We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
Ranked #73 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, convenient location”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I found this wonderful hotel on trip adviser. Location is convenient, if you came in by train to Train main station Hbh, the hotel is right by there, less than 2 minutes walk. It is clean, everything as described. The reception staff, polite and helpful. The best is there is a sauna room on the third floor.

Walkable everywhere, if you need to take transport, the U-bahn and the bus terminal is right there.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor, if you want to use the sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    95
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
20
45
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although our stay at this hotel was short, we felt totally pampered from the time we stepped in the front door. As my husband and I were travelling with our adult son, we had requested a double room with an extra cot. Instead we were given a beautiful, very large triple room. As well as a welcoming bottle of cold water, the room had the usual amenities - hair dryer, shampoo etc. It was bright, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful in a bright, cheery, large dining room.
As we were arriving and departing by train, the location was perfect for us.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here on our next visit to Cologne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in room 110 for one night for a business trip. The room was clean but very warm. The room was very small and there is no wifi in the hotel. Also there is no restaurant and reception area is very small to sit and chat with colleagues. We paid 85 euros for 1 night stay and breakfast. The breakfast was good and if you like trains, the view from the breakfast room is overlooking the train station. You can watch the trains come and go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

...providing that is that you don't mind a hotel without a restaurant. There is a bar attached through a separate entrance to the rear of the hotel that sells the local beer at the cheapest price I encountered in Cologne, but there is a reason for that!! I will let you be the judge on that one.
If you arrive by rail you can see the hotel across the road as you come out of the station concourse, but beware, I missed it at first as the signage says "Kommerz Hotel" and I was looking for the word "Guennwig". The location is good and the breakfast fine, the usual bread, fruit, ham and cheeses, plus hot (or should I say lukewarm) eggs, sausages and bacon. The room was fine with a good firm mattress and very soft pillows. Overall clean and adequate. Location is spot on although you have to walk through the station concourse to the other end to reach the main sights and eating establishments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandpasturesnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

i reached Koln by train from Hamburg, locating the hotel was easy as it's right outside the train station, also meaning that almost every major attraction in the city is withing a few minutes walk's reach. The hotel itself is very simple, my room was spacious and had almost everything i needed (air conditioning would be nice and maybe a minibar though i could do without). i used the hotel's laundery service and found it quick and efficient although the staff forgot to put a new laundry bag and a new laundry form in my room (otherwise i would have used it again).
the breakfast buffet is rich and the food tasty but the fresh drinks were not chilled, meaning they were cold wen put on the table but there was nothing to keep them cold.

all in all, it would suit a businessman more than the average tourist

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel overnight on our way to Strasbourg. The hotel can be seen from the platform (arriving from Dusseldorf airport at least), and is a one minute walk. The rate was also cheaper than others, so good value in those two respects. Otherwise pretty shabby and very simple, but served our purpose. Staff spoke good English and was overall quite amiable. Good choice for budget travels (60EUR for a double on Dec. 30) and convenience for catching a train from CGN Hbf or late arrival to the latter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank taiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a small hotel that couldn't be closer to the Hauptbahnhof. That is its main selling point. The hotel itself is dated and poky, and the rooms are nothing special. I was on the top floor in a tiny single room.

It was quiet, at least, except for the bathroom fan which would NOT switch off, ever, and when it was on, made a sound not unlike a tornado. When are hotels going to understand that their primary purpose is to let people sleep? So much noise pollution in the room is so unnecessary. Also, the bathroom stank of damp and mildew - not good.

One pleasant surprise, especially for a German mid-range hotel, was the fresh and extensive breakfast buffet - not what one would normally expect in a place like this.

Of course, like all German hotels, internet is exorbitantly expensive, which is always unacceptable - it should be free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesJames1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#55 of 260 in Cologne
905 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 260 in Cologne
860 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,100 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
#70 of 260 in Cologne
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Kommerz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Kommerz Hotel

Property: Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
Address: Johannisstr. 30-34, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guennewig Kommerz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the Heart of Cologne and with a magnificent view of the famous Cathedral is where the Gunnewig Kommerz Hotel is located. The well kept hotel is an ideal starting point for interesting activities in Cologne, for a visit in one of the several museums, a stroll to the old part of town or for shopping in the city centre. What about a visit to an event in the musical dome or the Lanxess Arena? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guennewig Kommerz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing