we established.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne, hoping to deliver you for your next stay a more “memorable” experience.

If in the meantime you may need any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Angelo Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hilton Cologne: it was really nice! The hotel is situated in the hart of Cologne, just a couple of hundred meters from the Cathedral. I'm not sure if there are any rooms with "Cathedral view", but as you see in my attached photo we could see a part of it, at least! The road in front of the hotel is quite busy, but the insulation was good and we could sleep very well! The rooms are not particularly beautiful, a little bit simple, I kind of disliked the parquet floor, but otherwise it was really convenient! The bed was a great plus, you normally don't get a double bed in Germany (based on my experience), but two single beds next to each other, but it was a real double bed with great pillows. We took a taxi to go out in the evening, but we just walked back after our dinner ( the German portions are huge, never order too much first, wait and see!). Actually the streets were full of restaurants, we were walking from the Friesenplatz via the Rudolfplatz until the Zulpicherplatz and it was difficult to choose, there were a lot of terraces, lot of people, Cologne has really a great atmosphere if the weather is nice ( was 28 C when we were there). OK, back to the hotel:
we opened a coke from the minibar and it was totally without gas. We opened an other one as well, and that was ok, but we thought it was strange so we informed the Deputy Manager (I think). He was extremely polite, apologized immediately and offered us a drink voucher in the IceBar (cool place!) without making any trouble - appreciated! The breakfast was also good, great caffe latte and fresh orange juice (not the trashy one, although they have that as well - watch out). The waitresses could smile sometimes,but the morning chef compensated while he was making our pancakes.
So, I truly recommend this place without any hesitation

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lallil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us have your impressions from your recent stay at our hotel.

We really appreciate that you were satisfied with the room provided and the service we delivered.

We do have rooms with a view to the cathedral as well and would be more than happy to offer this to you on your next visit.

I am very sorry that the incident with the coke in your minibar occurred but I am happy that the Manager on Duty handled this situation very polite and immediately.

Thank you very much for recommending our property.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne.

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

What can I say?
a minute's walk from the central rail station, the Dome and city center.
Hotel is just fabulous, great rooms, great service and a rich breakfast.

great restaurants all around the hotel.

Best spot, great hotel - perfect choice every time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us such a high score.

We really appreciate that you were totally satisfied with the room provided, the great service as well as the rich breakfast buffet. Your positive comments have been shared with my colleagues already. Thank you very much!

It would be our pleasure to always welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne.

Kind regards,

Michèle Döhring
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Reached the Hilton towards the end of a tiring business trip and was disappointed by the exterior. The lobby area, the passages to the room, the elevators, they all look dated.

The location is perfect - just a couple of minutes from Koln Hbf and close to lots of eating joints etc.

Thankfully the room was nice - very modern, comfortable bed, good storage space and what you'dd expect from a city hilton room.

I needed to start early the next morning and asked at the reception if I could start breakfast 15 minutes early. There was no issue getting that arranged.

(I couldn't find the room service menu in the room. Oversight ?)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgyara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Hilton Cologne and for letting us know your impressions of your stay.

It is really important to us to read these comments to individuate aspects of our service which could be improved in order to ensure a more pleasant stay to our guests.

With regret we read your observations regarding the exterior of the hotel. The hotel is under conservation of ancient monument, since it was an old post office, and this is why it is really difficult for us to bring any improvement to the façade. Nevertheless, I am glad to inform you that we are planning a renovation of some parts of the interior in order to deliver a better product to our guests.

With pleasure we realized that you enjoyed the furniture of our room as well as the comfort of our “Serenity Bed”.

We really appreciate your comments about the flexibility of our staff: we continuously do training in order to stress the importance to use of the word “Yes” or to find good alternatives interacting with our guests’ requests.

Regarding your question of the room service menu, I am glad to inform you that, according to our commitment to the environment with the program “We Care”, we are not printing anymore the room service menu. It is now available directly in the TV menu, as indicated by the exhibitor located on the writing desk in the room.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Cologne. If the meantime you need any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,
Angelo Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Property: Hilton Cologne
Address: Marzellenstr. 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing